Traffic Koans [Day 18]

in #traffic-koans7 years ago

This is Day 18 of the 30-day Traffic Koans contest. Details on how to enter can be found here: https://steemit.com/traffic-koans/@jedau/traffic-koans-halfway-update-1505319420-6600256


traffic-koans

ambulances who pick up passengers

"Come on," the carriage driver urged. "I'll give you a lift."

"But aren't you the transportation for the local infirmary?"

"Yeah, I am. What's there to do if there's nobody to transport?"

"What if there was an accident and you need to take the patient in?"

"Well then, you get off to make room."

"What if we're in the middle of nowhere when that happens?"

"Then you are unlucky."

"More unlucky than the person that was grievously injured?"

"I would assume so."


the-shoulder-lane.png

Believe it or not, there are ambulances that pick up office workers for a fee. I am not kidding. Look at how serious I am. There are ambulances that act like a point-to-point commuter van that ferries uninjured people to where they work, or at least close to where they work. Rather, there were. I haven't heard of any new news about this, but this was something I witnessed firsthand on a number of occasions.

It was only when an exposé at a local news program that prompted internal investigations about these activities. Now, I don't want to say that I singlehandedly brought this to light, but I am one of the anonymous sources who reported this in. Oops! There goes my anonymity! I'm sure a lot of people reported the same thing, that's why it was brought to their attention.

This happened back when I was college. Ambulances who had their alarm on were an everyday thing here. Usually, there were curtains on the windows, but you could still glimpse the EMTs going about with their business. One day while on the road heading to the university, I saw an ambulance slowly stop at the side of the road. We were behind it, and since we didn't have enough space to overtake it, we were forced to wait. Then, it opened its doors to let a woman, who was wearing an office attire, enter its back door. When it opened, what I saw was a sight so horrific, I dare not try to recreate it with an image. What I saw... were a group of similarly dressed people talking, laughing and sleeping.

I grew up around hospitals, being part of a family of doctors. So, I know how the back of an ambulance should look like. That was not it. But, I gave it the benefit of the doubt. Perhaps they were all injured. I mean, who am I to tell, right? I'm no doctor. But then, after a few seconds, it activated its alarm—with the flashing lights and horn, and everything. With it, the ambulance was able to cut the traffic, beat red lights, and do whatever ambulances are supposed to do during emergencies.

I mean, I get it. It was rush hour, and I was for sure going to be late for class. As a matter of fact, I did fail that Trigonometry class, but yeah anyway. They were manipulating the system, and all of their passengers were complicit to the crime. I joked that I should just try it so that I won't be late for class, but my conscience never got around to it.

I saw the same scene over and over again, until I've had enough of it. I took note of the plate numbers and I remembered the driver's faces. I would've taken video, but phones didn't have the best video quality back then. Was it anger I felt because they were abusing their power, or was it in fact jealousy that I couldn't share the benefit of it?

There was one time at the toll gate, there was traffic because, well... I really don't know why the traffic reached beyond the toll gate. But yeah, we were ahead of a marked ambulance, and as it came to, all of the vehicles parted to give way. I told the driver not to step aside, until the ambulance driver called our vehicle out in the megaphone. They were threatening to charge us with obstruction of I don't what, and as much as I wanted to take a stand, our driver folded. The ambulance driver and his accomplice glared at us as they slowly crawled past. From the slit of the curtain, all I saw was a row of people in business suits, laughing, talking and sleeping.

Since I don't think this exists anywhere else, this is a free day to share any driving-related stories you want. The weirder, the better! Go get those votes so that you would have the chance to enter the final draw :D


THIS IS A CONTEST WITH SBD PRIZES!


To know how to enter, check out the link below


https://steemit.com/traffic-koans/@jedau/traffic-koans-halfway-update-1505319420-6600256



Vote @lukestokes.mhth | @steemgigs as Steemit witnesses!



If you enjoyed this, please be sure to follow

Sort:  

Well I can definitely say this doesn't exist in NY, there would be dire consequences for ambulance drivers if they did such a thing. Though that is not necessarily the case for other types of emergency drivers.

The story I have goes in line with this to a degree, and also happens to be the one and only time I have ever been 'protected and served' by the largest gang in the US-- the cops. Their motto of protecting and serving is mostly laughable, should be changed to 'we're here to harass you, waste your time, and ruin your day', lol.
In this instance my friend Mary and I were visiting NY city...and we forgot where we parked my car. We walked up and down streets and avenues for three hours until finally a nice cab driver recommended we try the NYPD. We were around eighteen at the time and clueless. Upon hearing our story, two young cops offered to help and next thing we knew we were in the back of a cop car, sirens blaring, as they drove the wrong way down one way streets until finally we spotted it. Turns out that it was a bad street in a bad part of the city, which hadn't been noticeable when we got there at nine in the morning, but ten at night was a different matter. Drug dealers and hookers scattered as we went past and the cops told us how lucky we were that we hadn't chosen to walk this particular street while looking for the car. They also told us where the safe places to park were should we decide to come back for another round of 'foolish tourists". And while I was extremely grateful at the time, looking back I know they only helped us because we were cute young white women, that most people would have been SOL and on their own.

I was recommended a story recently and the author posed questions to natives of the Philippines that you might be able to answer or know someone who can: https://steemit.com/conspiracy/@samstonehill/my-amazing-father-was-born-100-years-ago-today-a-story-of-us-corruption-and-betrayal

HAHA! You know, tomorrow's koan would be a much better fit for this! You were a day ahead!! :D Great story, sis! One that ages really well. In retrospect, at least there was a silver lining, but it really exposes their blatant corruption.

I'll check it out and try to be as helpful as I can :) Thanks for stopping by and sharing your tale!! :D

That's ridiculous!!!! I mean wha!?

Wha!?!

How can they do such a thing. What if is needed, that is beyond the pail!

You can't reason with crazy, dude. You can't reason with crazy. I wish I was able to ride at least once, so that I could flash a badge and send their asses to jail. Sadly, I wasn't able to. Plus, I don't have a badge I could flash. Desperate times, am I right?

Those are the kinds of people who would do anything to get ahead. I guess all the spammers here on Steemit would be capable of such a thing haha!

I think they would. We should see about getting you a badge. I might know a guy who knows a guy, capiche?

Ohhh that would be so cool! Free donuts for life!!

Wow, this is a great contest and a great story. I truly like stories that are true, because they are stranger than fiction. Unless someone presents such events, rarely ever anyone hears about it. They are like subculture tightly interwoven in the fabric of society, difficult to detect.

I hitch-hiked an ambulance long ago on some blistering hot summer day in the middle of nowhere, where the only means of transportation were my feet. It was a long ride, as he was on a retour from delivering a diabetic patient back home. And, his suggestion was that if any urgency occurs, he' drop me off, what I accepted. Believe me, it was a very refreshing ride with every pothole smoothed out with the ambulance's springs that were much better than in many other cars then. Each time there was a long file, the driver would turn on the siren, and whooosh , off we were. In such a case, I was instructed to sink in the front seat not to be noticed by police, but the ride was truly swift, it took half the time it usually did.

So, your nicely dressed violators must have pretty comfortable delivery to their work posts.

Lao Tzu answered this riddle long, long time ago, and his relieving answer goes like this (sorry for the back-translation): "When those who are the highest are greedy than those at the bottom steal."

ENLIGHTENED!!!

Oh wow! I never expected to enter with an exact ambulance story! Where do you live?

It's nice to hear a firsthand account of that. At first, I thought it was okay, since you hitchhiked on their way back from a trip and there was really no other means of transportation, but when they used the siren to manipulate the traffic, man... That's the kind of blatant corruption I wanted to point out that's why I included this koan.

This is awesome! Thank you for sharing your tale :D That's one of my favorite Lao Tzu quotes, so I appreciate the inclusion of it.

I live in Europe. This was so long ago that it most probably doesn't apply any more. People rarely hitch-hike nowadays. Besides, people now prefer carpooling, a website where people offer a ride for a small contribution or sometimes free. It works also for whole Europe.
The authorities wanted to tax it as black market work, but the lawyers declared it a tax free with the explanation that sharing the highway and gasoline costs while offering someone a ride isn't black market work.
Many of those services are listed on Free Man Post
http://www.freemanpost.com/art-freecheap-road-trip-ride-shares/

We have tons of those here too. The government wants a cut, when really people are just being economical and cutting costs and pollution. It must be that the government is just bummed they didn't thought of it first.

I can't imagine that happening in the US , but if it starts up there will be newscasters eager to put the story on the evening news.

That wouldn't come as a surprise though, right? I've seen weirder news popping up nowadays so this might even seem demure haha!

What I saw a lot in Melbourne, and it was certainly more prevalent in the last few years, was unmarked cars on the side of road, parked on nature strips, to catch speeding drivers. Anyone else would be booked for parking in those spaces, but speed cameras can be anywhere they like. I know that's not quite the same, but its more institutional corruption (in my opinion). They rewrite the laws to allow for such things. And that would be fine if people were speeding, but unfortunately 1 or 2 kms over is fair game these days.

Individual corruption like your story is hard to find in Australia these days, but at Government level, there are more examples.

Gah, I hate it when people justify their blatant abuse of power. Two wrongs don't make a right. This story fits more with today's koan so I'm slotting it there.

They justify that they're not committing a violation just because they're on a quest to stop other more major violations. To that effect, other people commit violations because they see people in power being hypocrites. This cycle will never end until authority figures realize this.

Thanks for stopping by, mate!

Nice post like it....

Not as much as you like the others it seems, but thank you nonetheless.

Congratulations @jedau! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62507.39
ETH 2451.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64