How to be a Bachelor : Tuesday Tip (Shopping)

in #tips6 years ago

A shopping tip that will NOT be in the longer "How to go shopping" post which is planned for this week.


When I was a kid I watched a movie which showed the hero impressing folks by knowing the owner of the restaurant as well as the chef and waiter. This led me to my lifelong habit of introducing myself to everyone in a restaurant, and getting to know them as well as I could and trying to be friends with them.

It's been great, but it hasn't been that great. Because I don't go to restaurants very often and these days they will pretty much do anything you want anyway. So the reward for my effort, while very nice, is not very often.

Yes, this is actually my grocery store
But then I let that habit bleed over to introducing myself and getting to know the folks in my local grocery store. I go to a fairly large store (but not a "SuperCenter") and so it's quite a task, but the rewards have been enormous. Over the last 7 years I have gotten to know the manager and have been introduced to the District manager. I know all the assistant managers and the managers of the several departments, I know everyone in the meat department and the produce department, and of course I know most of the cashiers! But perhaps most importantly I know the Courtesy people behind the office and the three they put out in the Aisles.


In fact between the lovely and talented Florence and Courtney, I rarely ever seem to shop alone. They always mark something down for me, show me a special, or offer to order something for me if I mention a preference. We're friends, we walk around the store for a while and chat.

The guys in the meat department always set aside nice cuts for me on Thursday morning, and are sure to tell me if anything is going on sale or if there are hidden gems in the second day pile. Although they will cut meat special for anyone, they know what I'm looking for and so I really don't even have to ask. Larry will say, "I've got a nice rib roast back there do you want me to cut a few for you" and I get them the thickness I prefer, and from the most marbled end, with much of the outer fat and gristle trimmed. So nice.

So the Tuesday tip is to make friends with the folks at your store. This works for hardware stores and electronic stores, but you will probably get the most consistent benefit from the grocery store.


All images from pixabay or my camera unless otherwise noted.
The How to be a Bachelor Index

Sort:  

That's actually a really sensible idea, and not even just for bachelors! :D

goatsig

Well, it doesn't hurt to try to make at least some human connection with anyone you meet >>>ON AVERAGE

Some individuals are dangerous to connect with, but I think the lifelong trend is advantageous.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64573.45
ETH 3441.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51