Arizona and the International Dark-Sky Society

in #travel7 years ago

azfixcactus23c.jpg

The International Dark-Sky Society is dedicated to help prevent light pollution around the world and is located in Arizona. If you ever want to plan a vacation that involves dark-sky locations you may want to check out their website( http://www.darksky.org/ ) for recommended locations. In this photo taken here in Arizona I needed to bring out the detail of the Milky Way and the Saguaro cactus. Fortunately Lightroom came to the rescue and I was able to obtain some more detail out of what was for the most part a dark hard to see photo.

azfixcactus22c.jpg

This is the original that did not turn out very well, but with a little editing I was able to obtain something of decent quality.

Which photo do you prefer?
Please upvote and comment below if you like what I do.

Sort:  

Nothing better than seeing the stars in the sky at night! Nice work, the edited version looks so much better! How long did you have the shutter open to capture the those twinkling stars? I just put up some new photos of a wind farm at sunset, I am trying to remember how to use PhotoShop again! I edited a few photos on my phone, I think it was a huge mistake, the screen brightness and size are so different from the computer screen! I wish there was a delete post button!!!

I checked out your windmill photos and thought they were lovely!

Thanks, I checked out your photos and I think it was pretty decent.

In 2009 I attended a conference in Arizona. We got lost driving from the airport to the conference because there were no lights illuminating the signs. This was outside the town of Carefree. After making several turns and having no idea where we were, we hooked up the gps (this was before our cell phones had gps). We finally discovered we had been driving around a parking lot.

That is a great story and I could see how that could happen and in that situation it might make it hard to appreciate a dark sky.

I do agree that the night sky is beautiful if not spoiled by artificial light. It is rare that I get to see this. I just wanted to mention what was a funny experience.

I like the top one and think editing is an art form.

Thanks, I agree it is an art form and takes lots of practice. I am constantly trying to improve my skills, but I still have a long way to go.

Arizona is a great place to take sky shots. You did a lot with what you had to work with.

Thanks, I do my best

What you are able to do with these dark photos never fails to amaze me. I like the first one.

Thank you, I am lucky to have people like you following that appreciate them.

Wow you are so lucky to be there to observe it all I'm so jealous of you.

Growing up I was always interested in astrophysics and stars I would always stay on the terrace and look at the stars whenever I felt bad but as time went by bcz of the light pollution the stars seemed to fading away.

Always wanted to be in a place like there where you can see the true sky.

I didn't know about Arizona that there are star gazing places. What do you think of far north pole and the auroras?

I know astrophotography is not that easy to capture, please let me know about your camera and the techniques you've used to capture them.

I use a Canon T3I and a Canon 6D and a long exposure between 10-30 seconds depending on light conditions. North pole would be cool to visit

The edited photo got artistic look. Like it is a painting instead of photo. Quite cool actually!

About the dark-sky. One of the best spots in Europe is island Lastovo in the Adriatic sea. Been there many times on my sailing trips and I was always fascinated how many stars you can actually see without the light-pollution. Sadly i didn't have good camera to capture them. Hopefully someday in the future.

Thanks, yes sometimes my edits get more on the artistic side than realistic. I like to include my original for that exact reason so everyone can see what I started with.

Beautiful starry night....with the fascinating Saguaro cactus! I love both photos....they are both wonderful! Great work! ;)

Thanks @tangmo for the very kind comment.

With my pleasure! ;)

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #landscapephotography, the weekly selection will be released on Wednesday.

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 09:15:15
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 17.15/100.00
Total Photos: 3
Total comments: 2
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63039.96
ETH 2549.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78