Underground tunnels, an antiques market and some surprises along the way

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

I am in Puebla at the moment and I can´t stand still, I need to feel like I am exploring. This Sunday I decided to do some local touristing around and to spend time with my visitor from Germany and my family. We decided to explore an underground tunnel system below one of México´s most iconic city.

This tunnel system dates back to 1531 when the city was founded. It served as a secret passage for monks in the Cristiada War; it was used by militia during the Independence time; General Zaragoza´s cavalry used them during the war; artillery made these tunnels their second home during the Revolution... Until 1915 this underground series of tunnels was a very important part of Puebla´s history and now it is a touristic attraction.

In the beginning, when the city was built, the tunnels were used to transport construction materials from place to place but people started using it for different purposes.

20180104_150221.jpg

As you can see in the map, the tunnels cover a large extension of the city. There are some part that haven´t been excavated well enough to allow people inside and since the most devastating earthquake in amost 30 years happenned a few months ago, I think the excavation is on hold at the moment.

20180104_144949.jpg

As you can see, the tunnels are nowhere near old or ancient, they have been restored and electricity is now part of the voyage which, according to me, takes away all the magic.

At some point there was even some 1920´s music playing that at first was nice, but it became very repetitive - I think they only had one track.

20180104_143908.jpg

20180104_144441.jpg

I only explored around 10% of the tunnels because most of them are not connected and you have to go out to the surface and search for the next entrance a few hundred meters away. I was with my family otherwise I would´ve explored them all, but you gotta think about your whole adventure party.

20180104_144649.jpg

20180104_144144.jpg

After exploring the very modern and none ancient at all tunnels, we got hungry.

There is a ancient railroad station in a nearby town where, on saturdays and sundays, people have a very Mexican breakfast, right where people used to wait for trains no so many decades ago.

It is known in all the Puebla state as The station and people from everywhere come here, supposedly because it has some of the best food in the area. We wanted to put the station´s reputation to the test.

I have to say, I wasnpt disappointed. Not at all.

20180107_110323.jpg

Look at the little chairs! I am not sure if they are meant for mexicans from the pre-Columbus time or if it is on purpose, to add some flavor to the experience of eating in the railroad station.

20180107_110343.jpg

You know I love eating food that I will regret it the next day, so I ahd to order a quesadilla, a beef taco and a dish called Pancita, you don´t want to know what´s inside this dish, believe me, but if you are brave enough, google mexican pancita dish.

20180107_112245.jpg

20180107_112449.jpg

This was my view during the whole breakfast. The calmness and little town vibe is uncomparable... i think this is one of the reasons this place is so famous amongst Puebleans, the environment surrounding your breakfast time.

20180107_114930.jpg

My dad told me about a flee market - which yeah, could be considered that, but I like to call these Antiques market and you will see why - and it was relatively close and it was still very early.

We didn´t hesitate to go.

20180107_135912.jpg

20180107_134335.jpg

20180107_134602.jpg

20180107_140025.jpg

20180107_135756.jpg

I was delighted with the market but I was more intrigued by the people there. I had to take some pictures - some of them are candid, on others I asked for permission to take them.

This is the authentic part of a flee/antiques market, the people inside this small yet amazing eco-system.

20180107_135641.jpg

20180107_141152.jpg

20180107_141600.jpg

20180107_141819.jpg

20180107_142501.jpg

20180107_141618.jpg

20180107_145632.jpg

Tired and happy about my day, I deserved a beer. A cold and spiced a-la-Mexico beer.

20180107_204443.jpg

Sort:  

Thanks so much for sharing your adventures,

That part of the world is still somewhere yet to go - but I'm brushing up on the Spanish.. (Can't usually fit too many languages in my head and I think I'm just about rid of the Arabic from backpacking around Egypt and the Middle east!)

I love candid photos of locals, but yes, I'm always wary of taking them.. I guess I'd feel strange if someone was following me on my day to day tasks and taking photos because it was "different" to what they knew. But they do really help you remember the essence of the place - because the people are do make up the essence.

Looking forward to looking through the rest of your travels

Cheers
Shelly

wow it really nice adventure. thank you for sharing sir.

By the way sir i know its not related, but id like to say thank you very much for supporting and helping @mermaidvampire as she really need some help. i just want to thank you from the bottom of my heart. your really are a kind person. May the Lord God return more blessing to you as the same thing that you did to us. specially now KOI as mermaidvampire. God bless you.

Having worked for an English language school in the U.K., I have been invited many many times by the Mexicans who have come and gone. I have never been to Central America, but places like Mexico and Costa Rica excite us (travelling-two) so much that we will eventually end up on the playa sipping on some cocktails or a Corona soon. It looks like you had a great time and we look forward to seeing what other adventures you have! :)

Awesome travel story, thanks for sharing! What is your next destination btw? I am a digital nomad currently living in Playa del Carmen, Mexico - I have met a few Steemit people here already, would be great to meet another one :) Sorry if you have already mentioned that info in some of your previous posts, I just stumbled on your profile and havent checked other posts yet :)

A very attractive article that I have seen in steemit.

Me encantó esta aventura, México me enamoró y no pierdo la esperanza de regresar. Increíble lugar esos túneles, siempre me han gustado estos tipos de lugares antiguos y que encierran una historia sorprendente, este año planeo conocer muchos lugares y compartirlo con todos, ya ves, que has servido de inspiración. Genial post Erick, un abrazo.

Getting restless eh? I know the feeling, I get like that whenever I'm home for to long. I get that urge to need to get out even if it's something short and simple. Those tunnels are interesting, but I'm like you. I'd like it more if it was old and dingy, a little scary even. The way they got it all lit up with those lights I feel like I'd want to eat some magic mushrooms or something before going in there. lol!

Hola amigo muy buenos días quería empezar dándote las gracias por tu voto en uno de mis post, la verdad es que muchos necesitamos de ayuda de personas como ud. dada la grave crisis que atravesamos en el país, también es de agrado que te voten por contenido de algo que sencillamente te gusta hacer, veo que tus post son de muy buen contenido y espero poder seguir leyéndote. un abrazo desde venezuela

It's so beautiful to travel and discover wonderful things. I always like to know the history of the places where I travel and details about the culture. What did you eat at The Station?

I like your selfie :D

I just googled "pancita" and lemme tell you one thing: No thanks.
Loved the post, i enjoy a lot visiting old markets.. I always say they keep the essence of the city where they are.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63365.67
ETH 3398.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44