Yogyakarta took my breath away.. Visiting the most famous (and cheapest) destination in the world right now, INDONESIA (PART 2) #WonderfulIndonesia

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Hello guys!!

So nice to be here again posting my adventures around the world. I just moved in to Santiago de Chile and I didn't have time before to write a post but here I am :)!.

So let's keep talking about Indonesia and its amazing places, because why not? oh by the way did I mention Indonesia is an archipelago of almost 17.000 islands? yes, you read that right SEVENTEEN THOUSANDS ISLANDS! so basically you will need around 45 years of your life to maybe get to know the whole country.

So on my previous post I talked about visiting the capital city of Jakarta and some of its interesting places to visit, now I will head up to Yogyakarta, so let's get into it.

YOGyAKARTA - THE CITY OF KNOWLEDGE, ART AND CULTURE

22089046_10214340481684355_3296325491054887553_n.jpg
Sunrise at the Borobudur temple (Yup, that's me :))

Yogjakarta is located in the province of java island and it was the Indonesian capital during the Indonesian National Revolution from 1945 to 1949 with a population of 3.5 million people. Because of the significant contribution to the survival of the Indonesian Republic, Yogyakarta was given the status of Special Administrative Region, making Yogyakarta the only region headed by a monarchy in Indonesia, also an interesting fact is that the city is filled with students from all over the country because of its good education.

The flight from Jakarta to Yogyakarta was around 3 hours with the national airline Garuda which I found pretty efficient and also unique since the inside of the cabin is covered in batik, which is a traditional indonesian technique of wax-resist dyeing applied to whole cloth, or cloth made using this technique originated from Indonesia and also the flight attendants wear a typical batik uniform that makes them look really spectacular.


Garuda Airlines uniform. Picture taken from google images to use as a reference

When we arrived to Yogyakarta we went straight ahead to the hotel to drop the luggage and then continue to Prambanan temple and I gotta say that when we arrived to the hotel I was in love. we stayed at The Phoenix Hotel and it is like a vintage french mansion with beautiful details.

IMG_0524.JPG
Eating area of the Hotel.

The pool is perfect to shoot a music video, it reminded me to those Lady Gaga videos, it was great and so welcoming.


Pool at the Phoenix Hotel in Yogjakarta. Picture taken by me

PRAMBANAN TEMPLE

After dropping the luggage we went right ahead to the Prambanan Temple which is located about 18km east of Yogyakarta, and I was shocked at how imposing it is, even from a far distance you can see how majestic it is. Prambanan is a set of more than 200 Hindu temples and they were built during the 9th century, also the complex is classified as a World Heritage site by UNESCO since 1991.

IMG_0312.JPG
Prambanan Temple in Yogyakarta. Picture taken by me

The temples have suffered a lot because of the earthquakes and a lot of the constructions have collapsed limitating the amount of temples that are still standing and safe to enter. Sadly I wasn't able to take pictures inside of them but they are mostly empty or have a few statues, indonesians normally go inside to pray.

IMG_0338.jpg

BOROBUDUR TEMPLE

IMG_0519.JPG

The next day we woke up at 3:00am to experience the sunrise at Borobudur, the bigguest budhist temple in the world, and let me say, if Prambanan was stunning Borobudur is even better. This amazing temple is located about 40 kms from Yogyakarta and it was built in between the years 750 and 850, it has 504 statues of Budha and it is also classified as a World Heritage site by UNESCO since 1981.

A lot of people gathered at the top of the Temple to witness the sunrise, a once in a lifetime experience for so many of us so believe me when I say it is completely worth it to wake up so early in the morning to go and watch this.

IMG_1312.JPG
Sunrise view at the top of Borobudur

After the amazing adventure of Borobudur we went back to the hotel to have some free time so we decided to go to the flee market in Malioboro area to buy some souvenirs. This market is huge and it covers a lot of kilometers and the prices are so cheap for you to buy amazing things to save as a memory.

IMG_0366.JPG
Part of Malioboro market

Yogyakarta is a place of History and so rich in culture which makes it a MUST in your destinations list if you visit Indonesia, so go ahead and live this amazing adventure, you will thank me later ;).

Well guys.. this is it for now, I hope you have enjoyed this second part of my trip to Indonesia. I wish I was able to share videos here since I have so much content to show, but maybe I can show you some in the future :).

The last part of this series will be about my trip to Bali, the most visited island of Indonesia so stay tune.

Please remember to follow, resteem, like and comment this post if you liked it.

See you next time :).

Sort:  

That sunrise pic is stunning bro! Congratulations :)

thank you very much my friend, I hope you enjoy the reading

I wish I could afford traveling, the pictures are so beautiful. I like the golden warm tones of the photographies too. Thanks for sharing your experience with us.

thank you for reading! I am pretty sure you wil be able to travel somewhere soon :)

Exclusive 30 days free upvotes to your every new post. No need to send any kinds of steem or sbd its full free service. we have paid service too so please check them too. Active the free upvote service and learn more about it here : http://www.upperwhale.cf

Excelente post @armv, ese viaje se ve que estuvo espectacular!

Gracias amigo! Así es,fue una experiencia única :)

Congratulations @armv! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59876.72
ETH 3191.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43