Tiny House Episode 28: Custom Pantry

in #tinyhouse7 years ago (edited)


One of the projects I used the salvaged cedar boards for was the pantry. In todays video, I discuss the progress I was making on it. You may be able to tell, I was having a bit of a bad day.

The main issue I faced was how slow this project was taking to complete. The pantry was one of the completely custom projects that I tackled for the tiny house. By this point I was really getting tired of custom projects. To top off my day, we had already moved in so I had to be extra careful about not creating too much of a mess.

halfwayI chose to maximize space by using the walls as part of the pantry.

I considered building the pantry in the garage, then bringing it in as a whole to be installed. Doing this probably would have saved some time but I was trying to maximize the space in the corner so I decided to build it so that the wall itself would act as the side of the pantry. This meant that each piece needed to be measured inside, then cut out in the garage before being brought back inside again. If I needed to trim another 1/16" to get a proper fit then that meant another trip out to the garage. I'm still wondering if all the extra work was worth it.

I built bathroom shelving over the washer/dryer combo machine in the same manner but that project went smoother because it was a simpler design and I had already figured out a few tricks from working on the pantry.

In the end, I think they both turned out really well and were a great use of all the wood I salvaged. We actually have a decent amount of storage for such a small living space. We do a lot of cooking so having a decent sized pantry was one of our must-have items.

large shelfThe deeper shelves started at counter level. This one is installed but I haven't applied the clear coat yet.

Stay tuned for the next episode where I take a look at the finished pantry and what we had stocked in it at the time. I also take a look at the bathroom shelving.


Thanks for reading/watching everyone! Please upvote, follow and resteem to support this work. As always, comments are welcome and I would be more than happy to answer any questions you may have about tiny houses.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Old cabinet makers joke.... I cut it twice and its still too short!

Thanks for the tips. The one with the block and then measuring from the other side is something I definitely have not heard of before. You are right that proper tools and tricks of the trade make a huge difference. It is the same with roofing which is the trade I am in.

That room looks great! I am going to get some more practice building a house this summer.

Great approach. I love how you recycled ole material into your house. You are a true homesteader!

We are trying. Hopefully in another 6 months it will be official once we move out to the land.

excellent working

You are creative, I love your work and your efforts.carry on+ follow you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59106.19
ETH 2538.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37