Legend of the Funko Pop Claw Machine!!!

in #toys6 years ago (edited)

image

Recently I mentioned something here about having a Funko Pop Claw Machine in the shop and @summertooth thought that it was the bees knees! Ok...those aren’t the exact words used to describe it but the fact remains that an impression was made. So I promised a post about it with a tag so here we are!!!

The claw machine itself is a basic Treasure Chest model...just designed to be the ultimate Funko machine. It’s made by National Entertainment Network which if I remember correctly, is based out of Colorado.

image

It is one of only 3 of these Authentic Funko Claw Machines in the world. One belongs to Funko and sits at Everett Washington, one is floating around Colorado somewhere and is owned by NEN, and the other belongs to us and currently sits in our shop Conquest Comics in Bayville NJ.

We first saw this machine one year at the San Diego Comic Con while in line to buy Funko’s exclusives. There was a line to play it and I thought, “what a gold mine”!!! So upon returning, I did a bit of research on this specific machine which led me to NEN. A quick call revealed the story that they initially struck a deal with Funko to have a fleet of these all over. They made 3 “prototypes” to show Funko and somewhere along the lines, the deal fell through. I offered to purchase one...we negotiated a number...and voila!

image

For the first couple of years, we would just keep it in the shop and then I’d pack it and take it with me to the conventions I exhibited at. It was an instant draw and a huge success as it definitely separated me from the other vendors. In recent years, it’s seemed the novelty has worn off a tad and we actually no longer take it to shows so it just sits in the shop doing its work there. Still performs well but nowhere near the level it did years prior.

We would put expensive items it there...towards the back or in areas that would be difficult to get to. Still possible, but definitely difficult. The reason I know it’s still possible is because of “claw kid”...that’s what we called him. He used to go to the Lucky Sleo’s on the Seaside Heights Boardwalk and play the claws there. He would win Visa Gift Cards and then bring them to us. I would give him 90% of the GC value in claw play. Then he would go to town. There was one specific day where he brought me 2 x $100 GC’s and another one. Not sure...maybe a $25 or a $50?!? I can’t remember. I gave him 90% in play. Had to go back and broth the money bin a couple times as I didn’t have enough $1’s and $5’s

image
Claw Kid

These are some of the random pieces he’s fleeced me for. I think he got 2 Lukes from me. That Deadite is now a couple hundred now as well. Fucker...

image

image

image

Anyway, he sat and played and used up slightly over $200 bucks worth in claw play and he butt fucked me royally. He obtained a ton of the blind box Mystery Mini’s and a handful of common Pops. The real gems were the following pieces. Luke & Han as Stormtroopers, White Phoenix, & Metallic Doctor Doom.

image

Now this was several years back, so at the time the White Phoenix (which is our exclusive) was going for around $100...today they go $175-$200. The Metallic Doctor Doom was fetching around $75 while today they fetch around $350. The Luke & Han Stormtroopers were averaging around $250 each whole now it’s about $450. So with all his prizes, he nabbed me for around $800 bucks worth of product if ya include all the random other commons and Mini’s. Quite the score. I believe he said he won those initial GC’s with less than $50 bucks.

His secret was that he would use tons of turns, basically as a sacrifice to clear paths to the better stuff. He would use the claw itself to repeatedly knock/shift/move certain pieces that were walling in the ones he wanted. Smart move. I remember feeling extremely defeated that specific day. He had other nice scores but none compared to that day. I stated limiting how many expensive pieces I put in there at one time after that day.

image

One thing that always agrivated me having this machine is seeing the entitlement of people and the “sore loser” that lives with them, front and center. It’s usually at the conventions. Dude walks up to play. Wastes $6 bucks and then starts cursing and complaining how nobody can ever win. That it can’t pick anything up. I’ve had people argue & curse at me and several people...yes...several, punch my machine. I tell them to get the fuck out of my booth when that happens and it usually turns into them acting like a tough guy while their smarter friends or girlfiriend drag them away. Nothing makes me happier than when some dickhole is barking at me how nobody can win and blah blah blah...while someone else plays and wins. It usually just shuts them up but I’ve had people tell me that they won because “I hit the button”. When I ask for more clarity, I’ve been told that I have a remote with a button that allows the win. I just laugh and tell them “yup”. Usually enrages them further. It’s a shame that I have a couple of shitty experiences at each convention for a claw machine. I try not to focus on those losers as it’s the minority...they just stick out like a sore thumb.

The best part is we had signs plastered all over directing them to our Instagram page. That was where we would post pics of our winners for years. We still do it (when we remember) but during its heyday, I would have like 30-60 pics per convention. At the shop sometimes there would be weeks where I’d have 10-15 winners. Ahhhh...the glory days. Oh, one last thing...everything we put into the machine CAN be won. Even the bigger pieces.

image

Here are a smattering of some of the winners of this glorious game!!!! Hope you enjoyed hearing about this beauty.

Blewitt

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Sort:  

I dont usefully mess with claw machines you have to spent abit to win but it's great you took pictures of the winners you cant argue with that, good idea @blewitt

It’s really odd. I’ve seen people pump in like 30 bucks and get nothing. I’ve seen a guy put 2 bucks in and win back to back. Lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

Interesting tidbit, the last job that I worked at, the boss had at least 5 claw machines from 2 different manufacturers. These are interesting things to work on. I had to repair them on a number of occasions, and adjust them for proper claw tension and other stuff. They really are interesting machines.

Claw tension is an interesting one. There are a few machines in my local area with quite large stuffed toys in them, but the claw tension is so weak that no matter how perfectly it is lined up, that it just drags across whatever the prize is. I've never seen anyone win on those machines which all seem to be run by the same operator.

Posted using Partiko Android

That’s total dogshit when they never pay. I live by the jersey shore. Tons of em. All ripoffs. Obviously it’s not meant to win every time but ours pays out pretty frequently.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yep, you don't expect to win every time, but it needs to at least be possible to win

Posted using Partiko Android

There's a voltage adjustment that controls the claw tension on most of the machines. That can be adjusted for more, or less tension. The shyster operators usually have them set pretty loose.

Correct. The ones on the boardwalk by me on the jersey shore are some of the worst I’ve seen. We get winners fairly often on ours. We actually should adjust it more. Lol

They have one of these near the supermarket I shop at. It's full of chocolate bars (Candy bars), the mini versions of them. It's $1 a turn.

I once watched a 30-something guy have about 10 attempts. On the last he got a 25g candy bar. He could have gone to the supermarket and bought 10 50g candy bars for the same money he invested* in the claw machine. Still, he got to hone his claw-machine ninja skills I guess. Sounds legit. 🙄🤯🤪

I think maybe fishing for his candy bar like that gave him a feeling of being a hunter and gatherer. Or maybe there were other forces at play.

I'm not sure.

Posted using Partiko Android

Lol. Yeah I’ve had people pump in like 20 bucks and win an $8 dollar mystery mini. They are all excited and I’m perplexed. I think it’s kust the thrill of it?!?

Holy shit. I am so fucking glad I don't live near your shop after seeing this. That claw machine would have probably caused my fiancee to never see me again, sucked into the void of screaming at an inanimate machine, shaking it violently, and probably attacking some poor man on the street for $1's, leaving him to believe I'm probably some sticky weirdo who loves going to the strip club too much.

Tell me about it! I avoid Funko POPs in general for this exact reason.

They definitely suck people in.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hand jobs for claw play. Would not be a first.

Posted using Partiko iOS

This post contained some typos in its mentions that have been corrected in less than a day. Thank you for your quick edit !

If you found this comment useful, consider upvoting it to help keep this bot running. You can see a list of all available commands by replying with !help.

Thank you smart robot...and damn my fat fingers!!!

Did you just accidentally unearth a way to move those Hikari Vinyl Figures?

Wait, can they even fit in the machine?

Not sure. Never tried. I’ll look into it this weekend.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I think I they might be too heavy and talk to fit down the chute even if it could pick it. Maybe one day I’ll try it out. Or I’ll melt em. One or the other.

Posted using Partiko iOS

This post is supported by $1.26 @tipU upvote funded by @summertooth :)
@tipU voting service guide | For investors.

Fantastic!!! Thx @summertooth!!! Going to dedicate all my posts to you now! 😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

No. Thank you.

Interesting tidbit, the last job that I worked at, the boss had at least 5 claw machines from 2 different manufacturers. These are interesting things to work on. I had to repair them on a number of occasions, and adjust them for proper claw tension and other stuff. They really are interesting machines.

That’s pretty awesome!!! I’m dumb when it comes to this and most other things but yrH, they are wacky machines. Do you work on arcade games as well??

Posted using Partiko iOS

I used to work on them when I was still working. The boss had a lot of different arcade games that we had to keep running.

That’s badass.

We have a few in the shop but I’m taking one home, we are going to sell the other, and that’ll leave us with one that we are going to load a ton of games on.

Congratulations @blewitt! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 53000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 54000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine challenge - Love is in the air!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

They call me, the trophy hunter. Ok...nobody does but it sounds kinda badass.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63914.63
ETH 2664.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77