TIL : THE KIWI FRUIT IS REALLY HEALTHY & NUTRITIOUS

in #til8 years ago

Are they really as good as they taste?


I’ve always known that raw fruits and vegetables can be incredibly nutritious and good for you, but most don’t really come with “nutritional information” on them, either from the store or from the tree.

This means that we often have to either do some research or wait for info to “fall into your lap.”


This time, it was the latter.

Now @papa-pepper is no stranger to the Kiwi. I know that there are many different varieties available worldwide from the more common large, fuzzy more tropical ones to the smaller, smooth-skinned little green “cold-hardy” Kiwis. I also already knew that they are originally from the orient, but became very popular in New Zealand and had their name changed to “Kiwi” fruit there, as part of a marketing scheme because they resemble the Kiwi Bird. I’ve even begun to grow my own vines from seeds.


Today, though, I learned more about the nutritional content, because of the packaging that they came in when @mama-pepper last picked some up. According to the package, they hold their own nutritionally even when compared to some common fruits that almost everyone recognizes as being high in certain vitamins and minerals.

More Potassium than a Banana


More Fiber than the leading Cereal Brand


More Vitamin E & K than an Avocado


More Vitamin C than an Orange


It is worth noting that the recommended serving size used for comparison (if you are one to read the fine print) is 2 Kiwi. Personally, I think that 2 Kiwi Fruit is a reasonable serving size, so this amount makes sense to me. I know that I can easily eat two in a row, and I’ll even make a video later if I need to just to prove it!

Anyway, here is a little more of the specific nutritional information for exactly what your body can get out of two Kiwi Fruit.

  • Vitamin C – 230% DV

  • Vitamin K – 70% DV

  • Dietary Fiber – 16% DV

  • Potassium – 13% DV

  • Vitamin E – 10% DV

I know that we have a worldwide community here, so I want to know, does anyone actually grow their own Kiwis? I plan on starting. I know that the vines can get huge and overtake smaller structures, so does anyone have any growing advice for @papa-pepper?

I’ll be trying some of the traditional fuzzy Kiwi, since we are just on the border of where they will grow, and I’ll be getting some of the smaller, smooth-skinned “cold-hardy” varieties too!


As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-nutritious-kiwi


FOLLOW


Awesome Handcrafted @papa-pepper logo kindly donated by @vlad - Thank you!!


OPERATION TRANSLATION logo provided by @oecp85.

(click link above for more info on Operation Translation)


The long-term purpose of this account is to help provide the necessary funds to live a self-sufficient lifestyle at home with my family.

Sort:  

Oooo a great story about food! I eat them with the skin on! Is that weird?

I am following you now, cause you know. Anyone who eats the skin of a Kiwi is worth being friends with right?

Si, muy es mucho cómico! Gracias!

I eat the skin too, but of course I shave them first with a razor.

You shave them!?! Wait, you are joking right?
A friend of mine who is actually a missionary in Papua New Guinea told me to just take a bite, and I did. Will never go back, my sister uses a knife to shave them though still haha.

Haha, hey you never know, this is the internet!

I like kiwi though I had see one type which is yellow inside which I have not tried yet.

I have not tried that kind yet either.

The yellow ones are the best!

Hmm... then I must remember to try them soon. :-)

Kiwis are lovely. It is additionally just the perfect moment to get them in shops :)

They are wonderful!

I hope they grow well for you and the family.

Thanks! Me too!

Are you kidding me :D I'm eating Kiwi right now! I live on Kiwi these day and I found this post accidentally I can't believe! Thought that I am only one who is passionaltey lover of Kiwi! Thank you for posting this! I eat it with banana most of time! Big greetings! Followed! :)

Amazing, I'll follow back!

Es una fruta agradable muy beneficiosa para la anemia

Good to know, gracias!

Kiwi's are great, but I don't care for the skin... too hairy lol.

I made a funny gag video about "How to Properly Shave a Kiwi.*"

Have you tried shaving them first?

I didn't even know that was a thing to be honest!

To be honest, that was a joke.

I think I should eat one tomorrow. ;)

Did you know if you eat enough of them you can start to resemble one?...I know i grew up in the heart of kiwi fruit country in New Zealand (Tauranga, Bay of Plenty) and also ran contract teams picking it..lol ...no but seriously you eat a lot and your hair goes crazy,lol..all the magnesium and zinc etc ...best fruit for getting rid of dry scalp in winter as well...no need for that crap anti dandruff stuff form the supermarket:)...cool post mate:)

Wow! Thanks for the info and nice to talk to you again! Cheers!

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jan 19. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $15.57 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 19 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60748.61
ETH 2912.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36