Aria's Adventures #1: From Mountain to Sea, Come Explore Kauai With Me - Day 1

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

AriaAdventures.jpg

Hello everyone, my name is Aria and welcome to my travel adventures! In this series, I hope to share my past, present, and future journeys with you as I explore this beautiful world of ours. So without further ado, let get this adventure started!

Kauai, the oldest of the main Hawaiian Islands, is awash with lush mountains and valleys, wind-sculpted cliffs, and white sand beaches. It is also home to Mount Waiʻaleʻale, one of the wettest spots on Earth. No wonder Kauai is also called the "Garden Isle!"

This past winter, I was fortunate enough to visit this breathtaking island for a few days. What follows is my account of the first day.


Opaekaa Falls

opaekaa falls.JPG

The 151 ft. Opaekaa Falls is one of the most popular and accessible waterfalls on the island. Its name, which, translated from Hawaiian means "rolling shrimp," was named for the abundance of shrimp that used to be found here.


Wailua River

048.JPG

Across the way from Opaeka Falls is the Wailua River Lookout. Because of its tranquil nature, it offers great opportunities to kayak or canoe. Unfortunately, I didn't have time to do this, but there is always next time!

056.JPG

On the way back to the car, I noticed many roosters and hens roaming around. I thought this rooster looked particularly majestic, so I decided to take a photo. Unbeknownst to me, this was a foreshadowing of things to come! Keep your eye out for these feathery fowl...


Lunch Time - Pono Market and a Secluded Beach

083.JPG

Researching places to eat nearby, I discovered Pono Market came highly recommended. Here we have the fried chicken plate with lomi-lomi salmon and poke (above) and kalua pig and cabbage plate with kimchi (below)

085.JPG

The chicken was slightly sweet, had a great crunchy coating, and was very juicy, while the kalua pig had a rich smoky flavor to it and was very tender. I would highly recommend both!

072.JPG

Walking back the the car with the food, I spied another feathery friend who was using the rental car as shelter from the sun. I felt a little bad when I had to shoo it away! It looked so comfortable under there.

142.JPG

Driving around looking for a nice spot to each all the delectable food, I came across this beautiful secluded beach.

White, soft sand? Check!

Trees for shade? Check!

Gorgeous view? Check!

This spot was the perfect place to eat lunch! I wish I new the name of the beach so I could tell all of you where this was, but alas, I do not know! You will just have to discover this place for yourself!

148.JPG

Wading into the water, I saw that there was a lot of activity beneath the surface. There were fish galore! This is just a fraction of all that I saw here.


Hanalei National Wildlife Refuge

169.JPG

Hanalei National Wildlife Refuge was established in 1972 in order to protect 5 endangered Hawaiian waterbirds. This refuge is made up of 917 acres of wetland, taro patches, and wet pastures, and provides a habitat for not only the endangered waterbirds, but 45 other bird species as well.

179.JPG

Though this refuge is closed to the public, a beautiful view can still be had at the overlook that is located across from the Princeville Shopping Center.

065.JPG

Making my way back to the car, who was waiting there for me? More chickens! This one in particular was amazing looking to me. It was like a rock star!


Hanalei Bay

188.JPG

Hanalei Bay is a beautiful white sand beach located in the north of Kauai. The blue water and stunning green backdrop provided by the surrounding mountains make this place the perfect place to just relax. I just stood there taking in my surroundings, inhaling the fresh air, and feeling the cool sea breeze on my skin.

192.JPG

Jutting into the bay is Hanalei Pier, which was first built in the 1890's, and has subsequently expanded, repaired, and rebuilt. I enjoyed walking the length of it, hearing the lapping of the waves below me. Once you reach the end, you feel like you are in your own little world, with an infinite ocean before you.


Waikanaloa Wet Cave

237.JPG

You can find the Waikaanaloa Wet Cave on the side of the road as you drive to the Napali Coast. This cave formed long ago when ocean levels were higher. The waves crashing into it slowly carved away at the lava, leaving behind what we see today.

This cave is not to big, and can be explored pretty fast. When I went, there was this beautiful blue and green glow to it. The picture I took does not do it justice! If you do happen to visit this cave, please do not swim in the water - it is filled with bacteria that can be harmful. Just admire its beauty instead.


The Napali Coast - Kalalau Trail

267.JPG

We have finally reached the end destination for day 1 - the famous Napali Coast! Unfortunately, I arrived a bit late and only had time to hike to the 0.5 mile marker and back. From the taste that I got, this trail looks like it will be wonderfully lush with a variety of vegetation, as well as stunning views.

280.JPG

This is just one of the many views from the trail. From here, you can see Ke'e beach below. The people look so small from here!

view from kalalau trail.JPG

This last photo was taken around the 0.5 mile marker, and shows the sculpted cliffs that the Napali Coast is famous for. Because the sun had already set at this point, I had to start making my way back to the trailhead. In the future, I hope to come back and finish what I started!


Thank you so much for coming along on my adventure with me! I hope you enjoyed it as much as I have enjoyed sharing it. If you did, please feel free to comment, follow or upvote. All are greatly appreciated!

I look forward to seeing all of you in the next post!

Sort:  

Wow, you really enjoy your trip ..

I really like it when you say Kauai, the oldest of the main Hawaiian Islands, is filled with lush mountains and valleys, wind-hewn cliffs and white sandy beaches ... This place is also home to Mt. Wai'ale'ale, one of the wettest places on Earth.No wonder Kauai is also called "Garden Isle!"

Follow, upvote and Resteem your post.

Dear friend @akemirayko

Have a nice day :)

Keep steem on...!!

Good Luck..

Thank you so much for you wonderful comments! I appreciate it! I am glad you liked it. Have a nice day as well!

You are welcome ^_^

I laughed when I saw the picture of roosters followed by deep fried chicken on the next pic :) Great photos!

I heard the same thing from a friend! They thought it looked like I fried up the chickens and ate them! ^_^

Thanks for the comments!

It is a very beautiful picture. I feel like traveling:)

Thank you so much! Glad you enjoyed it. You should definitely travel!

Welcome! Welcome! An extremely good post, your photography is absolutely breath taking, you should check out the photo competitions. The descriptions of these beaches and areas were extremely infromative. I'd love to make a trip to kauai someday, you have given me a first hand guid to all the good spots that would be included in my trip, I am grateful for how much effort you put into your intro post, it was really amazing... I look forward to the next one!!!

Thank you so much! Your comments mean a lot to me! I will definitely check out the photo competitions.

You should definitely plan a trip to Kauai, especially if you love nature and the outdoors! It almost felt like I went back in time, when life was simpler and more relaxed. I was only able to visit for 3 days, but those were 3 amazing, memorable days!

Welcome to the steemit family akemirayko, hope you will enjoy all this platform has to offer and make tons of friends. You are very tallented and I admire your writing style. Excellent play with words to capture and keep your audience. You have a lot to offer and I am looking forward to your next post.

You are so kind! Thank you for your thoughtful words! I heard that Steemit has a wonderful community, and that has turned out to be true. I look forward to sharing more experiences and making meaningful connections! Thank you again!

Welcome to steemit!
good post.
Kauai is beautiful.

Thank you very much for your comments! Kauai is indeed beautiful!

great travel blog! nice pictures and beautiful place. thanks for sharing :)

Thank you for your comments! I am happy that you enjoyed it!

Akemirayko, what an exceptional and beautiful adventure you had on the Island of Kauai. Your pictures were stunning and your description of each picture was extremely informative and interesting. You made me feel like I was there with you on your fantastic Kauai adventure! The sights were so special and majestic, the food so delicious and appetizing, and the roosters and hens so prevalent! :D Thank-you so much for the wonderful Kauai experience. You put a lot of work into your first post which is greatly appreciated!!! I will follow you so that I can continue to experience your great adventure. I look forward to your next post. Wishing you the very best and welcome to Steemit! Again, thank-you for sharing your wonderful trip!.....Cabbagepatch

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments! Kauai is such a beautiful island, and my pictures don't do it justice. I'm glad that it you enjoyed it!

AMAZING post ! thanks for sharing !

Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed it!

WAH!!! So many chickens! I especially like the picture of the fried chicken! Yum!

Lol. Yes, there were a lot of chickens there! Glad you enjoyed it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56355.98
ETH 2973.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.14