On Travelling Abroad & What I Think About It

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Wow, who would have thought I will be writing this now.

So I just got home from a five day cruise trip overseas and I was kind of disappointed with what I realized. Maybe I thought going to a different country would be all nice and wonderful. Perhaps I put too much value on what it would be like going abroad that when I got there I didn't feel like it was as great as I thought.

For one thing, the trip was a novel experience. It wasn't really my plan but I just went along so I could at least try going abroad with people I know. I went along with my cousin on a 5 day Asia cruise trip. The route was Ha Long Bay,Vietnam and then Sanya, China. Although I didn't like China I still went along since it's not like I was going to live there.

The best thing about the trip was the food. Mmmhmmm. Next is the Jacuzzi. And then of course I love the sea view in Ha Long Bay plus the hi-tech buildings in Sanya. That's all. Hahaha.

Here's why I am not super happy being able to go abroad: It's all a big hype and is overrated.

I mean, we also have mountains here in the Philippines. I felt like, I've seen one I've seen them all you know? The only thing we don't have here in the Philippines is the towering kind of mountains they have in Ha Long Bay and China. They do not slope like normal mountains. I don't know exactly what it's called but the mountains I am referring to are towering blocks of Earth. They are not triangle shaped at all like the usual mountains/volcanoes I am familiar with. They are not gradually inclined as far as I know.

Also the weather in Vietnam and China was almost the same as in our country. Perhaps I was not that amazed at all also because my micro SD card got corrupted. All the boarding pics and videos I had including all the rest of my work pics and whatever got corrupted. The effin' heck I'm just not happy about what happened. Or maybe it's because there is a deeper reason behind all this. I'm just not thrilled with how my expectations in life are not being met. Whew.

What happened to my epiphany in September and October? Where did my enlightened self go?

If I went to the UK maybe I would feel happier? You know, see Stonehenge and all that.

image.png

Maybe it's because it wasn't really my kind of trip that's why I'm not too happy about it. It was too nice or "boring" for my taste.

Who knows what my next destination outside the country will be. Perhaps I will just travel within the Philippines too. I have not been to many places in our country yet. Let's see if I can vlog about my trips in the future. I have a plan but I'm just not into showing my face that much. Haha. Whatever.

Perhaps it is better to end this post on a positive note. Here are 5 things I am grateful for during the cruise trip. And yeah I already mentioned 3 or 4 of them.

  1. The good food.
  2. The relaxing jacuzzi.
  3. The places I was able to go to outside the Philippines + the seal/marks on my passport. Lol.
  4. My companions who thought to include me in their trip. I wonder why.
  5. The different currencies I was able to exchange my money for: Vietnamese Dong and Renminbi or the Chinese Yuan.


Also... Hurray my passport has finally been used!!! hahaha~ Took me two years to use it! Dang! That's the only thing that matters I think. Now I can travel to other countries with no worries maybe. All I need is enough money. Hahaha. God is good indeed.

How about you? How was your experience going to a different country?

XOXO,
@artgirl



IMG_20180216_065807_20180216070540108.jpg


First image is mine. Stonehenge image from Pixabay.

300x250-banner-ok.gif



Written by @artgirl for Steemit.
© Art x Stephanie Rue

@artgirl is a freelance artist, writer and an online seller. For property inquiries, art and writing commissions, feel free to contact me.
For business inquiries, you can chat me up on Steem.chat, Telegram or send me a Facebook message. Link in my bio.

IMG_20180216_065807_20180216070540108.jpg


Click banners to join

468x60 btc.gif

468x60 bch.gif

image.png

my-Bitlanders-banner2.gif



Like it?
Upvote, Follow and Resteem for appreciation.

♥ Thanks! ♥

Sort:  

Howdy!
I've upvoted your post
it's just a small upvote, but I hope it will serve to help you and the steem community to grow ;)

Great! Thanks.

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice Picture^^
We made a travel dapp. It’s based on steemit.
If you write posts through trips.teem , This will be uploaded to steemit at the same time. (It seems like a Steemhunt)
It is still trial, but we hope many people will be interested in using it.
Thanks. (we’ll give you a extra voting.)
Thanks.
(trips.teem discord : https://discord.gg/uDHCfFW)
Most of the bug have been modified.

Ok thanks.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @artgirl!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.388 which ranks you at #7105 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 184 contributions, your post is ranked at #138.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server


Ibinahagi ang lathalang ito sa #pilipinas channel para sa mga curator ng Curation Collective Discord Community, binigyan ng upvote at ni-resteem ng @c-squared na account pagkatapos ng manu-manong pagsusuri.
This post was shared in the #pilipinas channel in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57305.83
ETH 3076.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40