The Castle of Larnaka - Prison, police station, museum

in #travel7 years ago

The castle where the last hanging took place in 1945.

 The Castle of Larnaka is located in Larnaka, Cyprus. According to the written sources of Florius Voustronius and Jauna, the castle is dated during the years of the reign of King James I (1382 – 1398) of Cyprus. The castle was constructed to protect the harbour of the town; The 14th century castle was larger than the present one, part of it being under the road. 

The north side of the castle consists of a two storey building, constructed during the Ottoman period, indicated by the architectural style and the Turkish writing at the entrance. On the ground floor there is a room that was used for the execution of prisioners by the British; the gallows in this room were used until 1945.

 You can also find a number of cannons, some from the Medieval period. 

 Also tombstones are displayed, mainly from gothic churches of Lefkosia (Nicosia), around 14 th century.

 Going up to the first floor, you can find the District Medieval Museum of Larnaka, consisting of four rooms.

 Room I, various architectural from Early Christian basilicas in Cyprus ( 4 th – 7 th century AD). 

Room II, antiquities of the early Christian period (4 th – 7 th century AD), including gypsum decorative pieces from basilicas, clay lamps, glass and clay vessels, stone bread stamps and marble inscriptions. 

Room III, photographic material of Cypriot Byzantine wall – painting (11 th – 16 th century AD)
 Room IV, Medieval glazed pottery(Sgrafitto ware 12 th – 18 th cent), metal cooking utensils, guns (18 th – 19 th cent), helmets and swords (15 th – 16 th cent), photographic material of medieval fortifications (11 th – 17 th) The back of the room IV was converted into an Ottoman ontas (18  th – 19 th cent). 

Below you can see the Divan room( Ottoman ontas).

The view from the top of the fort.

Hope you enjoyed this tour of the castle that was a prison and a police station until the middle of the 20th century. 

Have a great day!

Sort:  

Very interesting, and the place rings a bell. I think i have a friend from there!

Indeed it is an interesting place. Still have a lot of things to visit in Cyprus. And they say that flamingos come in December to the salt lake. That would make some nice photos.

Ohh yes it would!

I enjoyed the tour, thank you! Very interesting to look at clay lamps, vessels, stone bread stamps and marble inscriptions. I am curious what the stone bread stamps were for.

I think they used the bread stamps to make a decorative design on top of the bread.

I am a great Cyprus fan- was there 27 years ago.
Upvoted and resteemed :-)

That was a while ago. It is a charming country, with very warm weather, and many interesting places to visit. It's a place when a one time visit is not enough.
And thank you for the resteem !

I loved the food and the great wine. You are absolut right, I should visit once more :-)
You are very welcome.

@lichtblick, I think you'll have to wait till I visit first, we can't have you visit twice when we have not had our first visit. It doesn't sound fair.

A place full of history, good pics anca. That place reminds me cartagena colombia

I have never been to Colombia. Thank you!

Is a very beautiful castle. if you get to Cyprus it is a pity not to visit this castle!!!
Good post Anca!

Yes, the castle is one of the amazing things in Larnaka.

It is a nice place, I visited it. And a very informative post. Like it!

I think in my next post you will see many familiar places :) in Cyprus

Hehe) I am waiting!

Very nice post. The place looks really good. I love traveling and I really wish someday I'll be able to visit this place. I'll surely steem about it then. I followed you now so you will see my post when I visit. All the best

You can check out cheap flights, depending on where you live. I got a really nice deal with Wizzair.

Okay kool. Just checked Wizzair.com thanks again

You're welcome.

Thank you for making me feel for several minutes like a tourist, even if I was in front of a screen! very interesting and detailed, thank you again:)!

an excellent post as always @anca3drandom what a istrcal narrative of what i can only learn from a great steemian.... thanks for this... I also mentioned you and your blog post/picture of your STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #4 in my post on quails today... following you already.. thanks for inspiring me... and hope you don't mind...

Very nice place my friend Follow you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63183.53
ETH 2643.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78