Tiny House Episode 29: Custom Pantry Part 2 (Dtube Video + Article)

in #tinyhouse6 years ago (edited)


This tiny pantry even has room for a dog!
One of the big objections I hear about tiny house living is that there is just no storage. While as a generalization, this is pretty accurate, it is possible to design tiny homes to have adequate storage for essentials like food and personal hygiene items, which I think is demonstrated in this video. It is really just room for all the junk we tend to accumulate that is lacking.

 
The pantry I built has four shelves. The two lower shelves are 20" wide and 22" deep while the two upper shelves are 20" wide and 12" deep. If we include the space under the bottom shelf there are five levels of storage. In the two bottom levels, we use bins that we can pull out to make the items at the back more accessible. Having to crouch and reach all the time for items pushed to the back of the shelves gets old pretty quickly. That was also why we made the upper shelves less deep. We wanted to be able to easily see and reach the contents.

screwHere I am pointing out the finishing screws (along with carpenters glue) I used to assemble the pantry.

The bathroom shelving is big enough for our kitchen and bathroom towels, some cleaning supplies, and lots of extra TP. We also have our baby cloths and towels up there now too. While they're not actually on a shelf, we have room for four bins on top of the washer/dryer combo machine. We can pre-sort the clothes and when a bin is about 3/4 full we know it's ready to go in the washing machine.

bathshelves

If you're wondering about the outro, I originally made this video for YouTube. It was one of the first videos we filmed with Aimee's camera and I was still getting used to all the settings. This was also one of my first attempts with using music on one of my videos. I figure if you're not going to stay for the action, maybe you'll at least stay for the music.

P.S. While the pantry puppy is the perfect size for a tiny house, he was just visiting for a few days.


Thanks for reading/watching everyone! Please upvote, follow and resteem to support this work. As always, comments are welcome and I would be more than happy to answer any questions you may have about tiny houses.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I think I saw and episode of The Profit where he invested in a company that makes tiny houses. Looks dope tho...keep posting.

I've never seen that show is it mainly on investing?

Thanks for the support!

Great job on the pantry. A Lazy Susan would be another option for the bottom section, instead of bins you pull out.

Cute dog.

Yeah that is another viable option.

Certainly, life in a small house is limited and there is no space for storage or for making big changes. Excellent ideas. Thanks for sharing your genius.

Thanks! I don't know if they are genius ideas but they do work sometimes...

It's awsome! I used to live in a small van while travelling Australia, a couple of years ago and there was room enough almost for everything (unluckily I'm the kind of person who tends to accumulate useless stuff), I even had a small camping kitchen side and kinda miss it :)
I wish I had those carpentry skills though, because it didn't look this cool at all

Thanks I have a bit of an advantage since I have been in the trades for a long time.

Excellent episodes

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56704.57
ETH 3000.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.20