You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Today I Learned : The War on Cash is Real

in #til8 years ago

I think we all need to be vigilant of this sort of thing. I hardly ever use cash anymore and I suppose the convenience of it has really worked on me. I think we need to be wary of control and suspicious of government controlled blockchain projects. Whilst blockchains CAN give better privacy and anonymity that is not always the case. Even without top down control being expressed overtly there can be backdoors built into anything that is financed or created by the government. They just can't help themselves. Whilst I am mining ZCash I am also acutely aware that it has involvement from various security agencies - I do not consider it an entirely secure platform.

Sort:  

I think a lot of the jargon and key words have to be understood in context, and not just assumed to mean one thing. For instance, lots of assumptions are made about crypto currencies, blockchain, decentralisation, immutability, non-repudiation, security and many more. I am beginning to operate almost entirely cashless, surprisingly out of my own choice and convenience, foregoing privacy on what these transactions are actually for.
༼✿ @sweetsssj

I think a lot of the jargon and key words have to be understood in context, and not just assumed to mean one thing. For instance, lots of assumptions are made about crypto currencies, blockchain, decentralisation, immutability, non-repudiation, security and many more

Very true.

I am beginning to operate almost entirely cashless, surprisingly out of my own choice and convenience, foregoing privacy on what these transactions are actually for.

Yes and as with many things convenience is very seductive. That's how they get you:) It's the same principle that Google/Facebook etc have used to take all our information.

The scary thing is that people are happy to give all sorts of information away for free. Society has been conditioned to basically not care about privacy anymore.
Of course, there are yet to be many negative consequences in having so much personal data online, but I'm sure a time will come when people realise it's not a good idea. By then it will be too late.

Isn't that always the case. The most frightening thing is the younger kids these days don't even understand what privacy is.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 56948.01
ETH 3056.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40