You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: THE DANGERS OF GOODWILL.....My Opinion

in #til7 years ago (edited)

There is another element to this as well, it is enabling negative behavior if someone can't manage their money, they don't need to be given money to get an apartment, etc. .. That they can't afford. What they need is financial counseling. Money problems are rarely fixed with money.

Another topic on the same issue is "Crowd-funding". In the real world, people don't ask you to buy their business for them. If they are good at production and podcasts they probably already have some equipment and experience. If someone is good at business, they likely have the money to afford it.

If you can't afford to be a witness, simply don't be a witness.

Not all of these are scams or intentional, but in my humble opinion are not good business practices.

I don't think it should be a Steem Rule, because people can be free to give money to whomever they want. I do think we all need to check ourselves from time to time. We are playing and bonding in a world of shadowy people many who are nameless and faceless on the Internet, as I am.
I am not, however, asking anything from anyone.

I have always wanted to be a great singer, but I am only a moderate singer. Can you guys please buy me singing lessons, an outfit and find me a manager? ;)

Sort:  

Awesome points. I didn't think about negative reinforcement, but yes, that could happen as well. I agree that not all of the requests are scams....I know some are desperate maybe but I agree it's not good business practice or relationship practice in general. I also agree about free will - I would just hate to see Steemit become a place to take. Especially with the number who do ask.
Sure....I'll pay for your singing lessons and the outfit and I do know a manager....only IF you pay for my dental work and cleaning lady. ?? Deal?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57742.49
ETH 3102.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39