Introducing Serbia to Steemit; #Serbiaweek; Day 1: 10 things to see in Serbia

in #travel6 years ago

Serbia is situated at the crossroads of Central and Southeast Europe. Out of around 7 million residents of Serbia, the majority lives in Northern Serbia. The capital city, Belgrade, ranks among the oldest and largest cities in Southeastern Europe.
This small country is known to the world thanks to tennis player Novak Djokovic, scientists Nikola Tesla and Mihajlo Pupin, Mileva Maric and many others.270px-Flag_of_Serbia.svg.png

Very few of you know something more about Serbia, so I decided to dedicate this week to introducing Serbia to all of you. This is a great country and I wish to share it with you.
For day no.1 I decided to write 10 things to see in Serbia. So let's begin.

  1. A monument of nature- "Đavolja varoš"-"The Devil's town"
    Devil-Town-Serbia.jpg
    This rare sight arose from centuries old soil erosion and it formed "two residential districts" - "A Devil's pit" and "A Hell's pit". This place is also known as Red spring. Locals believe that this water is healing water. The legend behind this miracle is that this figures are actually "rocky wedding guests" who were going to marry brother and sister, the God made them like this to prevent the great sin. "The Devil's town" is nominated for a world wonder of nature.

  2. Vlasinsko jezero- Vlasina Lakevlasina-1.jpg
    It's surface is 16 km2 and the depth is 35 m. The interesting thing about Vlasina Lake is so-called "floating islands" which arise from lifting water level. The islands are from peat, the product made of centuries old decay of moss.

  3. Preserve UvacUvac_River_and_Eagle.jpg
    One of the things that many remember when someone say "Uvac" are the beautiful meanders of the same name river Uvac. This preserve is rich with the only natural wildlife preserve of griffon vulture in Serbia. It's wingspan can reach 3m. If you are lucky, you can see unique dance of this birds. Also, you can't miss seeing many caves. If you wish, you can cruise to really feel the nature.

  4. Felix Romuliana
    fr_3.jpg
    This is magnificent palace of Roman czar Gaius Maximianus. Today, visitors can see the remains of the former palace with the mosaics, the statue of czar Gaius Maximianus, the temple dedicated to Jupiter and Helcules, public baths, etc.

  5. Oplenac
    oplenac-topola (10).JPG
    This place is historically important because of the Karadjordjevic dynasty. Here, you ca see the mausoleum of Karadjordjevic dynasty which was built by Petar I Karadjordjevic, the Church of St. George, royal vineyards, museum, the house of king Peter I, also royal mansions, the monument of Karadjordje, the originator of Karadjordjevic dynasty. If you want to spend more days on this glorious hill, there's a hotel that locals built.

  6. Kopaonik
    kopaonik1.jpeg
    Kopaonik is the largest mountain range in Serbia. The highest point is Pancic's Peak with 2 017m. Kopaonik is a major ski resort in Serbia and it was declared as a national park.

  7. Fruška Gora
    3971831740_8c8623293c_o-500x375.jpg
    We, Serbs, are referring to it as a jewel of Serbia, due to it's beautiful landscape protection area, nature and its picturesque countryside.

  8. Petrovaradinska tvrđava - Petrovaradin fortress
    8.jpg
    Nicknamed "Gibraltar on/of the Danube" is a fortress in the town of Petrovaradin, itself part of the City of Novi Sad. The fortress was added to Spatial Cultural-Historical Units of Great Importance list but to the world it is known as a place where EXIT is happening.

  9. Hram Svetog Save - The temple of Saint Sava
    maxresdefault.jpg
    The temple of St. Sava is a Serbian Orthodox church located on the Vračar plateau in Belgrade. It is one of the largest Orthodox churches in the world and ranks among the largest church buildings in the world. The church is dedicated to Saint Sava, the founder of the Serbian Orthodox Church and an important figure in medieval Serbia. It is built on the Vračar plateau, on the location where his remains were burned in 1595. by Ottoman Grand Vizier Sinan Pasha. From its location, it dominates Belgrade's cityscape, and is perhaps the most monumental building in the city.

  10. Kalemegdan
    bg.jpg
    Last but not least, Kalemegdan Park is the largest park and the most important historical monument in Belgrade. Its name is formed from the two Turkish words: "Kale" (fortress) and archaic word of Turkish origin "megdan" (battlefield). Kalemegdan Park, split in two as the Large and Little Parks, was developed in the area that once was the town field. It provides places of rest and entertainment. Belgrade Fortress and Kalemegdan Park together represent a cultural monument of exceptional importance, the area where various sport, cultural and arts events take place, for all generations of Belgraders and numerous visitors of the city.

I could write all day about the great things to see in Serbia, but I'll let you see it for yourself.

I hope you like this because I am inspired to write more about Serbia. Stay tuned :)

Sort:  

@anjuska To be honest I've never pay any attention to Serbia or had interest to visit it. That mindset came from ignorance mainly, now if I had the chance I will definitely go there. Thanks for sharing and showing the world how amazing your country is.
PD: I'm guessing you are using other people's photographs in your post, if I'm correct you should post the credits or the source of each of them. As a photographer I really love to see my work posted everywhere but some acknowledgement and credit is the least I'll will expect.

Dear @mvjosesalazar thank you very much for the support! I thought that nobody is really interested in visiting Serbia and that's the main reason why I decided to do this and I'm glad that I changed your mind :) Also, thanks for the suggestion about the photos, I got it from Google Images but next time I will post the source for sure. :)

@anjuska
I would be sharing some pictures and wonderful facts about my homeland (Venezuela) and from my current Home (Ecuador). These countries have so many things to offer, I'm sure you'll be amazed.
It's every citizen's duty to share with the world the wonders of their country. Follow me if you want to know more!
I'm glad you've got my point with the copyright advice that I gave you.
Cheers!

I can't wait to read about Venezuela and Ecuador or any other country from their own citizens. I'll greet to you on Serbian "pozdrav" :))

I thought Kale means Hill. Great piece and very beautiful pictures. Upvoted and resteemed :)

Dear @drumsta the word "Kale" has a various interpretations. You must heard it from our Minister of Foreign Affairs :)) thank for the rest :*

Sjajno, upvote i resteem od mene! :)

Hvala puno :)

Good to have you onboard!
You can find more people from the Balkan region in our chat. Feel free to join us and share your posts at https://discord.me/steemitslavchat

Thank you so much :)

Welcome to Steemit @anjuska!
I will go to Serbia and Bosnia before I die.
It looks so beautiful, and I love the language and the traditional music.
I am American, but my great grandfather came here from Bosnia.

I love all post about Serbia!

I'm glad you like it :) My father also comes from Bosnia, so I'm half Serbian half Bosnian :))

Congratulations @anjuska! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

What an awesome post, shame you aren't getting more for your hard work. I knew none of this about Serbia except the name St Sava. We have a church here in Dallas named after St Sava.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00