You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My off grid cabin project - Part 1

in #tinyhouse7 years ago

Dave! This is awesome! You did this mostly by yourself, you are a beast! I am in construction and at 32 years know how heavy all those walls are :) I really like your floor plan after seeing so many tiny homes over the years as well. It is functional yet open, nice. I can't believe they just let you build whatever you want, great find on the land. 2 acres is plenty outside of a city. You have done some hard work here and it shows the construction looks solid! I will check out the videos. Couple of things I wanted to ask and add: You are on a ledge that is nuts. Solid, also a shallow well is something to be wary of, you got the water tested? If that is good, huge plus to use so much less power to get water. I am a master roofer and I believe your roofer did a great job. I was wondering about the flashing around the stove pipe coming out of the roof. Is that adequate for the heat? And that stove OMG! IT is gonna roast you :D It all looks awesome though, great foundation, solid framing. Love the wood siding. Here in the mountains of BC we use rigid foam on the exterior of the new homes now as well. I am currently siding a new home with siga wrap (gortex like tech), 2 inches of high density foam, and a rainscreen screwed into studs, with siding material on that. Long process. Rewarding :D Look forward to seeing more, just wanted to get this all out while it was fresh. I will post some more Airstream stuff! I posted this as a noob on Steemit https://steemit.com/art/@egregorian/ever-wanted-to-buy-a-vintage-airstream-and-renovate-it but check it out. 32 videos on youtube.

Sort:  

Thanks for your comments. I will probably get the well water tested this year. My next cabin project is to install the drain, vent and water supply piping. Plumbing is new territory for me, so things may move slowly! I'm planning on only using the well water for washing and the bathroom. There is a spring in the next town where locals get their drinking water! I'm planning to do the same thing. The flashing around the stove pipe is some kind of high temperature silicone material that was recommended by the metal roofing supplier. I have to replace the inside black pipe before the fall. I discovered it is easier to use piping from the same manufacturer because the pipe is the correct diameter. I'll check out your videos.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63679.06
ETH 2628.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83