Journey Home

in #travel7 years ago

Exams finished a day after boxing day, which made the Holidays quite boring and disappointing

Now I wanna write about my interesting and arduous journey back home

Filled with fun, body pain and well Lagos

I reside in the not so good looking part of Lagos, Ikorodu to be precise, a serene environment though.

The Packing/ Leaving my Hostel

I started packing in the morning, you know as a guy we don't take time packing our bags. Within a few minutes I was done so I decided to discuss with my hostel mates about a match we watched last night. Before i forget i asked a friend of mine we both go home together which concurred to and we both agreed to meet at the Garage. She called me and said she had packed up and was ready to leave and I have done packing hadn't taken my bath that morning. I hastily drew up water from the well(yes you read it right from the well). Tied my towel and moved to bathroom with the speed of light. After taking my bath, and dressing up I called her to tell her she can go to the garage I would meet her there. The harmattan made me shiver a little I rubbed on a Vaseline to avoid looking like the Night King (GoT pun leader of the IceWalker). Picked up all I needed and carried my luggage, I simply stood outside my hostel and whistled a motorbike (popularly known as Okada in Nigeria), we haggled on the price before he agreed on a price and he took me to the garage.

All Onboard


All roads to one of the largest city in Africa Ibadan, geographically Located in Oyo State Nigeria. So I got to park and I was hassled into the car by a guy, I had to calm the guy down telling him I was looking for my friend. I picked up my phone called her and then network fumbled. As a Nigerian its not a new thing, I kept hearing scratching sounds by the time we got to talk to each other, Unfortunately I found out she was just a few metres ahead in another car and had already reserved a seat for me.

So we decided to meet at Ojoo, Ibadan. While in the car, I saw one of my long lost crush but she has quite changed. I probably think she is one of those who they refer to as "Slay Queen". As we started the journey to Ibadan, as its customary in every car in Nigeria travelling long distance we have "The Prayer Warrior" (one who prays for our safe ride to pur destination). Let's get back to my crush, throughout the journey she kept making lots of calls and taking selfies with SnapChat. She also had the nerves to disturb the passengers in the car with loud music. All I had to do, I put on my earpiece and played my own music and enjoy the smooth ride to Ibadan. Oh yeah, lest I forget the cost of fuel and it's scarcity got me thinking I would pay a lot and it turned out it didn't affect it much almost an 100% increase on the cost of transportation which was still manageable.

On getting to Ojoo, the driver said he couldn't take us to Iwo road(our actual bus stop giving an unreasonable excuse). Gosh, I was stranded at Ojoo, cause I don't usually alight there. I had to start asking strangers where I could get a bus to ikorodu, until a good Samaritan pointed towards the direction where I could get a bus.
image

image

LAGOS CALLS


As I stand and await my lovely friend at Ojoo, twas quite hot cause of the dry season. I thirst and hunger while I wait and I didn't get to eat breakfast cause I don't like eating before I travel. I usually get Motion Sickness, while I wait I bought a lovely googles which I really like and it made a whole lot of sense when I wore it.

The thugs (permit me to use the word) there asked where I wasn't in the bus yet, I explained to them I was waiting for a friend cause the bus I had met at the park was about to be filled up and i didn't even go with it cause I was waiting for my friend. Alas, she arrived with swag and flair I was just looking at her like Wooooooooooooow, I had my jaws on my hands.

So we entered the bus and waited a little while for the bus to get filled up. We talked before the bus got filled up at length and she also bought stuffs for her 5cousins (quite surprising) and a pair of ear-rings for herself (made her look pretty). The bus we entered was one of a kind, it needed to be pushed by 3men before it could work. I laughed in my head cause it was quite funny. It was a long journey to Ikorodu we spent about 2-3hours on the road stopping once in a while to drop off some passengers.
image

image

image

image

Home Sweet Home


Home on sight, as I alight at ikorodu with my friend, gosh she really did pack a lot of luggage. I assisted her as we both went in search of a motorbike (Okada) that would take her to a house. We walked quite a distance and we kept hitting people on the sidewalk (actually we have no sidewalk but let's just call it that). As Nigerians know, Lagos is quite a busy city, "If New York is a City that doesn't sleep then it hasn't met Lagos"**. Always buzzing with people of different works of life. Lagos always crowded with humans of different nature.

image

image

image

Unfortunately, we couldn't find one as they all called out exorbitant fees for the ride and she said she can't take any, so she asked me to leave and thanked me for the assistant. Gosh, I wanna say lots of things to her, spend more time with her but being a Textrovert and very very very shy individual I couldn't say anything and I left with my unspoken words locked in my heart. After leaving her, I called on an Okada rider to take me to my mom shop(described the place for him though). Going to my mom's shop turned out to be a mistake as I had to assist her a lot on her shop and I got a lovely polo face cap.

image

image

image

Thank God my dad came early back from work, cause I was starting to get frustrated at working in her shop after I spent 5hrs + on the road which is quite uncomfortable for guys that are tall like me. The car/bus drivers just pack passengers in excess in the buses/cars. Finally, we got home after I helped my mom pack up and clear up. Then I sighed a sigh of relief, it wasn't easy. I left Ogbomosho around 9am in the morning got to Ikorodu around 3pm, left my mom shop around 6pm before retiring to bed after my dinner and watching Arsenal vs Crystal Palace 10:45pm.

Well, I thank God for Journey mercies and everyone who called me on my way home and my lovely friend who we both travelled together.

image

It hurts that I am an introvert or Textrovert. I would have love to take a pics with her.
My lovely Friend

Sort:  

hmmm, this article is wow and funny... but you know what my brother,next time you dont need to be shy because you want to talk,play,take a pics with a lady and all that. probably she might want the samething from you but they are not giften to be 100% free most especially nigerian ladies. if you dont kick start the motor those ladies that like you might not move with you. i hope you understand this.

Thanks boss

I have a crush on the girl sef

But me I no get money

You understand nah

And the school I go to,

The kind cars students dey use and number of cars students dey use pass lecturers own

Cars like Venza BMW Formatic Chevrolet and co

Beside, show her that you're chairman here on steemit now... Whale like you can't tell your mind.. SMH 😎

Chai, because of motors. That's why you can't tell your mind to the one you love... Hmmm
Sincerely you need to repent before its too late. It use to happen when you have crush on someone but it you that you need to control yourself and go for what you need.. Stay blessed.

Safe trip

The post is about the trip ma'am

Wow! What an interesting and well detailed traveling experience. If i may ask, what school are you attending?

I love your write up tho, you can as well follow me if you don't mind. We can be friends you know.

This post has received gratitude of 0.53 % from @appreciator thanks to: @bcrafts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68168.17
ETH 3256.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67