Training Ruck #2... The One With the Tunnels...

in #trainingruck6 years ago

Time to start ratcheting up the mileage... Goal for this ruck sesh yesterday was 6 miles minimum... It was an overcast day, but temps weren't too bad, very pleasant for rucking actually.

Let's get to steppin'...

fullsizeoutput_950.jpeg

This is the same creek from my last rucking session, but a bridge further to the west...

fullsizeoutput_957.jpeg

Hmmm.... I need to get to the other side of the metro tracks without touching the third rail....

fullsizeoutput_951.jpeg

Ah ha! That'll do! Complete with graffiti so you know its edgy...

fullsizeoutput_952.jpeg

For some reason I felt the urge to walk a little more quickly going through here...

fullsizeoutput_954.jpeg

Moving on and heading back toward the East again, I passed by the George Washington Masonic Memorial... I've never actually been inside, but its one of the taller buildings in the area.

fullsizeoutput_956.jpeg

Its been fun to watch this building getting torn down and now cleaned up. I'm curious what will be taking it's place.

fullsizeoutput_953.jpeg

Made it back down to the Potomac... On the final 1/4 of the journey give or take!

But First Another Tunnel!

fullsizeoutput_958.jpeg

This is an old small gauge railroad tunnel... I might do a more detailed post about the history some other time...

fullsizeoutput_95a.jpeg

Halfway there! I didn't set out on this ruck to go through two tunnels, that's just how my feet ended up wandering!

fullsizeoutput_959.jpeg

Under I495 and I'll be on the home stretch that I showed you all last week!

Total mileage was 6.7 miles in 1 hour 52 minutes...
So far doing good with just about 2.5 months until my 50 mile event!

Sort:  

That looks like an intense place to ruck. Great pics.

There's always something around to keep it more interesting than just walking in a straight line thats for sure! The traffic lights get a little annoying, guess I should probably do air squats or burpees or something when I have to wait for them to change haha

Spent 4 years on JBA, don't really miss DC at all lol. I miss the food and history, but everything else can kick rocks for the most part.

Yea we love the food, history, museums etc (and the fact most of our friends are here), but a move to Texas is the 5-10 year plan haha...

I'm actually move to Texas in Septemeber. Never been other than to El Paso passing into Mexico. Should be fun. You'll get your freedom back at least lol

I actually live on the right side of the river (VA) so I have decent freedom unless I decide to cross one of the bridges haha...

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60690.86
ETH 2905.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39