You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Today I Learned: A Few U.S. Presidents Had a Clue and Warned Us About Growing Hidden Hands of Power

in #til7 years ago

I've often wondered if we should call it 'secret power'. If I'm honest, I think we might more aptly call it 'cynical power'. The idea goes like this; You are elected on a platform to put a chicken in every pot, two cars in every garage, and to keep hot shooting big wars from happening. You hire smart guys to come up with plans. All these smart guys would rather be playing golf and enjoying life. But no. They have to work out complex and difficult scenarios to keep all the dumb people from having to go to war. If it were me, I'd start to resent all those dumb people in a big way. The cynicism grows with each passing generation until you have cynical power. The power that believes it must have its carte blanche secrets because the majority of the population is simply too stupid to understand the importance of what it does. Just a somewhat drunken thought.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62759.93
ETH 3112.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87