Traffic Koans - Announcement, Contest Details and Call for Entries

in #empower1ksp7 years ago (edited)


traffic-koans

This was supposed to be for @dragosroua's 30-day writing challenge, but when I went to his profile to check the link, lo an behold, a call for a 30-day project with a 1000 SP loan was just announced. What luck! So now, if I'm fortunate enough to get the 1k SP loan, this will be for that, otherwise, I would still tag this for the 30-day writing challenge, even though there isn't one.

Project Description

This 30-day initiative was initially planned to be just a series of poems that seeks to tackle major traffic infractions. Inspired by @naquoya's Notes, I wanted this to be a creative outlet to vent my frustrations about traffic. As I solidified the idea, I came to a realization that this could be an opportunity to launch a contest. I was inspired to write this because of my recent string of traffic woes, including this one, and I thought that it would be a great way to hear from other people's stories. Since traffic laws differ in different countries, there would be slight variations, but that's the beauty of it. Once more and more stories are submitted, a bigger picture of the different traffic situations around the world would be painted.

Each daily koan is scheduled to post every 12:34 AM UTC, so set your alarm clocks if you want to make an entry! Every koan will try to discuss a wide number of violations, so that it would give everyone an equal chance to share their stories. I live in the Philippines, such an awesome place to drive in... if you want to die early because of high blood pressure. There are tons of stories to tell, and while I haven't experienced all of them, I know enough first-hand stories to last every day of the month.

This is the first time I would launch a contest, even though I've judged them and won quite a few in the past. The basic structure that I envision for each post is a koan, followed by The Shoulder Lane which serves as a section to discuss the koan of the day.

What the flip is a 'koan?'

Great question! I'm glad you asked! A koan is a riddle or puzzle that Zen Buddhists use during meditation to help them unravel greater truths about the world and about themselves. While we all want to rage on the road some times, the best course of action is to remain calm and establish zen. Now, I'm not a Buddhist, but I have dabbled in their teachings for years, and have developed a great admiration for them. Even though I'm not able to strictly follow the path, I do try to stick with it whenever I can.

In doing so, I want people to learn from others' experiences and be able to share their own. Just to be clear, I'm not particularly fond of driving, but I have been known to pay tribute to it from time to time. Plus, koan sounds slightly similar to cone, which is a regular fixture for roads. Traffic cones are used to guide people to the correct path, so that's what I plan to do with this series.

Contest Criteria

To join, it's simple really, you just have to leave a comment that tells a story involving the traffic violation of the day. You can either write is as a comment or as a post (if you want it to earn separately). If you want to create your own post, just leave it as a comment to the daily post you want to enter in. The story should be connected to the topic of the day, otherwise it wouldn't be considered.

The daily winner is decided by the number of votes (50%) and comments (50%) it receives at the 7-day payout. The number of votes and comments on the comment are the only ones to be tallied, and the votes and comments on the separate post would not be considered. One person can submit any number of entries, but the same person can only have a maximum of two (2) daily wins. I haven't finalized how to decide the winner for the whole series, but I imagine that it would be an elimination bracket where all the daily winners are entered.

First Place would get 15 SBD, second place would get 10 SBD and third place would get 5 SBD. I know it's not a lot, but I'm just a minnow, so I don't have that much either. All of the payment will come straight from my wallet. Oh, and one other kicker. The 1st, 2nd and 3rd placers will also get 50% of the SBD that the daily koan made. So, for example, the daily koan the 2nd placer earned 20 SBD, then he/she would come out with a grand total of 20 SBD (10 SBD 2nd place prize + 10 SBD 50% of daily). Other daily winners won't get any consolation, so work hard to get those votes in.

I'm not requiring people to follow me, or vote or resteem the daily posts you want to enter, but it would be to your benefit if the daily koan you entered earned a lot. Let's say you end up winning 1st place, but your daily koan only earned 3 SBD. You would only get 16.5 SBD as a total, which a shame.

I am guaranteeing a 100% upvote for any comments that include a thoughtful comment about the koan or post, aside from their contest entry. I know it's not a lot, but if @dragosroua would pick this project to empower, that'll be about more than 2000SP. Also, I'm resteeming the latest post (other than their entry) of the person whose story I liked. That is in no way indicative of the daily winner, but that's just an added bonus.

I have been known for telling fiction stories here, that's why a non-fiction contest feels surprising. So, be creative with your entries. You can be as funny or as serious as you want. The story just has to be something that happened to you or a close friend or family member.

If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to ask in the comments section. I'm looking forward to all your entries!



Vote @lukestokes.mhth | @steemgigs as Steemit witnesses!



If you enjoyed this, please be sure to follow

Sort:  

Okay. I'm a bit behind. But, let's see what I can do in 2 days. :D

Haha! This one is the easiest to catch up on, I feel. It takes a minute to read a koan, and I don't usually write SILVER LINING-length pieces for all most some of them haha! Thank you for doing this, my friend. It really means a lot! Please don't feel pressured though. As with everything, life comes first. And, this should just be done during your spare time.

Spare time? What is this thing you speak of? Do other travelers know of it?

LOL.

I like the zen of this project combined with one of the most frustrating parts of modern living.

Right!? I really banked on it as well. I'm glad people noticed it. I wanted to skate that line between frustration and calm, and thought this would be the most ironic project concerning this.

It's the real test of zen to be calm in the face of frustration. Something we could all probably do with more practice of...lol

I totally agree! I'm not sure if we would ever master it in our lifetime, but coming close to it is already a real feat!

One day... I hope.

But for now, all that we can do is...

Om Namah Shivaya. Om Namah Shivaya..

I actually caught up with reading these last night, but when my first comment wouldn't post I got frustrated and decided to wait for today.

I've never heard of Koan before, but I love the idea. If I can get my act together, maybe I can jump in to the contest. Although if I do end up winning, I would prefer to donate to the next runner up. And speaking of donating, let me see what I can do :)

I have messaged you on chat thanking you for the kind donation, but I feel it's not enough. So, thank you thank you THANK YOU!!!

Really though, I'm not quite sure why more people aren't participating. Personally, I think this is one of the more easier contests out there. It's not like I'm asking them to write koans of their own. They just need to tell their story and boom, money. One person who commented did confess that he didn't read the contest details, so I guess there's that. Maybe my name on any post is just a sign for people to stay away or not read it hahaha!

Goodness me, exciting! Daily posting for thirty days and Koans!

I am rubbing my tummy in anticipation!

I did tell you that I was planning on regularly posting, didn't I? Didn't I!? This was partly inspired by your Dolmus experience, but, out of fear of other people copying it, I would just mention it in the recap. Don't rub your belly too much! You might have a Boom Baby Number 3 even before your good lady!

You did and I am awfully glad you are. Nothing like regular posting to get the juices flowing and the giblets warmed!

Lol, there defo aint gonna be a number 3!!!

This is great therapy for a writer's block. Writing non-fiction posts is surprisingly helpful haha!

waww thank you for the detailed explantion of KOAN

You're welcome! I hope you find the time to participate in the month-long contest :D

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by jedau from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 0.63 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

@jedau got you a $1.22 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice!
@jedau got you a $1.22 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice! (Image: pixabay.com)


Want a boost? Click here to read more!

Thanks... meeeeeee

I just checked a few of your KOAN posts, pretty cool stuff bro, I definitely look forward to reading the winner's entries. I know running contests can be exhausting! Great job on providing cool opportunities for all the other minnows and dolphins out there. Now you can take a bit of a break from this one when you wrap things up, and maybe I can finally finish up our Scrabble game and we can work on our first fiction piece together lol I have been extremely pressed for time, so you'll see mainly only quick haikus on my profile for a while, because I'm preparing for my German language class exam in the next few weeks, and I bracing myself for mental impact.

Yeah, first and last contest I'll run on STEEM. Too bad only a handful of minnows took advantage. Oh well, it's everyone else's loss. They'd much rather battle it out for a piece of 10 SBD or whatever amount other tougher contests give out. Good luck on you German exam, brother. Ich weiß, du wirst es zermalmen!

Thank you bro, I will now go look up the word zermalmen, but I am pretty sure you are saying that you know I will pass the exam and do well. I hope so too! I am not nervous but I know that it is going to be extremely difficult, I've been on autopilot these past couple of months. Too many grammar lessons are swamping my mind lol And yeah, hosting contests can be tedious, some of my favourites are no longer occurring and even some I have had friends participate in never even awarded the participants who should have won.

You got it!

Do I really? I might take a page out of your book of doubt and wear it on my face lol I will do my best but I know my limitations and weaknesses and the level of difficulty of this exam

Trust the process, bro! Heck, if I believe in you, what gives you the right to doubt yourself!?

I'm trying bro, but the expectations are pretty high lol
I hope I pass it, and don't have to repeat, thanks for the belief and faith in me! i will put it to good use.

Never doubt. Fear is the mind killer, bro.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68091.64
ETH 2633.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68