Visiting Burano, the World’s Most Colourful Town

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

I am sure everyone has heard of Venice, one of the most romantic cities in the world. But what you might not know its more than a hundred islands near by.

I got to visit some of the islands during my travel , one of them is Burano which must be one of the world’s most colourful town. It is located in the northeast of the Venetian lagoon, Italy. Most of the small island main business is fishing and apart from that lace making is also very famous.

Today I am going to bring you around the island of Burano.

HOW TO GET TO BURANO FROM VENICE

Since there are no roads in Venice, their public transit is by vaporetto (public water-bus) which are very efficient and go everywhere.

We get ourselves 36 hours unlimited vaporetto ride card.But If public transit is not your thing, you can instead hire a private taxi or boat service . Or you can go on with tour.

We saw some private tour boat like this, the vaporetto isn’t too fancy like this though. And all kind of water transports you can think of will be found in Venice lagoons!

The following link is what I use for my Venice travel planning .
http://www.veneziaunica.it/en/content/public-transport

WHAT TO DO IN BURANO

If you are more of ancient history or old building type of person, you might not enjoy so much in the island. It is a place where you can explore along the colourful streets and take photos. It is also very small.

So here are some of the photos I have taken from my trip.

Island life , after traveling to several mountainous areas , I can finally say that I am forever island girl in heart .

Venetian masks, although the original hand made masks are super expensive , you can get a cheap one for 5 euro or less ( the smaller ones ) most of the sellers didn't mind to give you discounts.

I couldn't deal with cuteness of this whole town. The whole time I was saying, " This is so cute or omg I want this house ".

A couple enjoying the stroll.Every house has matching curtains for the door and windows and yes people actually live in those houses.

If you walk along the canals, you will end with the view looking straight to the Adriatic Sea.

Burano is famous for their world class lace making tradition.

If anyone wandering who took the photos of me during my travels( at least from europe trip), meet my photographer.

We were busy taking pictures in front of this house and he was trying to let us finish our pictures. Apparently it's not his own house , rather a friend of his house. How cool? Can I stay a night at one of these houses ?

Every house has their own boat and it's how they commute around.It's me trying to hide some excitement in the photo.

It get pretty busy in the main squares and streets but once you walk away for 5 minutes , the place is all yours.

In front of almost every house, you can see the drying clothes racks and it makes the perfect photo spots.

One last photo from Burano. Lastly, If you have a few days in Venice, I highly encourage you to make a trip to Burano.

Thank you for reading..Hope you enjoy it , remember to up-vote if you like it and leave a comment of what you think.
Follow me @aburmeseabroad

Sort:  

What a beautiful place! The colors of the place just makes you happy. Hope to visit there once. Thanks for sharing.

absolutely, that's what I want to say, colours of the place just make you happy. :) Thank you for reading.

Wow your photography is really stunning! Looks like a lovely city. 😊

thank you very much.. I really appreciate it. :)

This place is beautiful! It is amazing to view the Adriatic Sea from the canals.

it really is! yes being near the water makes me really happy too.

What a beautiful place! I'm going to have to read up on this... never heard of it till just now.

it's really wonderful place.

I very very love travel ..
@originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @aburmeseabroad to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

I am glad you enjoy virtually going through them. :)

Thanks for sharing ,

Upvoted!

By the way I started following you and I would appreciate your follow back too .
Please visit my blog and vote me too.

thanks , I will check out your blog.

I support your story, Have a nice day :)

thanks. have a nice day too . :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67358.72
ETH 2619.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68