WINGSUIT SKYDIVE MALFUNCTION!!! TOTALLY MY FAULT!!!

in #travel6 years ago


Self-inflicted Malfunction while flying my Wingsuit. My fault, not the fault of the wingsuit or equipment.

I went to pull and obviously didn't bring my arms in symmetrically, thus causing a rotation, which ended up with me deploying and rolling on to my back.

NOT IDEAL.

The bridle (black line connecting pilot chute to main parachute) snags, so I have to manually pop the closing pin (attached to the bridle) so that my parachute can come out. It all happens very fast, so I have slowed it down so you can see what I had to do to rectify the situation.

It's not fun when you can see your pilot chute...it's a clear indicator that you have fucked up.

This is the 5th unstable deployment I have had in 3 years of Wingsuiting, this being the worst. Its a reminder of how wingsuiting can bite ya.

There is a reason why its a 500 jump minimum requirement in the UK (or 200 jumps made within an 18 month period) to fly a wingsuit.

When it all goes to bollocks in a wingsuit, shit gets real, very quick!

#skydive #freefall #terminalvelocity #skydiving #basejumper #skydiver #frothing #fullfroth #frother #adventure #life #adrenaline #extremesports #adrenalinesports #gopro #travel #rockon #summereveryday #summer #wingsuiting #wingsuit #havokcarve #havok #phoenixfly #aerodyne #epicene #squirrel #flysight #netheravon #skydivenetheravon #nethers #flock #flocking


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Congratulations @basejumper! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 600 comments. Your next target is to reach 700 comments.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Meet the Steemians Contest is over - Results are coming soon ...

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

PHEW! That must have made your heart beat skip around for a minute there. You made it to Earth safely, could have been worse.

Yeah as soon as I rolled onto my back I knew there was a chance of a snag happening, and sure enough...few seconds of shit shit! As you say I got away with it as I was able to pop the pin using my hand. I know more than one other wingsuiter that has had to go for their reserve in this instance.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63030.98
ETH 2594.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74