You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Toilet habits

in #toilet6 years ago

I laughed loudly as I read it! What a refreshing reading. I held my stomach as I imagined the cleaning ladies shaking the dirty paper out of the containers unsuspectingly. Oh, my goodness!

I am German and I was horrified when I was a teenager when we drove to Spain by car and the French rest stop toilets were only primitive holes in the ground while passing through France. I thought I could never do my business again and that squatting down was almost impossible as I was barely able to keep my balance because I was trying not to step into the hole and got very cramped. I thought the French were crazy! Then I thought that they had no money to build decent toilets and that perhaps rest stops were particularly poor.

Also the toilets in the USA were not a particularly edifying experience, the many water in the toilet irritated me! The bowl was full to the brim. I wondered if it should avoid odour formation, but I could not find an odourless advantage. With number two I always had an unpleasant feeling, because now the cool water splashed directly on my butt. Sorry for this detail. :)

In Estonia, where I lived as a child in the seventies, we had an outhouse outside in the yard. I didn't want to go there in the dark and the deep black hole I found scary.

The whole business with the toilets is really worth an article, I must really agree with you there.

As much as I would like to give up this ornate attitude, namely to let it matter to me whether I fart, pant or squeeze, whether my peeing can be heard, because all this is very human: I can't do it very well either. So much so that I get a stomach ache. My brother told me to let it out and at least in the family we don't care now. What a blessing!

Thank you for this amusement and the unpretentious way to tell.

Sort:  

Splashing water can be a problem in almost any WC, one solution is to put one sheet of toilet paper in the bowl.

For westerners it can be a real problem to squat and keep the balance. Squatting is a natural thing to do, but for us, the Homo Sedens, this is a forgotten art.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60180.31
ETH 3001.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64