Looking Back to My Teen Years... (an entry for ''Teens on Steem'' contest)

in #tossupport6 years ago (edited)


Hello everyone! I am yet to travel back memory lane again in this post, so I hope you sit back and enjoy. hihi~ Kidding aside, this entry is in response to ''Teens on Steem'' contest. Well, I'm no longer a teen, but they created a separate contest for none teens. You may check it out HERE.

It's really amazing to see effort from lovely teens like @mashiliyanage, @chamudiliyanage and @justaboutart... These three young ladies are doing their best to promote Steemit to teenagers like them. Discovering and supporting quality posts by teenagers here on Steemit! So, if you're a teen (or a teen at heart), check these three out and support ''Teens on Steem''.

Now, let's start with our time travel.



FIRST.jpg



My teenage years started when I was in second year high school. In the Philippines during my time, we had to stay 6 years in elementary and four years in high school before we can move on to college. However, these days students have to stay in elementary for six years, high school for 2 years and another 2 years in senior high school before enrolling at college or university.


SMA.jpg



The pictures above was when I was in high school in the countryside. As you can see, I was too dark-skinned. I used to walk to and from school that time and I used to get exposed under the blazing heat of the sun. However, my time in the countryside was really amazing. I got to appreciate nature with my friends and spent time mostly by the beach or the mountainside. However, I only stayed there for around 2 years and a half due mostly to my father's job. So, I left my friends there and transferred to another high school in the middle of third year here in the city.


DAA.jpg



I really thought it would be difficult for me to adjust because I was from the countryside and it was already in the middle of the school year when I transferred. However, I thought wrong. I found these 4 girls which became my high school besties. It has been more than ten years since then, but my bond with these girls remained the same. I found it much easier to adjust with the new environment through their support. I graduated high school and started my University life at the age of 16.


CNU friends.jpg



I took up Nursing in one of the best Nursing schools here in Cebu and in the Philippines. I met new friends and spent my University years mostly at school as well as hospital and community duties. I also met my bestie @akielle in University. We were classmates during our first year, but we weren't close that time. However, we had a common friend who left after first year for the US. Due to the absence of this common friend, we found ourselves hanging out together even though we belonged to a different section in our second year.


CNU duty.jpg



Hospital and community duties were tough that sleeping for only 4-5 hours a day became normal. Despite that, I enjoyed it a lot. I especially enjoyed having duties in the operating room and assisting during minor and major surgeries. It made me think how amazing life is!

Anyway, let me tell you a funny story during our community duty. I and my group were assigned in some mountainous area in Cebu and were tasked to look for pregnant women and small kids in the area we were assigned at. One time, we decided to go on top of the mountain because we heard from other residents that there were some kids and pregnant women there. We spent some time on top of the mountain when it started raining quite hard.

It was a bit dangerous to walk on the path we walked earlier because of the heavy rain, so the residents there told us an alternative way to go down the mountain. Guess what?? that way was waaaaaaaaaaaaay too long. We walked through woods, through vast grasslands without a single house in site, a river and another "forest-like" place before we finally saw the road. And if we walked through that road going back to the Health Center, it'd take us an hour or so.

Our clinical instructors were really worried about us because we were supposed to meet up back in the health center at 10 in the morning, but we arrived there at 12 noon. Obviously, we were asked to make an Incident Report for it. lol~~ It was an adventure, though if something bad happened to us that time, it would have been an awful one.


CNU stress reliver.jpg



As I have said earlier, my University days were indeed tough. So every after exam, I and one of my close friends and sometimes with bestie, we eat one whole pizza to relieve stress. hahaha xD

Unfortunately, I wasn't able to graduate in this University. When I was 18 years old, a horrible thing happened to me. I was diagnosed with "Cholelithiasis and Cholecystitis". My case that time was severe that the doctor advised me to undergo an operation immediately. Due to the gravity of my condition, the operation and recovery time took twice the usual time to complete.

I had to rest for 2 semesters making me fall back one year from my batchmates and it so happened that the curriculum changed that time, so if I go back to that University, I'd have to start again. I didn't want that, so I decided to transfer to another University which still entertains students from the old curriculum. Luckily, I found one and spent the rest of my University days there. I graduated at the age of 21, instead of 20.

At the age of 18 and 19, particularly during my break from school after the operation, I suffered from depression. That feeling of being outcasted from your peers. Seeing them at school while you're at home recovering from something you didn't want to happen. It was awful! I felt sad and left out... I felt empty. The Internet was my haven that time. If not asleep, I was on my PC... and that time, I drowned myself in Japanese music. I have said this before, but a Japanese saved me from that feeling. That short span of my depressive state became a memory and I started living optimistically again.


Cousin Bonding.jpg



Well, aside from my school life, I spent time mostly with my cousins from my father's side. In my teenage years, I found myself going back to my father's hometown more often. I get to spend a lot of fun times with my cousins there. Well, it's not always fun and happy times. At the age of 17, I and my family mourned for the death of my grandpa. I was really close to him, so him leaving hurt a lot. After grandpa's death, going back to my father's hometown was never the same again.

Now that I'm in my late 20s, I have a more positive outlook in life. I mean, I have been through to a lot at a young age. So whatever problem may come these days, I always face it head on. Being able to undergo a lot in my early years of life, I feel like whatever barrier that arise in front of me, I'll definitely get through it! Everything that happened to me in the past made the person that I am now.

Life isn't simple. It's more complicated than you think it is. However, just go with the flow and live life to the fullest leaving no regrets. I hope my teenage story somehow help teens of this generation to value life and do their best in whatever they do.




Thanks a lot for dropping by!
それではまた~
Love lots, @tegoshei


Sort:  

Wow, what a story! You have been through a lot in your teen years, but you can be happy about it seeing where you are standing right now. Every bruise from teenage have given a value to your life, they made a strong wonderful girl who I can proudly call as my awesome big sis!

First of all, you guys are pretty lucky to get graduated at such a young age. I know it's painful that you couldn't get graduated in the first time but you know, there is a reason for everything and everything happens in the right moment. Look at the bright side, we have to wait till our twenties to enter the university.

It's really cool that you took up nursing. Not everyone can do that, especially not me. It requires a strong soul and warm heart. It's so sad that you had to face an operation in such a young age. Still, I'm glad that you can stand strongly after going through all of these.

Your life story may not be so beautiful and sweet, but it's an encouraging and emotional story for the teens in here. We can learn a lot from you. Thanks for sharing it, I wish good luck for your future :)

Well, my teenage years was all in all a worth it journey. Ohh~!! I'm equally proud to have awesome little sisters like you and Chamu! ^^ I wish you well and I hope you value every moment of your teenage life. :)

Yeah.. Our generation was, but there's an additional two years for the current generation before they can enrol at college or University. :) That's for sure. I met awesome people in the University where I transferred to, too.

I was up for the challenge. Nursing is indeed a valuable profession... What I learned there are all very useful even in my everyday life. I guess, it's also great that I took up Nursing because I was aware of anything related to surgeries and other related stuff. It helped me not to be anxious when I underwent the surgery.

I'm really glad to share my story to everyone especially to teens like you. I'm happy that you were able to get something useful from my experiences. Enjoy your teenage life and be ready to face everything head on! Be confident and be you. <3

Hey nee-chan, thanks for making an entry for our contest.
I'm just amazed to see that you were dark-skinned at that time. Now you've become fair-skinned and what's the big secret? Did you applied creams, or did your skin color just turned out when the time passed?
And I think that there are a lot of points that we can add to our lives by reading your teen life story.
You do great at making great friends. I guess they can't cheat someone like you with a kind heart :D
Those pizzas look so delicious and I love that pic of you holding the pizza.
Still, there's so much to comment on your story but it'll make you hate me for leaving looong comments ; )

Thhanks again for the support nee-chan <3

Hello my dear imouto-chan! Thanks for creating this opportunity even for non-teens to share about or teenage years. :)
Hahahaha... I was super dark because I used to stay out and walk to and from school that time. My skin became fairer naturally. ^^ I seldom go out, but I'm not really scared of walking under the sun... I don't apply any cream either (except for bb cream with high spf to protect my face). I'm mostly allergic to lotions.. haha xD
I'm glad that you were able to get something out of my story. :)
I guess I'm just lucky to be surrounded by great people, too. Of course, that includes my Steemit friends and sisters. ^^
Hahaha.. it was delicious! Pizza was our stress-reliever back then especially after major exams or a busy week at the hospital.
Hey!!! Don't worry about it. I love long comments... ^^
You're always welcome. ^^

Great story sis!
Thanks for helping out our teens!

Thank you sis!!! <3
I'll do what I can to help.. ^^ Those 3 lovely girls are so dear to me, after all.. ^^

Shei! Haha. Kaila mo ni Ate Sugar Siclot?

Yeah~ classmate mi sa CNU sauna... <3 partner in crime na nako.. haha xDD kaila sd mo? wait.. sa USC ka?

Yeah. Haha.

Nagka-classmate mo ni Xugz??? ^^ hihihi~ small world, ehh?

Yes. Small world gyud. Naa ra diay ta common friends.

haha.. mao jud... (≧▽≦) Gmingaw nuon qng Xugz dah.. hihihi~

Amazing story.

I feel glad to read it.
Thanks for such type of post.

Thank you so much for taking the time to read my story... :)

Wow. , nice post @tegoshei
Thanks for sharing

Thanks for dropping by as well. :)

I could really relate to that part when you thought that you will be outcasted until you meet friends along the way. Just like me, when I was in highschool, I was kind of a rebel to my parents and my grades are very low so when I entered college, I thought I'd be an outcast but, I met my friends. :) They made the Ferris wheel ride fun even if it is scary. :) That is what I love about having friends. :)
And, also, I am sorry to hear about what happened to you. Good thing you already recovered now. And yes, just go with the flow. Just LIVE, LAUGH, and LOVE. :)

We really have to treasure our friends and do our best to be a real friend to others, right? Thanks a lot! Let's all enjoy life... complications included. (^_-)-☆

Hehe, yup. :) :) Let's just enjoy life and also, learn :) :) Life is beautiful :)

teen at heart brad. :D :D :D
anyways, pwede mo hilak brad? hehe
amazing man kaau ka brad oi, mao dyud ni ila gina ingon nga behind the smiles of every person, there is a secret battle going on.

naa dyud story to tell tanan. amazing lang gyud brad. anyways, fully recovered naka?

Hahaha.. We're on a continuous battle mnjud brad for as long as we live... (^o^)v Depende ra nato if adto ba ta sa winning or losing side. Salamat brad. Yeah, so far okay na. :)

that's great news brad. hehe

mao ng importante dyud kaau ang quality na empathy brad ba kaso lang not many people have it. 😔

Thank you brad! :) Lageh.. but let's not lose hope in humanity... ^^ Through Steemit, hopefully, we can inspire more people ky ma-inspired manpd ta'g ato dri... ^^

Such an interesting story @tegoshei. Really amazing to see someones memorable photos from your childhood. The cuteness remembering us always! Keep it up and congrats!

Thank you so much for reading my story... :)

Much welcome friend

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66892.02
ETH 3513.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67