Jasper, Alberta - still lovely despite the smoke from Northern BC and Alberta forest fires.

in #travel7 years ago

I was in Jasper on July 19th for work but to my dismay there was a great deal smoke from the nearby forest fires so most of the beautiful majestic mountain views were not very clear for most of the day.

When I first arrived in the park I took a couple of photos at Talbot Lake. You can really see the smoke. It was early in the day so I was hoping that perhaps it would clear off a bit as the day went on.

IMG_2887.jpg

IMG_2884.jpg

IMG_2892.jpg

I thought that I would swing past Athabasca Falls but realized how busy it was when I arrived. The park is extra busy this year due to Canada's 150th Birthday. I decided to keep going and perhaps visit the falls on another trip which we are planning to take in September.

I drove around the loop and headed back towards Jasper stopping along the way at a peaceful viewpoint where the Athabasca and Whirlpool Rivers join together. It was an area that tourists seem to miss as I was the only one stopped at the small rest stop at the time. I enjoyed standing along the banks of the rivers listening to the water flow. I personally find the sound of the moving water so calming and peaceful.

IMG_0097.jpg

IMG_2906.jpg

IMG_0099.jpg

IMG_0100.jpg

Continuing along the route back to Jasper I crossed over the Miette River and pulled off at another rest stop to take in the view and to enjoy the moment here as well.

IMG_0111.jpg

On the way out of Jasper I decided to stop along another point of the Athabasca River to take a few more photos. Nearby there were some people painting pictures of the river and enjoying the natural beauty.

IMG_0126.jpg

IMG_0130.jpg

Despite the smoke I enjoyed my brief stay in Jasper. I am planning to head back for a personal visit later in September and hope to visit more places and enjoy the majestic mountain views that Jasper is well known for.

Feel free to resteem, comment and upvote my posts - I always appreciate it.

Sort:  

I've never heard of Jasper or Talbot Lake but these photos make me wish I was there now. I'd love to row one of those boats out on the lake with my daughter and just observe nature without any electronic devices for as long as we can stand it and then with the frustration of boredom bearing down on us, sit for another half an hour and just be. Breathe trees...exhale...

Jasper is a very pretty place, you should definitely should go someday. Thanks for stopping in!

Lovely pictures and awesome places you shown hope to visit soon thanks

Thanks @Ahmedfaraz. I am glad you enjoyed it!

You are more into flowers and plants, he,he. Nice photos.

Thanks! Haha yeah I do have a lot of plants and flowers but some others too. :) I had posted some Elk pics last week. I don't think I have a bear pic though despite having a couple of them around areas I have been - the one you posted was great! I will have to dig out some of my other animal and bird pics and post those one day.

Beautiful! This looks like a great place to go!:) Please check my little journey that I made soon. I hope you enjoy my photos. @nakedchef89

https://steemit.com/travel/@nakedchef89/travel-challenge-12-rilski-monastery

Such BEAUTIFUL photography @abnortherngal. The smoke from the fires softens the background of your images in much the same way as fog would.

Adding such a wonderful atmospheric feeling to the tranquility you must have felt.

Such a wonderful expansive space to spend some time just being there @abnortherngal.

Thanks so much for sharing the magnificent river and mountains and wild flowers of Jasper with #magicalmoments. Beautifully photographed set. Resteemed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64814.42
ETH 3450.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52