You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Timing...

in #time7 years ago

This is a marvelous meditation, @rok-sivante and a subject that is itself full of marvels.

There is a mystery and magic to Timing, to be sure. Marriage, for example, which I swore never to do... happened, when time was right. Even the sea-change of quitting my job and leaving my country to start a new life in the USA (which I lacked guts to do for around a decade) one day, at some point in time, it simply seemed necessary to leap... and the Net, miraculously, appeared :)

I think with all the Biggies in life, it's not in our hands, alone. We must wait for cues, and be subtle and still to overhear the whispered prompts when they are made. The Tao is very good about advising doing through nondoing (Wu wei) and vital importance of timing in all things:

Do you have the patience to wait
Till your mud settles and the water is clear?
Can you remain unmoving
Till the right action arises by itself?
— Lao tzu

As a poet, and especially a seeker, I honor and recognize that timing is maturity and believe that we steal from ourself, unripe fruit, when we share an insight or art work, before its time.

Here's a quote by another spiritual teacher I admire, Idries Shah, that echoes the fine thoughts you share, above:

The impatient man is his own enemy; he slams the door on his own progress.
—Idries Shah

Wishing you what I wish myself, all ways: patience, and good timing _/|_

Sufi2.jpg

Sort:  

Marriage, for example, which I swore never to do... happened, when time was right.

Ha ha!

Funny reading that, as is an accurate reflection. I thought all along marriage and kids weren't for me. Universe had other plans. (At least for the marriage. Too soon to conclude on the kids part). And, it knew better than I did. No regrets.

(The part about leaving homeland too... though I was only delaying three years before moving to Bali).

I think with all the Biggies in life, it's not in our hands, alone. We must wait for cues, and be subtle and still to overhear the whispered prompts when they are made.

Love this.

timing is maturity and believe that we steal from ourself, unripe fruit, when we share an insight or art work, before its time.

Now that is golden.

As is the Shah quote.

Jeezus, mate. There have been some good comments in this thread, though this one might just take the trophy. 😇🙏💗

It's a privilege to be heard, my friend, and there was much in your post that stirred me to the depths, @rok-sivante --life lessons, as you correctly point out that are not to be found in books!

I don't have kids either, but I trust life Life knows best. Thank you, for the occasion to meditate on life's mysteries and it makes me very happy to know that my words resonate with you <3_/|_

PS - Would love to visit Bali, one day :)

try to steal the heart of a new partner, if appropriate intertwine a harmonious relationship. I support you brother @rok-sivante ha ha ha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68348.76
ETH 2644.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69