Why traveling can help you to move forward in life

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

Bonjour everyone !

First of all, English is not my native language so this post might contain some grammar and syntax mistakes, I apologize.

Do you remember your first trip ? Where did you go? How did you feel, before and after the trip? Did you meet some interesting people ? Have you some stories to share ? Would you go there again ?
After that, did you travel again? Where? What were your reasons ? How was it?

These are just some really simple questions that make you realize how much traveling can have an impact on a person.
This is the purpose of my post, make you realize that traveling can be immensely valuable, and if you are stuck in a stage of your life where you are not happy, traveling can be a way to move forward.
I speak only from my personal experience and point of view, so it is totally possible for you to disagree with me and some point that I will make, feel free to share and debate in the comment section, I can be wrong and if so, I would love that you let me know, by sharing your stories and experiences.
Me In japan
I was 17, didn't know what I was going to do with my life, had no motivation, spent all my time procrastinating. I was in a severe depressive state.
But one day, I woke up, and I was 18, nothing was different except for the fact that another year had gone by and everyone was here to remind me of that.
This made me think, what have I done with my life ? Where am I going ? Am I Happy? What could make me happy?
And surprisingly, I had the answer, I've spent my whole life watching, learning, reading about people living all kind of adventures, but I never lived one myself.
I wanted to do something with my time, something that would make me a different person, something that I would remember for the rest of my life, something that would shake my entire life and turn it upside down.
So I sold the two bitcoins that I had bought one year before and one week later, I booked a flight to japan, 3 weeks alone in this country.
And that was it for me, I now had a motivation, a goal, a purpose. I started to prepare my trip, learned some Japanese, spoke with some Japanese online, talked about Japan with people around me. I had an adventure planned and for the first time of my life, i was really excited.
The idea of going alone to Japan was frightening but also exciting, I knew that my limits were going to be tested. I was not used to that, but testing your limits can teach you so much about yourself.

The whole traveling effect became real. It begins with excitement, motivation, turns your life toward a goal, the future, makes you interested and therefore, interesting.

But this is only the beginning , after that come the trip itself. It forces you to open your mind, to others and to their culture. It gets you out of your comfort zone. It gives you the opportunity to meet, to talk with new people, and due to your open-mindedness, this is easier.
You learn new things, but you also live and experience them, it opens your eyes, it helps you discover the things that you like, gives you an excuse to learn a new language.

And when you came back from your trip, it gives you memories, stories , and experiences to share.

Thanks to my trip to Japan, I went from a depressive boy to a young man who sees the world in a totally different way. I met people, who became my friends, I even met the love of my life. It helped me move to the next stage of my life. It changed the way I see the world, the way I live my life and most of all, it changed me, as a person. I did not only discovered the world and found my girlfriend, I also found myself.
Me In japan

Traveling is not the only way to move forward in life, in fact, some people don't like to travel, or don't see the point of traveling. But it can definitely help you.
Live an adventure, you will not be disappointed !
It doesn't have to be expensive, you don't have to go to the other side of the world, just put yourself out there.

Thank you so much for reading my post. I hope that it was interesting. I just wanted to share my experience and maybe inspire someone to do the same thing as I did, because it is really worth it.

Please follow me if you want more posts about traveling, Japan or news about the Blockchain In France.

See you on Steemit Guys !

Sort:  

Congratulations @alzou! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Presentamos el Ranking de SteemitBoard
Introducing SteemitBoard Ranking

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @alzou! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57791.14
ETH 2962.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67