Traffic Koans [Day 11]

in #traffic-koans7 years ago (edited)

This is Day 11 of the 30-day Traffic Koans contest. Details on how to enter can be found here: https://steemit.com/traffic-koans/@jedau/traffic-koans-halfway-update-1505319420-6600256


traffic-koans

There were two separate streams that merge into one, where the liquids are mixed, it's where it is done.

Honey flows from one stream, and milk from the other. They work in harmony and could not be bothered.

One day, honey decided to hog the lane. Milk tried to break through, but its effort was in vain.

Soon enough, honey congested the fill. Then, milk overflowed in its stream, causing it to spill.


the-shoulder-lane.png

This one is quite like the koan that dealt with counterflowing, but this time both lanes are in the right. It's just that whenever there's a merging lane, sometimes everyone wants to cross first. In terms of clothing, a zipper doesn't close with only one side. Greed has a way of causing the other side to burst.

Catch my drift? Now, let it rip!


THIS IS A CONTEST WITH SBD PRIZES!


To know how to enter, check out the link below


https://steemit.com/traffic-koans/@jedau/traffic-koans-halfway-update-1505319420-6600256



Vote @lukestokes.mhth | @steemgigs as Steemit witnesses!



If you enjoyed this, please be sure to follow

Sort:  

My kids are constantly amused whenever people merge properly and I'm sitting there going YAY! WE ALL MERGED! WELL DONE EVERYONE! GOLD STARS! at the other drivers that can't hear me XD

In fairness in the "difficult" areas that I regularly have to navigate, everyone except the stupid hoons are fairly polite and everything just works (strangely). Can't really say the same in some of the other areas where everyone absolutely has to get through first at all costs and then wonder why they're slowed down even more when everything banks up massively.

I liked the rhythm and rhyme of this one though other and bothered amused me some XP

ENLIGHTENED!!!

I'm sure the saying the same thing, so you're all good :)

The thing is, I didn't intend for this to rhyme, but after that first line accidentally did, I just rolled with it. I couldn't think of a rhyme for other for some reason. I guess... I couldn't be bothered with it hahaha!

I wonder if the difficult areas you guys encounter are relative or they are really difficult. What I'm saying is that for more developed countries, some problems that you guys encounter seem like a regular thing for us developing countries haha! I'm not underestimating it though, and I do think that the difficult areas you navigate are really difficult. It's interesting how you would assess the situation of the traffic here if you get the chance to drive here.

In any case, I'm glad to have you back commenting here! I've been checking your account to see if you had posted anything new every time I log in. I appreciate you taking the time to stop by, mate! :)

The "difficult" areas are merging lanes and single lane crosses (not sure what they're actually called, basically there is a very narrow road or bridge where only a single line of vehicles can cross at a time so you're relying a lot on basic politeness for people to take turns going through).

Haven't really felt up to posting, trying to get back into that too. Everything is taking longer than usual though.

Ahh yeah, I totally get that. We have those here as well, but here we call them "the war zone." By we, I mean me, and by me I mean I just made it up just now haha! But yeah, we do have those here. Since most of the drivers here aren't polite, you really have to develop that killer mentality if you want to be able to pass even when they're not letting you. Some are really greedy, so people whose turn it is never really get it unless they fight for it.

Don't rush it. Just take your time with it. You'll know when you get your groove back.

A zipper- that's a good description of a functional merge- the working zipper is a joy to be part of, as rare as it is.

ENLIGHTENED!!!

They're like shooting stars, I think. When you chance upon them, you have a chance to make a wish. I appreciate it every time I get to be a part of a functional merge. I'm in two minds whether to be happy or sad that it's a phenomenon shared globally.

Thanks for stopping by, brother!

I think I'm two days behind on the koans, but I'm back, and I'll get caught back up...

Some of the koans are shorter than the other ones, so the catch up is easier than one might expect :D

I always hated the Good Samaritan who slows up one side of the merger by waiving in more and more people from the other side. They think they're being so kind and never consider the inconvenience it causes the people behind them.

ENLIGHTENED!!!

Oh I totally agree! Those are the worst, especially when he waives more and more people, then the next ones feel entitled to be let through as well. When he does decide to merge, he would have trouble doing so. All the while, everyone behind him had been clamoring for him to merge this whole time. It's named a merge for a reason, not a handout.

Thanks for sharing your sentiment, man. I appreciate it!

I have never seen that zipper successfully zip yet! Damned traffic hogging madness

I can't believe I had more luck than you haha! On my end, I've seen it one or two times, and let me tell you, dude, it's magical! Oh, truly breathtaking that sight! That rare occurrence can be akin to a shooting star. Once it happens, they say you can make a wish, and it will come true instantly! This one time in a jumbled mess heading to a toll gate, for some strange reason, the line I was on merged like the Red Sea after those slaves illegally left their benevolent masters. I then made a wish that I won't be charged a toll fee. Lo and behold, the up-and-down barrier thingy majig didn't go down and I wasn't charge for passing. Hurrah, miracles. Hurrah, merging traffic!

Not that is proud that miracles can happen!! Who could ask for more? I know I couldn't. In fact that might be the thing that makes me decide it is time to finish up and shuffle of to the next level in this multiverse!

Pave the way, Boomshakalaka! Once I tire of this one, I would need to get to that level as well. It would be great if you already carved a niche for us there!

I will commence the carving!!

Would you mind carving some allowance? I plan to gain a little extra weight before I move on to the next level is why.

Oh thats no problem. Consider it done!

Boom, you dawg! I knew I could count on you!

Amazing post and narrative.
Thanks for sharing such great post with us!

Oh hey, thanks! You know, this is actually a contest. If you're interested in winning SBD, you can check out the contest details at the beginning of the post :)

Habla, blah blah blah blah blah, Español for my bunghole...

For your bunghole...

Shut up, Beavis.

Are you threatening me!? My bungole will not wait!

Your rep is almost negative, so your bunghole won't have to wait too long haha!

Hello @jedau

This is an amazing initiative. I have been also considering starting something similar in my #blockchain-blogger series.

Todays koan will reqiure hefty imagination.

@ogochukwu

Hello, my friend. It's been a while! Oh, don't even hesitate about it, go do it now! I bet that with the engagement you currently have, you would only increase readership for your series :)

Good to know people are taking this seriously, and driving more responsibly than in hurry. I never saw any such thing happening yet.

If you're interested, this is a contest with SBD to be won. Check this link out for more details how to join: https://steemit.com/traffic-koans/@jedau/traffic-koans-halfway-update-1505319420-6600256

I still don't understand the meaning of Koans? Voted up!

New roll call is here.
https://steemit.com/philippines/@yehey/teamphilippines-roll-call-34-sept-12

Follow me @Yehey
Thank you

You can find what the flip is a koan in the contest details here:

https://steemit.com/empower1ksp/@jedau/traffic-koans-announcement-contest-details-and-call-for-entries

Definitely posting the new one in the roll call! Thanks!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by jedau from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57839.82
ETH 3132.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43