Trading Cryptos and Forex: Today I learned the Blade Runner strategy and started making money with it immediately!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #trading8 years ago

Today I want to give you a quick over view of a simple but effective strategy I have just learned. To be clear, today is the first day that I have used it, so I will give an update in the future, but I'll go ahead and show you how I made money with it today.

Remember I am trading on 1broker.com which is a great place to use bitcoin to trade stocks, indices, forex, and BTC to USD. I generally trade on 1broker during the week and poloniex on the weekend. But I have also been playing with longs and shorts on BTCUSD anytime I see an opportunity.

How to do the Blade Runner Trade on 1broker

On 1broker, you just go to your chart settings and click the EMA box and set it to 20. When the price rises above the 20 EMA you are looking for it to then bounce for confirmation and then take your long position.

Day Chart

As you can see from the day chart, the confirmation happened at around $870 to $880. I took a long position around then.

Week Chart

It looks from the week chart that it could have helped make an even better short than I did. I had a successful short earlier in the week because I was expecting some sort of correction after the spike, but I could have been more precise with this strategy.

Hour Chart

From my most recent screenshot of the hour chart, you can see that it has bounced off of the 20 EMA again and is continuing to be profitable. As you can see I have about a 15% gain so far. This trade was done at the max leverage for BTCUSD on 1broker which is 5x. I will continue to watch this until the price goes down through the 20 EMA and then will close the position.

Source

I learned about this strategy here: https://www.authenticfx.com/free-forex-trading-strategy.html This page goes into more detail about how to use the strategy.

Sort:  

Thanks for this trading tip really handy and best of all simple!

thx! bery usefull!

I traded this strategy in forex with a robot for 3 years on a 30 minute chart - called 20 Bounce. Aim is to win 20 pips with a 40 pip stop loss. If you win 3 times and lose 2 on the turnover you win 20 pips every 5 trades which is fine. Challenge is when the market starts going sideways for a while - win 2 and lose 2 and losers are bigger than winners. Instinct tells me that Bitcoin could work well as it tends not to go sideways. Will test it out a bit

Bitcoin doesn't go sideways? All Instruments consolidate and bitcoin is more stable than it has ever been?

How you define "sideways"? To me Bitcoin currently is quite sideways.

Technical definition of sideways - price is not making higher highs (going up) or lower lows (going down).

Here is an example - Eurostoxx50 (Daily) over 2016. Long period in the middle of sideways visualised as a channel which is parallel to the bottom or the top of the chart. The blue arrows show moves which are clearly not sideways - making higher highs or lower lows

Now look at the Bitcoin chart - up 122% for 2016 - cannot by any stretch be defined as going sideways unless you take a view that goes all the way back to 2013.

Long periods during the year when it was going sideways - marked as purple channels in between the not sideways blue arrows.

The way I test it is if I can draw a parallel channel that has multiple touches at the top and the bottom. Next chart goes all the way back to 2013 highs.

Note: this is a weekly chart.

thanks, makes totally sense

thank you for the detailed and visual explanation. I find that often times these simple analytical tools are just brushed over and therefor are not understood on a fundamental level.

And nice tip(strategy) by the way :)

Thanks, just read your post. Im not really looking for more leverage accept for on BTCUSD trades, but that might be enough for me to check it out. Ive noticed 1broker often wont take my long position, but i can see how that would be a problem.

Yes, they(1Broker) won't allow for you to trade BTC if too many transactions take place. I love playing with high leverage, makes it easier to get out of a trade(s) much faster if your not greedy that is :)

great post thankyou

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63635.72
ETH 2597.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91