Commuting in Amsterdam

in #travel8 years ago (edited)


There are all sorts of different kinds of commuters in the world. While it is unusual, Amsterdam is a place where you can witness them all in beautiful chaos. Pedestrians, passengers, motorists, cyclists, sailors and cruisers are everywhere you look here in the capital of the Netherlands. I arrived late yesterday evening by plane, took a train to meet my parents who were making their way to Amsterdam by barge, sailed up the Rijnkanaal alongside the scary big 'sand boats' the next morning, took a ferry across the river and cycled around the city centre alongside the motorbikes who share the bicycle lanes instead of the road. Cycle lanes can be up to 4 metres in width!

I've never seen anything like it but I absolutely love it! The only mode of transport I haven't come across yet is horse and carriage, but who needs a horse when the Dutch have bikes!

The bridges even open for the boats to get through, blocking motor traffic.


It's been an adventure so far and the smell of Amsterdam (you know the one) makes me want to get more adventurous.
There's a video I made for my parents blog @letsgetlost on the way so stay tuned for that.

Sort:  

Steemit is a wondrous but perplexing place. I just came across your interesting post and wanted to comment because you had no real comments yet and only got 66 cents. I just saw another post that made over $2000, but I preferred yours!
Seeing your post and commenting on it was totally random... Keep trying, we can crack this :)

I'm not worried about the earnings. When I posted this I don't think the 'Follow' button was here. Since then I have gradually built up about 60 followers now. I'm very excited for the future here even if all my followers are minnows.

This is just the beginning

And I consider every post to be a lottery ticket. It might get lucky, but it probably won't.

Thanks so much for dropping by to comment :)

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 8.2 and reading ease of 74%. This puts the writing level on par with Leo Tolstoy and David Foster Wallace.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69672.37
ETH 3356.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74