Animal lovers unite! - - - Great pet places to visit in Bangkok.

in #tourism5 years ago

If you are coming to SteemFest in November, the days of the actual convention are already pretty chock-a-block. However, if you love animals as much as I do there are some pretty awesome places to visit while you are there. Many of these places will not appear in tour guides because they are relatively small operations.

Previously it had been quite difficult to get to these places because many of them are located in residential areas but now that we have GRAB taxi (it's like Uber) it is really easy.

Truelove @ Neverland

This private residence is home to 34 large dogs (I'm sure the neighbors are thrilled!) There is a mix of mostly Huskies but there are Akitas, Australian shepherds, and English Sheepdogs as well.

AnimalCafesAsiaTrueLoveatNeverland2e1500182192282.jpg
source

The animals are very well looked after, enjoy being visited by the hoomans (I think the treats might have at least a little to do with that) and they are not exploited as there are only 2 "play-times" per day. So make sure you plan accordingly. When I was last there the times to visit were at 1 and 4 PM daily.

There is a cafe on site and the snacks and desserts are quite nice... well, if you like sweets. There is an admission fee but i don't remember what it was - not much.

location and website


Cafe Corgi in the Garden (คาเฟ่หมาคอร์กี้)

I love almost all dogs, but there is something undeniably cute about Corgis, which was a breed I was not exposed to until i was in my 30's. I feel ashamed that I didn't even know they existed but WOW are they adorable.

e3823efbde1f4c00a65d73c80c9c54eescreenshot20190515at25604pm.png
source

It's basically a coffee shop and dessert cafe that (as they claim) is "staffed by 13 fluffy friends!" They wander around the shop and also in the garden outside while you sip your coffee and well, once again, dole out treats to the little cuties.

There are only a few sessions per day that are allowed, but unlike Truelove@Neverland these change from time-to-time. They are only open from noon to 6pm but this place is very popular and you really aught to confirm before going there. They normally only do 3 "rounds" per day and 4 on the weekends.

location and website


Caturday Cat Cafe (แคทเทอเดย์ แคท คาเฟ่)

If you are a cat person, first off, we can't be friends. Just kidding. I like cats also but much prefer the completely unconditional and sometimes dopey love of dogs.

There are a lot of cat cafes in Bangkok, but this is one of the more popular ones based on its location.

Caturdaycatcafé.jpg
source

This place is much more accessible than the dog cafes and it is easy to understand why. Cats need a lot less space than a dog, especially a large breed like a Husky. It is located right next to a BTS (skytrain) station and is easily accessed from where SteemFest is taking place.

Most of the tables here consist of you sitting on the floor on cushions and this of course means that the purr machines are going to be invading your dining area... but since that is the main reason to come here I don't think you will mind.

As far as I know this place doesn't accept reservations, presumably because they don't have to. There is frequently a line to get in and if you aren't a member of the Thai Royal Family, you can't stay longer than 90 minutes. They are open from noon to 9pm.

location and website


Although I love animals often times more than people, it is important to understand that the food and drinks sold here are nothing to write home about. They are average at best and of course they are relatively overpriced. However, once again, that is not the reason why anyone goes there. For me, these places are just epic because the animals are so accustomed to human-people being around that they are super-friendly.

This is what I like to do when I travel if i can and if you like the fur-babies as much as I do, it might be a great place to go for a cuppa and a chill.

Sort:  

LOL. The more I know people, the more I love animals! LOL. I love dogs and a lot of stray dogs come home looking for food and giving me big doses of daily joys. I have a phobia of cats, I think I have a repressed witch inside me. hahaha. Excellent data for the lovers of the animals and for those who will attend the SteemFest. Greetings

well given what you have said to me it might be a really good idea for you to stay away from the cat cafe :) ... i don't mind cats, but several friends of mine and at least one family member have had cats that would come looking for attention and then when you give it to them they would attack.

I don't understand these pets and that is just one of the reasons why i prefer doggos

Does it happen quite often that a member of the Thai royal family stays there for over 90 minutes? :) These are definitely very interesting places. The concept of going to a cafe or diner to interact with the animals seems like a very foreign concept to me. Although I raised and eye brow at goat yoga too...

the Royal Family are so revered they could walk by and say "give me all of those cats" and the owner would likely immediately do so. It is tough to imagine this being the case in the west but that is almost certainly what would happen.

I know you realize that i was joking when i said that but the Royal Family is almost never seen in public and would certainly not go to a place like this the cat cafe... although it would be awesome if they did!

Can you please send some link of steem fest's post so that I can know about it and those suggestions are surely worthy.

sorry mate. I don't know what you mean. I'm happy to comply if you can provide me with more information.

I was asking about steem fest, as you have been mentioning about it in your posts recently. so, is there any elaboration about steem fest, any post or information about it? so that I can know what it actually is. this is only what I was seeking for.

Would it be strange that I’m leaving my Malamutes here, fly to the other side of the world and go visit these other Malamutes while I’m there?

F75A0BB1-F7FA-491B-973D-03A11C60B163.jpeg

lovely babies. I am sure they would be super jealous if you did do that!

I know that if i pet another dog while i am out and my dog is at home (likely staring out the window waiting for me to get back) i feel super jealous and will ride home faster than normal. haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63188.04
ETH 2570.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79