Time Machine Writing Contest - Present is Affected by Past Regrets

in #timetravelcontest6 years ago

Regrets are the usual voice we heard when someones failed. Whether love or career or other things. We often blame the past whenever we encounter uncertainty. We always ask "what ifs". We sat hopelessly, and just regret things.

download.jpg
Image Source

In my own life, as a normal human being, I also have regrets. Regrets, that could have been changed my current life, my current living. There are things in the past that I always thought that I should not have done or should've done. That sometimes, I blame the person surrounding me.

Like if my parents just have studied in their younger days, I could have saved my earnings and live a better life. I may be driving my own car and owning my own house from my own pocket, or better yet, my parents could've provided me these things.

But if that happens, if they were able to study in the biggest universities, they might not meet each other. I may not be existed today and writing this content. @davinsh may not be born at all.



2nd regret: If my parents were just learned to apply family planning when they are about to start their family, Our expenses could not be as huge as it is right now. It might be easier to fund their needs at home. Then I might be able to provide better things for them. And they might not be living far from me because we have sold our house in Manila because of debt.

And then what, I don't have siblings that I could cry on. I don't have a sister who is about to be a civil engineer. I don't have siblings that are looking out my parents at home. And most probably, my childhood days will be lonely, as I might be the only child being the eldest among my siblings.



3rd regret: If I just decided not to sell our house in Manila and just applied for a loan to pay our debts. At least we are still living in the city and could have a better source of income for my parents, plus we will be close to each other.

But my father will be suffering in jail, while we are still paying our debts. And I will not be able to fund our dream wedding, Or worst, I don't have the most important woman in my life.



4th regret: What if I followed the demand during my college days and studied Computer Programing instead. Then I'll be in a better field, with higher pay grade that can provide better for my family.

But I will not meet the best people that surrounds me right now, I may not be enjoying what I do. I might be dragging my self every day to work. I might be sleeping and having the nightmare of computing codes because it is needed by the morning.



5th regret: If I just listen to my uncle 3 years past about bitcoin, then I may be a multi-millionaire right now. Just staying at home and watching my favorite cartoon, driving my biggest bike and traveling all over the world.

Then I will not be writing this post anymore, Steemit is out of the story of my life. I don't have an extended network and I don't earn more friends who are enriching my daily life. Because, why would I care for Steem, if I have thousands of bitcoins. Maybe all I care is to manage my bitcoins.



There are a lot of regrets in my life. More than words that I have to write this post. Regrets sometimes the thoughts that hinder us to move. We started to ask "What If's" and never realized that if the past did not happen, whether it is a success or failure, then there are things that is not present today.

If it wasn't because of the carelessness of a cargo courier of coffee during 1800, that made the biggest shipment of coffee soaked onto the sea, then we do not have decaffeinated coffee these days.

If the brothers did not leave the boiled grains in the pot for several days, then we are not enjoying cereals these days that gave us energy in the morning.

So if I woke up one day with a time machine beside my bed. Man, I will be surprised. I will be excited. I will wear the "hippiest" outfit I have, will travel back in August 15, 1969 and will rock with the Woodstock.

screen-shot-2014-06-04-at-12-35-11-pm.png
Image Source

But to change things that I regret, I won't. As it will be affecting the great memories and things that is happening in my life. Those "regrets" will just be part of my past and will be a key learning of my life.


@coderzairos, this is my entry to your #timetravelcontest. And thank you for letting me share my thoughts.


Thank You!


UPVOTE, FOLLOW, RESTEEM

DQmcbB1Sq9wLKXAXBdtg95FRwwSNfGvAeYDmQBP2VQCcbAY[1].png

FB_IMG_1516053153789.jpg

Sort:  

You got a 0.99% upvote from @allaz courtesy of @davinsh!

Hahahahahaha, i like how you said having a nightmare about computing codes that the deadlines are coming. Yes I agree with you not changing the past decisions we have made because it will really affect the present we are into. The future we are heading to.
Also like the thought of going back to the past and rocking with the Woodstock

hahaha, That's the reality. I often witnessed my friends who are developers, mostly talking to themselves whenever they are alone. And its all about codes that needed to the projects they are working on. It's kinda cool as they speak the language that only them can understand, java, c++? the hell! I can't even speak spanish, and now they have another "language"?!.. lol

but the woodstock might be an awesome event if it's still present today.. Peace, Art, Music, Freedom, Love are all in there. And that is what we all dreaming of.

Congratulations @davinsh! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

What ever decisions we made in our lives it will always have a big impact whether good or bad but what most important is that we learn .. followed and upvoted done

It is true, despite of our regrets, there are more beauty in today that may not be happening, if things did not happened before.

thanks @mommabutterfly

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.33$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63706.21
ETH 3073.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76