TRADER OR INVESTOR? - A Decision That Changed My Life

in #trading7 years ago (edited)

Not everything begins with a decision yet it should. If you ask me how you can become certain in the things you do I would suggest the start with a decision.


A DECISION

Are you a TRADER or are you an INVESTOR?

Worst case scenario: You are a day trader. You achieve low or average profits which lead to thrill and excitement. Every loss of capital leads to disastrous serenity and patience.


Believe me, nothing good can come out of this mixture. You'll harm your precious investmnets and even worse(!) your holy mental and physical health.


TRADER are in control of their aggression. I don't mean violence or anger. No adrenalin. I'm talking about automatic acting and behavior.   

Control of themselves but yet not the control of the markets(!). In the trading psychology, we use the technical term "Locus of Control". 


CONTROL

Do you control the world or does the world controls you?

There are two kinds of people in this world. The ones which blame themselves for bad and good events that happen to them. And the ones that blame all the external factors.


Compare those two testifies.

1. "I evaluated the trend wrong"
2. "The market is against me"


Which kind of person are you?

The one that blames himself is statistically more successful, exceeds higher positions on the job market,  got a better health and better recovery.


As a trader, know your possibilities, know your stuff and tools, know your weapons(!) and use your instinct. A trader is a master of playing the game. An Investor is an interested viewer on the public gallery.


Farewell! Michal.

Sort:  

You are so right. I have just started in the crypto world and I have dabbled in day trading. I have made a slight profit in fiat just due to the unbelievably bullish market we've had, but if I had just bought and hedl, I would have tripled or more my money. I have decided I'm an investor, not a trader.

I will probably still leave a small portion of my funds in an exchange to trade with, but not enough to significantly hurt my portfolio if I lose it all (which is likely).

Just keep in mind, an investor only uses a percentage of his portfolio to trade with. The capital is his most important asset in the long run.

A trader uses foreign capital.

great article Michi !

Thank you so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60853.02
ETH 2904.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62