Thailand 2018 - Muay Thai Travel Blog #01 [Where in Thailand will I be?]

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Thailand2018.png

Bits of info starting to come in as to where in Thailand I may be travelling.

This isn't a vacation, the sole purpose of this trip is to train Mauy Thai. I'm travelling with an Ajarn who's a native of Thialand and will be booking us into training at various gyms across the country.

As of right now we've got 3 locations on the map that are potentials, two for training and one to learn about the cultural and historical side of Thailand. They are Bangkok, Phuket, and Chiang Mai.

ThailandMap1.png

Bangkok

The capital of Thailand, located centrally along the Gulf of Thailand. A very large city [Thailands largest] with a population of 8.3 million, it spans 1,568 square kilometers. I'll be flying into Bangkok and will attend training camp in the city, possibly more than one.

Bangkok traces its roots to a small trading post during the Ayutthaya Kingdom in the 15th century, which eventually grew and became the site of two capital cities: Thonburi in 1768 and Rattanakosin in 1782. Bangkok was at the heart of the modernization of Siam, later renamed Thailand, during the late 19th century, as the country faced pressures from the West. The city was at the centre of Thailand's political struggles throughout the 20th century, as the country abolished absolute monarchy, adopted constitutional rule and underwent numerous coups and several uprisings. The city grew rapidly during the 1960s through the 1980s and now exerts a significant impact on Thailand's politics, economy, education, media and modern society. -http://www.wikipedia.com

Phuket Island

Thailand's largest island at 48km in length and 21km at its widest. Phuket is known in the West as a beach destination, particularly western Phuket with Patong Beach, one of the party capitals of Asia. Currently there's lose plans to drive down to Phuket from Bangkok to seek out instruction from a specific Coach that's located on the Island. That's an 11 hour drive! But I'm told the drive along the coast is gorgeous.

Phuket nestles in balmy Andaman Sea waters on Thailand's Indian Ocean coastline 862 kilometres south of Bangkok. Phuket formerly derived its wealth from tin and rubber, and enjoyed a rich and colourful history. The island was on one of the major trading routes between India and China, and was frequently mentioned in foreign trader’s ship logs.

In recent times, though, Phuket's top earner has been tourism, which has transformed the island into Thailand's wealthiest province. Expect prices to be a bit higher than on the mainland. The west coast of Phuket was hit severely by the Indian Ocean tsunami of December 2004, but almost no evidence of the damage now remains. Phuket enjoys great popularity as a travel destination. Most beaches are on the west coast, with Phuket Town to the southeast and the airport in the north. -https://wikitravel.org/en/Phuket_Island

Chiang Mai

Chiang Mai is the largest city in northern Thailand, and 4th largest in all of the country with a population of roughly 175,000. Located about 700 kilometers North West from Bangkok and situated in some of the highest mountains in Thailand. Chiang Mai is historically significant and I cant wait to learn about the history, visit the temples, and do some meditation in the mountains. I'll try not to get eaten by a tiger.

Chiang Mai, sometimes written as "Chiengmai" or "Chiangmai", is the largest city in northern Thailand. It is the capital of Chiang Mai Province and was a former capital of the kingdom of Lan Na (1296–1768), which later became the Kingdom of Chiang Mai, a tributary state of Siam from 1774 to 1899, and finally the seat of a princely rulers until 1939. It is 700 km (435 mi) north of Bangkok and is situated amongst the highest mountains in the country. The city sits astride the Ping River, a major tributary of the Chao Phraya River. -https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chiang_Mai


Previous Thailand 2018 Travel Blog Posts:

Introduction Post



FollowButton.png


Sort:  

Great place to travel!!
Bon voyage

Thanks @viterbo! As you can imagine I'm super pumped for this trip.

WOW Nice Place.Ideal Place for Traveling. Thanks for Information at this place. @agr8buzz

Thanks @shanta! I'm leaving on the 30th of May, I hope to share more through Steem during my travels..

wow.great.I'm waiting for your next update.

it's really helpful. I'm going to visit Thailand in August and my destination is Bangkok

Hope you have a great trip 🙏 Travelling for a vacation, to explore, or for work?

thank you so much, it's for my vacation ^^ about 4 days

Hey that's awesome, I'm sure you'll have a great time!

thank you ^^

Interesting. I've been training for about three months in Patong. Absolutely love it although I wouldn't recommend my gym as it's virtually empty most of the time. Good luck in your training

Best of luck with your training 🙏 I hope I can see Patong but not sure yet if that will happen. I think we are visiting a Kru that teaches at Tiger MT gym. I'm travelling with a crew of people so we can train amungst ourselves as long as we have a Kru/Coach from the gym running us through drills and sparring.. But if I was travelling by myself I would want a busier school for sure, just to be able to meet more people.. where are you from?

From LA. I live in a hostel so meeting people isn’t a problem. But yeah would def be better to have some more sparring partners. Oh well. I’ve heard good things about tiger. Good luck

Thanks, and same to you. Can I ask you a question.. Is it easy to get an LTE sim card with a data plan in Thailand? Looking at alternatives to adding expensive travel packs to our phones..thinking we could buy a SIM card with data once we are there... any insights into this appreciated..cheers

Yep. Very easy. I got unlimited data and phone calls for 300 baht. cost varies slightly depending on where you live. I pay 550 for a recharge every month. Very easy.

One of my dreams is to go to Bangkok, but seeing the photo of that beach in Phuket Island made me fall in love more ... good post ... blessings

🙏 Thank you, I've been visualizing my trip to Thailand for nearly 2 years. And now it's happening! I hope you make it there one day.. I have a feeling I will fall in love with Thailand and this will be the first of many trips :)

Have a great trip ..

Thanks appreciate that man, only 16 days out!

You got a 29.07% upvote from @emperorofnaps courtesy of @agr8buzz!

Want to promote your posts too? Send 0.05+ SBD or STEEM to @emperorofnaps to receive a share of a full upvote every 2.4 hours...Then go relax and take a nap!

This post has received votes totaling more than $50.00 from the following pay for vote services:

therising upvote in the amount of $102.73 STU, $194.72 USD.
buildawhale upvote in the amount of $103.54 STU, $196.26 USD.
upme upvote in the amount of $41.36 STU, $78.39 USD.
emperorofnaps upvote in the amount of $10.37 STU, $19.65 USD.
brupvoter upvote in the amount of $6.07 STU, $11.51 USD.

For a total calculated value of $264 STU, $501 USD before curation, with approx. $66 USD curation being earned by the paid voters.

This information is being presented in the interest of transparency on our platform and is by no means a judgement as to the quality of this post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62934.82
ETH 3119.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86