Gender Introductions

in #transgender7 years ago

When you introduce yourself to someone what is the first thing you divulge about yourself to them? How do you categorize yourself to others as a means of communication and middle ground? Do you tell them what is in your pants or what you do with your lover behind closed doors? Do you tell them what kind of sex that you have and who you choose to have it with? What is the relevance of this... and does your lifestyle have and effect on another person? Who you identify as and who you love is just as relevant as what your favorite color or favorite food is.

To all of the individuals who choose to inquire further as to what makes us different from each other there is something that I would like to introduce to you... That is called open dialogue. Have a conversation face to face with someone, ask the questions that you have circling around in your head, address the energetic elephant in the room. Do this in a respectful and positive way. If there is something that someone does not want to answer or you do not want to answer, tell the person why you cannot answer it and what makes it feel inappropriate for you. Have an open heart and go past your ego. Helping people understand is an essential step to having acceptance in this world. Having patience is a skill that requires an active form of practice. Having these conversations is both healing and beneficial for the person who is socially or culturally different and for the person who is the `normal´one.

I have not deleted photos of myself in the past for a reason, and that is because I am not ashamed of who I was and where I have come from. I want to live a transparent life. Sometimes doing this is painful, but once I go through the awkward new corners of my mind something else happens... I help people consider things they may not have considered if they were not exposed to it. That is the most beautiful thing that you can do for another human being on this journey, to shake and rattle their comfortable existence to bring about change in their thought processes. We were not meant to stay the same we were meant for so much more, We were meant for a mixed bag of colours, personalities, cultures and ways of thinking and whoever said that healing or growing was painless lied to you.

We all effect one another, it is up to you how the story goes, will it be a positive eye opening experience, or will it be a guarded defensive changeless one.

Living away from the place that I was born for almost nine months has been filled with so many beautiful conversations. I want to personally thank everyone who has opened their hearts and minds to me you know who you are. I want to encourage open dialogue not just in the realm of gender or sexuality but also for other important conversations that need to be had. I want to thank the most beautiful gift that has entered my life Hette Heiberg for encouraging me to challenge my comfortability in this world.

So yes My name is Jordan and I am transgender. For those of you who want to know my favorite color is purple.IMG_0159.JPG

Sort:  

Welcome! Unfortunately, Steemit isn't very trans-friendly right now, and there doesn't seem to be a very big queer space in general. You're absolutely right that it's important to have open, polite conversations so that we can all learn. Unfortunately, a lot of people aren't really interested in being polite and civil, and that makes it a lot harder to be open and honest... and patient.

Welcome! I've been here for a few days and am still finding my way around, still looking for that queer/trans space... ftm secret handshake ;)

Congratulations @theirhopedoc! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @theirhopedoc! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68338.18
ETH 2645.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69