Do You Read Terms of Service Before Clicking Accept?

in #tosdr6 years ago (edited)

Screen Shot 2018-04-06 at 13.31.14.png

Facebook, Instagram, PayPal, Twitter, Wikipedia, YouTube... The list of apps and websites where I am registered may go on and on. Yours as well, right?

I've become a slave to my ignorance quite a few times. Last time PayPal played an evil joke with me. I lost a serious amount of money. While PayPal was following its rules and regulations, the company did nothing to protect me as their customer.

Screen Shot 2018-04-06 at 13.31.22.png

I've never read endless terms of service. I think they are so long and confusing for one reason: to make users click 'accept' without paying attention to the content.

The Facebook case has been widely discussed in the media lately. Data of 50 million users was given to the third party and could be used for illegal actions. You agreed to that by clicking 'accept' button to terms and conditions.

Something has to be done about it. The way regulations are presented needs to be changed. For now, I found a great website

https://tosdr.org

It is a user rights initiative to rate and label website terms & privacy policies, from very good (Class A) to very bad (Class E).
Terms of service are often too long to read, but it's important to understand what's in them. Your rights online depend on them. You can also get the ratings directly in your browser by installing the web browser add-on.

Apparently, YouTube is Class D (pretty bad). The platform reserves the right to remove your content at any moment without prior notice. It has way too broad copyright license and many other flaws that I have never heard about before.

Google is Class C. For example, it can collect your fingerprint information. Google can use your content for all the existing and future services. Shocking isn't it.

My advice, go on the https://tosdr.org and check all the platforms that you use. You gonna learn a lot.

We are transitioning into decentralized digital society. I think it is our responsibility to protect our information and guarantee safety.

I hope this post was helpful.
Comments and discussions​ are highly encouraged.

Sort:  

Even if this is not original posting, the subject is very important!

It is an original posting 100%.
I used the name of the website tosdr.org and that's why cheetah left a comment.

I dont see much sampling. I agree! Resteemed

Indeed, resteemed and voted

@kabir88

The world becomes data oriented and programmable. This is the Babel in the Bible.

It's a good effort, but you're not really going to change anything. The reason why companies have TOS agreements is to protect themselves. Thus they are legal documents. The reason why legal documents are hard to read is because they must be written in the form of a legal document otherwise they can be challenged in court.

If a company makes TOS agreements simpler to read they open themselves up to suit based on the document being to vague.

Being able to sue a company is a consumer's greatest recourse for making companies behave themselves. It is also one of the consumers greatest problems such as the resulting TOS agreements

That is a great comment. Thank you for sharing your opinion.
Are there many cases when consumers won law suits?

I know that there are two lawsuits in progress. One from Louder with Crowder (Steven Crowder). And one from Prageru (unsure of the spelling). Those two lawsuits were just filed. To my knowledge there's no real action on them.

I don't know if anybody has actually won against any major social media outlets, or websites.

Personally, if I wanted to develop a large following, which I do not, I would have a primary, such as YouTube, and to a secondary such as dtube. I would also make sure that the users on each system knew about the other system . These people who develope a huge following, and only upload to one site, are just begging to get burned (some of them are already are getting burned.)

Another great advice. Thank you!
I will think about starting a dtube channel

Congratulations @culprit-girl! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60951.51
ETH 3381.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48