Train Hopping with Stxs, Episode 7: Fort Wayne to Cincinnati

in #travel7 years ago (edited)


So yet again I found myself in another train yard in a city far far away and wanted to go on a Adventure somewhere else as Fort Wayne Indiana was getting very boring and it was my birthday and I decided that I was going to hop trains on my birthday somewhere where I have never been and as I was currently in Fort Wayne and never been exploring into the Southern Ohio Kentucky area I decided that was going to be my adventure so as it was my birthday I decided to get some really really really good beer the beer selection of this trip was a local IPA called Good Karma from Mad Anthony Brewing Company I got a six-pack of Good Karma, and a six-pack of another local Brewery called Three Floyds. The beer was called Zombie Dust. Since it was my birthday, I sort of splurged on beer cost ($18.50 for a 6-pack).

I found myself at the local Brewhouse, Mad Anthony's Brewing Company, eating a good sandwich and pondering over my options. I decided that I was going to take my trip a little bit early so that I would be on the train for my birthday. While hiking towards the train-yard, I decided that it was a good idea to get some food and snacks at the local convenience store, which ended up having a nice gentleman outside that had some amazing chronic. that was a surprise, as Indiana has little to no good cannabis. What a great surprise for my birthday! I gave him twenty bucks and he gave me a nice chunk of cannabis, after that it was getting to be dusk and I was on my way to the train-yard. I knew my two options would be north or south, and I didn't really care which. One way goes to Chicago and the other way goes to Ohio & on to Kentucky.

As I reached the train-yard in perfect timing yet again, to catch the perfect train, with plenty of rideable cars. It was going south according to my compass and knowledge of the local train-yard. I had never hopped out of Fort Wayne before, so this was going to be a new experience. I walked along the train as it was stopped and looked for a quality ridable car for my birthday adventure. As I was walking along checking all the boxcars, seeing that they were all locked closed, I stumbled upon a perfect grainer car and hopped aboard. I hid in the hole until the train took off, as I did not want to be spotted. The train took off with a jolt and we were on our way, cruising through the night drinking craft beer and smoking quality cannabis. I woke early the next morning to find out that I only had eight beers left, which was perfectly plenty to make it through the day, but I was running low on water. Not to worry though, I had an extra gallon stuffed away somewhere. W were stopped in the most unusual spot, a single line track in the middle of nowhere.


Image credit CSX

By this point it was about noon and we were passing the North Baltimore Intermodal shipping yard, a"nightmare" which will be discussed in our next episode. Around five o'clock we were passing Dayton, OH cruising at 30 miles an hour (according to my GPS), so it wasn't a good time to get off, I had to stay with the train.

By night we were coming into our final destination: Cincinnati, home to The Bengals football team, and that's where I decided to get off, rest up for a few days, and smoke a bunch of joints. I decided the next morning, as there was a bridge into Kentucky, that I was going to hike across the border and see what Kentucky had to offer. It ended up not being very much haha. Catch my next episode coming in a few days: Cincinnati to Fort Wayne; Running from the rail cops

Thank you for reading this article!
Hobo Stxs

If you liked this article and look forward to more please follow me, up-vote, and re-steem this post :-)

Check out previous episodes here: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6


If you'd like to read more or have a special destination in mind that you like to see me hop donations can be made
Here ↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓↓
1CmgvfVFYZ5szpCVNXUXQEjfJM4SvsMhXF

bip

Sort:  

"Running from the rail cops" - I'm looking forward to that one!

I look forward to sharing it with you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60937.87
ETH 2674.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49