McLeod Ganj – Where Borders Becomes Irrelevant

in #travel6 years ago

Dear friends,

I am posting one travel blog for which I am primarily joined steemit. Though I posted one or two in the beginning of my steemit life but due to the fact that the response level was naturally way beyond my imagination I stopped posting my blogs keeping active my self by participating in some photo contest.

Now I feel it is time to post a blog on a new place. So please go through the blog and let me know whether you liked it or not.

Any suggestions, additions and corrections would be accepted whole heatedly.

McLeod Ganj – Where Borders Becomes Irrelevant

Indians by heart welcomes and accept everyone as their own so is India and there is no other better place than Dharmasala to prove this. McLeod Ganj which may resembles to another province inside India situated in Dharmasala in Kangra district of Himachal Pradesh. Majority are Tibetans and the place is home to their spiritual leader but feels like belongs to all Indians too – Dalai lama and many Monks along with the monastery, one of the main reason for traveling to another hilly place in the lap of Great Himalayas.

Dharmasala is an internationally renowned tourist attraction blessed with the presence of beautiful Himalayas. A part of this town known as MacLeod Ganj, small in size but too big in terms of its fame as it is considered to be the world of spirituality because of the presence of Dalai Lama here. Probably many may confuse this particular name is something to do with monastery, Dalai lama etc but MacLeod is the then Punjab governor during the British rule then and ganj in Hindi means neighborhood.

Trying to brief on unknown details only makes embarrassment so save from history on Dalai Lama and the connection with this place here. All I know is about his exile and ongoing feud with Chinese Government and this is the place where India government allowed them to settle since the time of Pandit Jawaharlal Lal Nehru. India also gave permission to make the monarchy. This holy place is where many monks and nuns reside apart from a lot of Tibetans. I read somewhere that this place is also known as Tibetan Government in Exile.

The street down to Monastery from bus stop and parking area was lined with many shops on one side. A number of visitors, Indian nationals as well as people from foreign countries along with monks in their traditional red color were seen on the road. As per the information most of foreign nationals were arriving with the purpose volunteering with Tibetan community and few others for meditation and yoga. Though the street looked so busy some sort calmness was also prevailing in the environment like some Ashrams in other places.

Before reaching the monastery, on the halfway there was another Tibetan temple with lot of cylindrical wheels in periphery with many people trying to spin it with hands in clockwise direction. Never seen earlier anywhere but it really looked to be a custom and only curiosity was what it is for? And the answer was in a board hanging on the wall of Monastery. They were cylindrical prayer wheels with a lot of Mantras inside with a life tree and it is another form of purifying from negatives like a prayer is used to be orally as per the Tibetan custom.

dsc_02991.jpg

The main temple was still few more meters away and it was located at the end of the street it seems. The complex looks huge which houses Dalai Lama along with temple and a museum. Here too spinning wheels were installed along with the walls. The temple consist of a big statue of Budha, the size is worth notable along with few other smaller statues with name never heard in fact. Many monks and few others found to be religiously attending prayers sitting in the hall with a pin drop silence.

The struggles of Tibetan life were reflected in the museum through sculptures and other displays. A small theatre is also available to show documentaries on Tibetans life for those who were interested. Many visitors were also took time to relax in the temple atmosphere on benches and floors out side, was they meditating no idea though.

mc-leod-ganj.jpg

Though the temple looked different in style and the visit gave another memorable experience by getting a chance to be in this holy place and trying to involve religiously with the Budhist way of spirituality with Buddhist nuns and monks even if for a silent prayer was more than what expected before planning this trip.

On the way back from McLeod Ganj there was another religious structure which attracts many visitors. It’s a church known as “St John’s Church in the Wilderness built in 1852 by then British rulers. This place makes an interesting view as it is situated in a dense pine and deodar forest area. A special mention about this church is that it survived a severe earth quake which destroyed most of the building in this area along with loss of many people. But only the spire and bell tower was damaged for church which restored with new construction.

By the time of return after completing one of the main purpose of the trip, what I forget to notice was how beautiful this location might be on the feet of mountains looks like, especially the street seemed to be ends there with another picturesque location in the lap of glorious Himalayas.

Sort:  

Wow! @angelro..U really took me to Himachal. You have amazing writing skill. Keep it up dear!😊👍

Thanks a lot for ur nice words. I consider such comments as energy drink as I never thought that it is possible for to write leave alone a blog but a paragraph..

I already completed few more that i will post one by one..

Thanks once more

Thats good to hear. We are always here to motivate you. Waiting for more posts👍

Same with me too...I am happy to hear too...I will post my another blog soon

Awesome, we have an in-house tour guide! :)

Glad u liked it and hear some good words on it.

Such compliments are really an inspiration to realize that it was some worthy stuff

Hi @angelro, my first time visiting your blog. You can really write well, nice sharing. Just wish I can see the Himalaya Mountain range like what you wrote in your blog... I was imagining a blue mountain with lots of clouds. I love mountain range and clouds. Okay, stay blessed and steem on!

Nice to hear such inspiring words. I look forward to post more blogs (which I already written) and also it makes me to try more blogs from the remaining list of places.

As a matter of fact this travel blog was the sole reason for me to join in this Steemit platform. I will write it soon in an Introduce myself post which I came to know so later after started posting in Steemit. May be after two or three months after I joined only I read it few posts that Introduce your self was supposed to be the first post that should be start with steemit life logically...

By the time I was already having around 300 - 400 followers that I lost interest. But now I am already in the process of making such a post to declare to all my lovely steemit friends to know some details about me..

Regarding my blog and Himalayas, many northern locations of India is blessed with the beauty of Himalayas. Actually enjoying nature with such magnificent sight was one of my most refreshing days in different parts of India. Like you wrote one could see blue, red, grey black mountains depending on the climate, time etc.

Like in many countries across the world India too have its own political, infrastructural issues but it is one of the place that blessed with many many positive things. You can thinks about a visit to India - not now, may be in an year or two - or we can arrange a meeting of HHG 4 members here and along with that a vacation for a week or 10 days.

It is my suggestion only and Singapore and Malaysia is on my list too in 2-3 years so that you can give me some guidance for same too...

Have a NICE SUNDAY

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61906.25
ETH 2905.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64