Thailand 2018 - Muay Thai Travel Blog #07 [Training With The Legendary Sagat]

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

TBMBlog.png

I went to Thailand to train Muay Thai, and ended up getting more than I could ever ask for.

I got to train at TBM gym with private instructions from the living legend, Sagat Petchyindee, everyday for three weeks!



Sagat.png

First and foremost thank you Sagat, Master Peter & family, and the crew at TBM for an incredible first experience in Thailand. Everyone went out of their way to give us the best training, show us a good time, keep us safe, and take us around Thailand to see the sights 🙏.


TBM_J_Sagat.jpeg

Yes, Sagat as in the original street fighter video game, tiger uppercut! Most people will know Sagat as a character from the video game street fighter, while those in the martial arts community know Sagat as the 3 time Lumpinee Champion, and 3 time Rajadammern Champion!

I don't use the word living legend lightly, Sagat was a WBC Boxing World Champion, A kickboxing World Champion, and multiple time Muay Thai World Champion. In total amassing 317 kickboxing fights, with 266 wins, only 40 losses and 11 draws. A total of 151 victories by KO!



A quick word about TBM gym, the group is super professional. They dont have classes you can attend, they only work privately with their fight Team of professional Muay Thai fighters. Our first day in Thailand we got to watch one of TBM's fighters compete in the headlining bout at Lumpinee Stadium! To have our group trained by Sagat is likely a big exception to how this gym typically operates so I am super thankful and fortunate to have been able to train with such a high caliber group.


TBM_Gym_thailand.jpg


received_1027393567441761.jpeg

Take a look at the temperature on the clock in the gym, that's 37 Celsius before factoring in the humidity of Thailand. I'm not sure I can even describe what it's like pushing your body through a grueling workout in these temperature, multiple times a day. I think only those that have trained in similar conditions will understand.

As Master Peter said to us when we were wrapping up one of our first hard afternoon sessions, probably all looking like we were going to fucking die "If you can survive Thailand, you can survive anywhere".



Sort:  

That is very cool .....

I use to play that game none stop.

I may have asked you this before but have you ever competed @agr8buzz ?

Haha good memories of that game for sure! I did complete briefly when I was about 2 years into my training, for just 2 fights but it was a blast..

Awesome man !

I use to do some Greco Roman Wrestling.

cool wrestling is fun, I wish we had it when I was in school but nope. I have an open invite to learn wrestling in the fall, as a friend of mine works with her high school wrestling Team. I may also end up at an MMA academy in the fall that teaches BJJ and grappling, it's something I want to learn more about for sure. Anything that teaches mastery of your body!

love gym clock:P

I liked it too! Not sure why but i guess ive never really seen such an over sized clock in a gym before..almost like a score board huh?

You got a 19.59% upvote from @upme thanks to @agr8buzz! Send at least 3 SBD or 3 STEEM to get upvote for next round. Delegate STEEM POWER and start earning 100% daily payouts ( no commission ).

This post has received votes totaling more than $50.00 from the following pay for vote services:

buildawhale upvote in the amount of $37.88 STU, $38.80 USD.
upme upvote in the amount of $24.67 STU, $25.27 USD.
upboater upvote in the amount of $0.62 STU, $0.64 USD.

For a total calculated value of $63 STU, $65 USD before curation, with a calculated curation of $16 USD.

@agr8buzz, you may opt-out of transparencybot messages by simply replying to this comment and using the tag #TBopt-out. Click here to learn more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58994.66
ETH 2596.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43