You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My first crypto students arrive this week - here's a list of all the websites I will be giving them

in #trading6 years ago

To be honest I wouldn't be suggesting cryptopia to any newcomers. It used to be one of my most favorite small Altcoin exchanges, but after all the shady incidents and withdrawal issue they created with smartcash, I can't trust them anymore and have stopped using that exchange myself.

I do understand, it's all about your personal preference, but just thought I should give you a heads up!!

Cheers.

Sort:  

So hard to be absolutely sure these days! Thanks for the heads up @simplylife.

You might want to edit your post @samstonehill.

Until the world of decentralised exchanges fully kicks off we are stuck with these centralised options which have ALL had negative press at one time or another. In the end as he said, it's personal preference. And there is never a guarantee you won't get fucked over in some way. Ah, that's one thing I forgot to say... never keep your fortune on an exchange! Will add that now ;)

Also, I should probably add that decentralised exchanges do exist already!

https://coinsutra.com/best-decentralized-exchanges-dex/

...but our ability to buy any particular coin is determined solely by who lists it.

Gonna leave it for now. None of them are without risk. Have added a line to mention this ;)

Yep true, all of these centralized crap comes with it's own risks and they might just shut certain wallets whenever they please, without any warning whatsoever if they feel like it. Better to get the coins out of the exchanges immediately after buying them if you're not looking to day trade.

That's exactly right. Have added this info now.

Thank my dear, please is there anyone you can recommend for me?

In the end it comes down to your own choice, because as @samstonehill said, it's really too difficult to trust these centralized exchanges unfortunately. This is part of the reply I gave in the comments below.

Besides the obvious large exchanges like bittrex or binance, I also use coinexchange.io So far my experience has been good with that exchange, but I'll be honest, I have come across a few complaints about slow withdrawals on coinexchange.io

I have to admit, while I have an account with Cryptopia I hadn't actually used it yet. Was waiting for 'alt season' to begin again. Now you have mentioned this I will look into alternatives. Do you have any suggestions?

As you said, it's really too difficult to trust these centralized exchanges unfortunately. Besides the obvious large exchanges like bittrex or binance, I also use coinexchange.io So far my experience has been good with that exchange, but I'll be honest, I have come across a few complaints about slow withdrawals on coinexchange.io

Looking at this review of cryptopia made two months ago it still feels like a decent option and am struggling to find ANY exchange which doesn't have some kind of negative publicity around it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57666.58
ETH 3076.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28