I set myself a challenge …… I wondered if I could do it.

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

A challenge was set in front of me today. I had to drive somewhere new on the Sunshine Coast. It was at least a 30-minute drive away from my surf beach location. I was driving this distance and direction on my own. My husband drove it with me a week ago. We used the MAPS app on the iPhone and we were able to find it without trouble.

On my own is a different matter. I could visualise the roads, the turns and the place. I was sure that I could drive to Forrest Sanctuary Road successfully without the MAPS app. It was a pleasant drive. Today the weather was one of those very cold and wet weather days. The light was dark with lots of dark rain clouds. It could actually be described as miserable.

I eventually made it to my destination at Rain Forrest Sanctuary Road and was blown away at the beauty at what I saw. I drove up. Perhaps it was the rain and the cold weather that added to so much beauty to this place. I recall it being nice and green but today - wow.

So I took some photos at this gorgeous rain forrest.

I drove up this very pretty road to this little community set in the forrest. It was a narrow one way road for the entry. I could not get out of the car to snap this pic as there were other cars coming up behind me.

Then once through the rain forrest entry I came out into a housing estate. The houses were big, modern and looked expensive.

Some modern houses are so big that they take up the entire block of land. Like this one!

I arrived at my destination, to the clever lady who makes candles. Lyn was refilling my containers, which is cheaper than buying a brand new one. It was worth the drive. I wondered what kind of house she lived in, I thought it was a unit given the address she gave me. In actual fact it was an over 50's retirement resort set up; small like a unit. These kinds of places have become popular with many people who want to downsize, want security and want to travel.

Here is the little street where there are 100 small units and all with residents.

People have different preferences with the kind of homes they want to live in. It is a personal choice of course and this is what makes the world go round. Everyone has a story and it is fun to hear about every story.

I am glad I went on this ride today.

Cheers


Enjoy reading and please comment.


Sort:  

What a contrast between the idyllic forrest and the modern houses. Wonder how much it costs to build a house like that... :)

I think it is a lot of money @theyviking.

What a beautiful place, and very true each human being decides where his home is and that you want to be surrounded, sometimes we fall into jusgar or prejudice and we do not realize that everyone is happy where he likes.

I invite you to read my publication and give me your opinion

https://steemit.com/story/@marifer13/instropecta-city

Thank you and will love to read your posts @marifer.

I read your posts and because I learned French for 5 years in high school was able to get a very good idea of the words and meaning. Lovely photos and an informative interesting read @marifer.

Where is the Sunshine Coast? I don't recognize the style of homes. It looks like a great place to be though.

In Queensland, Australia

I've always wanted to visit Australia. Now I've got one more thing to look forward to.

It's nice to go to a different places sometimes and get out of the daily routine, thank you for sharing your little and amazing challenge with us!

Glad you liked it.

howdy @angiemitchell! I'm glad the drive turned out so well for you today and that it was so worth it with the beautiful scenery. Very unusual architecture there. fun and interesting post!

I was driving this distance and direction on my own

I’ve failed over and over and over again in my life and that is why I succeed. Michael Jordan

These kinds of places have become popular with many people who want to downsize, want security and want to travel

Take care of your life and the Lord will take care of your death. George Whitefield

I wondered what kind of house she lived in, I thought it was a unit given the address she gave me

My fear was not of death itself, but a death without meaning. Huey Newton

It was worth the drive

“In the end, it’s about the teaching, and what I always loved about coaching was the practices. Not the games, not the tournaments, not the alumni stuff. But teaching the players during practice was what coaching was all about to me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59907.23
ETH 2647.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43