Slum Pirates. PART 2steemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Dear all, this post follows my last article that was set in the slums of the city of Calcutta that you can find here: https://steemit.com/travel/@astralaglae/slum-pirates-part-1. I have also made a video on the way that you can find on our channel. https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCrA2JjxU6IDTxbDBwytDwCQ
If you want to connect or give me feedback, don't hesitate to leave me a comment and I will make sure I answer you.

APT12893.JPG
A little Dalit boy

15.png

After a few hours we were catching a train to Bodhgaya. We arrived there in the morning, and met Pappu who has just created with our friend Carmel a project in a village close by to open a school for Dalit (untouchable) people. Pappu knew that we were paying him a visit with our cameras and decided to postpone the opening of the school from the 1st of April to the 8th so we could capture it.

Pappu is a fabulous host, who is also the owner of the Gautam Lassi Corner and Restaurant in Bodhgaya where we were lucky enough to have breakfast and dinner. He has himself gone through poverty through his life and he feels that now he has a more stable situation it is time for him to help others. He witnessed one of the girls of his village trying to hold classes in her little house for her fellow Dalit children and decided that time and money should be invested to offer them a better school.

APT12736.JPG
Pappu with his wife and daughter

What could ever be more welcoming than a bunch of kids’ smiles and laughters? There were so many of these little guys, all excited for the opening of their new school, all dressed up with the best clothes they could find. I heard so many new names but my brain struggles to remember any. The only one that got stuck with me is the name of Sumankumari. She wrote it in my little notebook. Sumankumari is fourteen. She spent the day showing me around and being my guide in her little village. She was full of attentions and care for me. She grabbed my hand at some point to help me crossing a muddy patch and did not let it go for the next couple of hours. I was walking around, feeling the warmth and energy coming from the hand of this determined little woman. It was her and her friend who had started this school adventure, giving lessons to the youngest while their moms were at work.

APT12818.JPG
The kids on the roof of their new school, with Liam

This brought me back to my teenage years and the luck I had to be brought up in a cocoon. At about this age, maybe younger, I would read articles found in my parents’ catholic newspapers about Mother Theresa and her adventures in the Kolk Slums. I remember feeling revolted to read about the poverty around this world, and ashamed I could not help. I would imagine myself bringing joy and magic powers to the poorest, and these little stories would make me feel a bit better.

APT12784.JPG
Sumankumari and her friend who showed me around their village

I grew out of the shame and started doing what I could to help whoever needed it. It was actually very lucky that Liam and I ended up making it to the slums. We nearly cancelled last minute, because we were both sick. But we eventually made it and it felt like ever since I had heard about Slum kids in my childhood this moment was meant to happen. While my brain was still processing so much sensorial informations I never felt discomfort or fear, only the need to build connections. I could have stayed there sat with Suman and her friends for a lot longer, sharing stories, teaching the little I know and appreciating the gifts of simple hosting and acceptance that was coming from them.

APT12995.JPG
They got me flowers...

However, our pirates adventures were not meant to finish off there and we had more to see and explore. We left at night on our way to Varanasi. It has been a bit over a week now and we have reached the start of the Indian Himalayas. No matter how short this experience was, it reminded me of the extreme power of the camera. Showing a reality is often just enough to create compassion and raise sensibility. It also changed me a bit I believe, and if there is one thing I know, is that I will be back. For longer, with a stronger plan. I don’t know when exactly, but I know I will be back.

Later on that day, Pappu had taken us to see the Mahabodhi. There I meditated for a while. Once again ending such a rich day in a mindful way helped me to feel more grounded and grateful. Life is so rich. It is our responsibility to explore and recognise its richness.

APT13042.JPG
Liam and I in the temple

Sort:  

Congratulations @astralaglae! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - A better rich list comparator
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Looking good Aglae. Great post. I hope you two are having a wonderful experience.

Thanks so much Sean, nice to see you hear. We are having an amazing time. I hope all is good for you too :)

Thank you for relaying your thoughts and experiences! I am glad you got to experience a positive experience in the slum you visited. My mother always used to say at the dinner table to my two younger sisters who would never eat "There are children starving in this world you should be grateful and eat!" and I would say sometimes outwardly and always internally, " That just doesnt seem right! No one should be starving in this day." and yet many many still do. The most I have done is gather produce for Food not Bombs really.
Hope the rest of your trip is beautiful and gives you hope.

The rest of my trip is really serene and exciting. We have been working and relaxing in Parvati Valley, it is a beautiful place in India.

I definitely feel the hope. So much is happening and we are in the middle of it.

Congratulations @astralaglae! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61572.53
ETH 2995.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73