Toilet habits

in #toilet6 years ago (edited)

Toilet habits and such is quite much of a taboo, even though quite much can be written about it. There is a lot I'd like to write, but as for now I'm "just" going to comment on two (Norwegian) stories from one of our news outlets.

Squatting on a sitting toilet and other cultural clashes

The first one claims that Asian tourists does not understand Norwegian toilets, and another article on a rather costly overflow in a toilet, also in a shopping centre, due to a new trend that ladies leave the water running to mask sounds while they are peeing.

From the first article - a shopping center at one of the prime tourist destinations in Norway set up this sign on the toilet, due to problems with footprints on the toilet ring:

graphics explaining how to use a toilet and how not to use it
Picture stolen from NRK.no

The article states that ...

Tourists from the Chinese country-side is not familiar with modern toilets, they usually have only primitive toilets where they come from

... and that was even a quote from a Chinese tourist guide.

Indeed, people standing on the toilet ring is a real problem, also (maybe especially) in China. Not only that the ring gets dirty, but it's also dangerous - people do fall down sometimes - and quite often - particularly when having contagious stomach problems - some of the things that gets out may end up other places than in the toilet bowl. However, I seriously doubt the reason is that they don't know how to use the toilet - I do believe the squatting is more of a personal preference - plus perhaps due to a fear that the toilet ring may be dirty. If this really happens frequently enough that it's needed to put up a sign - then I believe I have a better suggestion, install a squatting toilet! For westerners that have always been using sitting toilets, it may seem primitive and "cheap", but it has some benefits - it's much easier to clean than a sitting toilet, and I believe it's healthier and certainly more natural to squat than sit on the ring.

According to the picture men are also supposed to sit down while peeing. That seems to be a trend in the time - and I also see that urinals are becoming out of fashion - new gents toilets are often with only sitting toilets and no urinals, and in old toilets the urinals are sometimes removed. What's this, the equality idea gone a bit too far? To me, I don't really consider sitting down to pee as an option, and I also think it's better to pee in an urinal than a sitting toilet - less water consum, less pee on the toilet seat, less queues. Oh, I actually paid money to enter the gents toilet at the train station in Gothenburg. That was quite a surprise, I paid, entered through a door and came to a big room, and ... there was like six sitting toilets there and a big queue. I looked a bit around for the urinals, there were none.

If I read the sign correctly, one is also not supposed to puke in the toilet. I've heard about one toilet in a drinking place that actually had a special station for that purpose. I do believe it's better that people puke in the toilet than other places ...

Toilet paper at other places than in the toilet is also a problem. In quite some countries, including Greece, parts of Russia and most of Asia, one should not throw toilet paper in the toilet as the systems aren't designed for handling paper. This is a problem that goes both ways, as I believe most Norwegians abroad would typically put the toilet paper in the toilet even in countries where one isn't supposed to do that. For people that aren't travelling a lot, it's very weird to do things the other way around - people that are used to throwing paper in the bin will consider it a taboo throwing it in the toilet, people that have thrown used toilet paper in the toilet all their life will want to get rid of it and will consider it disgusting (and a taboo) to throw it into a garbage bin rather than in the toilet. I've heard stories about Norwegian cleaning staff that have been emptying bins in the toilet, bins that they assumed contained only paper used for drying hands, and then screaming in horror as they found used brown toilet paper in the bin. How could people do something as disgusting as that?

In the newspaper article, there were no bin in the toilet, so they had problems with used toilet paper ending up on the floor. What can I say ... have you ever noticed there are ashtrays in the airplane toilets? I used to assume that was an artifact from those times when one could smoke in the plane, but no ... every newly produced airplane has it, and it's mandatory to put put it there, right under with the sign telling that it's strictly forbidden to light up a cigarette in the toilet. Well, in addition to the sign urging people to throw the paper into the toilet, I'd recommend to have a bin with a plastic liner ... just in case!

The running water story

So, according to the referenced article it's a new trend that ladies leave the water running to mask out the noise from peeing. So Alice comes to an empty toilet room with one or more sinks for handwashing, and several toilet boots (and no handwash fascilities inside the boots). She turns on the water tap, goes doing her stuff, and while she's there Betty enters into another boot. Alice does not turn off the tap as a courtesy of Betty, Betty does not turn off the tap as she did not open it in the first place and consider it outside her responsibility. For one thing this is a horrible waste of water (even if it's generally a plentiful resource in Norway), for the other thing sometimes there are capacity constraints on the outlet so the sink eventually overflows.

image of a running water tap
From commons.wikimedia - taken by 247 home rescue

I must admit, I'm also very shy when it comes to the toilet stuff. I just wrote that I believe it's better to use the urinals than the sitting toilet - and yet, if there are other persons in the toilet, most likely I will be heading for the sitting toilets, because then I can close the door behind me. If I try standing by the urinal, chances are that nothing will come out, it's just impossible for me to do my things while I'm feeling other people are looking at (or may be looking at). The fear of someone noticing that I'm just standing by the urinal without peeing is actually much stronger than the fear that someone should be staring while I'm peeing. It's sometimes the same with sounds. Even as a child, I usually aimed not for the water in the toilet, but the bowl, some few cm above the water line, to produce less noise. Sounds are a problem both when doing number one and number two. It's a two-way problem, I do not enjoy listening to those noises, particularly not "number two-sounds". There is a simple solution to this as well - music in the toilet!

Another thing, I think every toilet and bathroom should have an outlet on the floor. We also did have an incident involving a leaking toilet cistern in our office at the sixth floor ... "luckily" the water found an easy way through the electricity cabinet in the neighbour room and directly down to the first floor, where it ended up in a supermarket. The damages were not that bad - though the super market had to keep closed for some hours during the cleanup. Just like that ashtray in the airplane, such an outlet is not supposed to be used, but in such cases it can really save the day.

Conclusions

  • Any place serving such a large number of Asians that it's needed to put up posters explaining how to use a sitting toilet, ought to consider also installing a squatting toilet. (Similarly, any place serving a large amount of westerners ought to consider installing a sitting toilet - many westerners simply can't squat properly).
  • Gents toilets should be with urinals, preferably arranged in such a way that one can do business without other people staring at it.
  • There should be a litter bin by the toilet, with a plastic liner - even if it may be accompanied with instructions telling people to throw the toilet paper in the garbage
  • It's a good idea to have music in toilets
  • Every toilet and bathroom ough to have an outlet in the floor.
Sort:  

Good points !

I would never sit on a toilet unless it's in Korea with toilet seats that automatically replaces its top, they do have that there somewhere. Am Asian by blood but I would also not squat with my shoes on the toilet seat huh that's rude eeeew!

Music is really a good idea we have that here in many toilets in Holland and mostly in Asia, too

What do you do if you really don't have any other options than either sitting on a public toilet ring or stand on it?

I've seen the rotating plastic cover, and I've seen some alternatives too, one being some paper covers that one can use, the other being dispensers with desinfecting fluid that one can use with toilet paper to clean the ring. I think the latter can have some merit.

In my childhood I also had some fobia against public toilet seats, and I postponed all big toilet errands until I was at home, and I had no problems with that. Then again, it must be said that the ring in the mens toilet is usually more dirty than in the ladies toilet.

Today I don't have any problems with it, though I inspect the ring and wash it with water and toilet paper if it's dirty.

Whenever a water closet is flushed, there will be some spray of particles, and it will make the ring a bit dirty, but this is as much of a problem at home as at a public toilet.

we learned to half squat
most asian women do that
we never really sit down on any public restroom even if it looks dry or clean cause think scabies
even the EU isn't safe on that these days we know

even in hotels, we still disinfect our toilet seats cause you'll never know how it was cleaned

we always carry alcohol and disinfectant with us
we're pretty compulsive on that part

I've had scabies, that was pretty bad. I never understood where it came from ... I never thought of toilet seats as a vector.

I could also be wrong but I think its possible if you happen to sit a few sec right after a carrier

I even hold public WC doors with a tissue
all the time - that compulsive haha
and then alcohol even if I have washed my hands
the world has changed around here as you probably already know

I could also be wrong but I think its possible if you happen to sit a few sec right after a carrier

Perhaps even some 72 hours after.

I googled it a bit, at one source it said "yes, it's possible", the other source said "yes, it's possible, but highly unlikely".

It can't be much common, because if it was, it would spread like wildfire throughout the western world. Or, what do I know, maybe I'm the only one using public toilet rings without making sure it's disinfected before use.

I even hold public WC doors with a tissue
all the time - that compulsive haha
and then alcohol even if I have washed my hands

Well, it may be a point, quite many people does not wash their hands properly after toilet visits. When leaving the bathroom, when my hands are freshly washed, I sometimes (but rarely) do try to open the door with as little surface contact as possible, i.e. touching the doorhandle only with the tip of my little finger.

I've also seen recommendations that one use tissue when turning off the water after washing hands.

oh my I didn't know about that 72 hours .. eeekkkk.. scary
sometimes its scary to be in a hotel too
sheets !!!

yeah I always use a tissue
and alcohol all the time
so I drink mostly water
too much alcohol - my liver haha!

sheets !!!

I visited my mother while I had this scabies problem. She was made aware of it. The only thing she did was to grab my bedclothes by hands and shove them into the washing machine. That was sufficient to get infected. No, I was not sitting on the same toilet as her, that wasn't the vector.

Music is really a good idea we have that here in many toilets in Holland and mostly in Asia, too

There was a follow-up-article where the boss of the shopping center said they would install music in the toilet.

I laughed loudly as I read it! What a refreshing reading. I held my stomach as I imagined the cleaning ladies shaking the dirty paper out of the containers unsuspectingly. Oh, my goodness!

I am German and I was horrified when I was a teenager when we drove to Spain by car and the French rest stop toilets were only primitive holes in the ground while passing through France. I thought I could never do my business again and that squatting down was almost impossible as I was barely able to keep my balance because I was trying not to step into the hole and got very cramped. I thought the French were crazy! Then I thought that they had no money to build decent toilets and that perhaps rest stops were particularly poor.

Also the toilets in the USA were not a particularly edifying experience, the many water in the toilet irritated me! The bowl was full to the brim. I wondered if it should avoid odour formation, but I could not find an odourless advantage. With number two I always had an unpleasant feeling, because now the cool water splashed directly on my butt. Sorry for this detail. :)

In Estonia, where I lived as a child in the seventies, we had an outhouse outside in the yard. I didn't want to go there in the dark and the deep black hole I found scary.

The whole business with the toilets is really worth an article, I must really agree with you there.

As much as I would like to give up this ornate attitude, namely to let it matter to me whether I fart, pant or squeeze, whether my peeing can be heard, because all this is very human: I can't do it very well either. So much so that I get a stomach ache. My brother told me to let it out and at least in the family we don't care now. What a blessing!

Thank you for this amusement and the unpretentious way to tell.

Splashing water can be a problem in almost any WC, one solution is to put one sheet of toilet paper in the bowl.

For westerners it can be a real problem to squat and keep the balance. Squatting is a natural thing to do, but for us, the Homo Sedens, this is a forgotten art.

Tobixen, you have just said what we all think. We can't get away from using toilets, it is a life fact. But, I think your idea of playing music in toilets is brilliant.

I think your idea of squatting toilets is a good one. Though I would go one further.

How about some kind of platform that you can retrofit to sitting toilets? That way if you wanted to squat you could pull out the platform and simply place your feet either side of the bowl.

I have heard about people throwing their paper into the garbage and it is gross! A friend of mine said they once had foreign exchange students staying with them and no matter how many times my friend's family told them to throw the paper in the toilet. They just couldn't get their heads around it.

Does the third sign down on the left suggest no fishing? I'd love to meet the person that is designed for 🤣😂🤣😂🤣

Cg

Does the third sign down on the left suggest no fishing? I'd love to meet the person that is designed for 🤣😂🤣😂🤣

Yes, it's an attempt of making the sign funny. I wonder if the intended audience finds it funny though :-)

How about some kind of platform that you can retrofit to sitting toilets? That way if you wanted to squat you could pull out the platform and simply place your feet either side of the bowl.

I think the opposite approach would be much easier and simpler; install a squatting toilet, and then make some arrangement with a sitting ring that can be folded down when needed. In my head it's such a simple easy concept that I almost find it weird if it doesn't exist any toilets like that.

See much the same signs here in Australia in high tourist places.

I upvoted your post.

Keep steeming for a better tomorrow.
@Acknowledgement - God Bless

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

Hi @tobixen!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.829 which ranks you at #4326 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 2 places in the last three days (old rank 4324).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 499 contributions, your post is ranked at #32.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61875.79
ETH 3013.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69