You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: THE DANGERS OF GOODWILL.....My Opinion

in #til7 years ago

Very true especially loved " Dont spam , Dont scam and Dont solicit money ! theres a pregnant lady on here that has 3 times asked for money over 2 months to move because where she lives is a terrible place ! you would think if it was that bad she would have found some way to move by now ! and many people are donateing to her cause ! I think this is a total scam , but thats just my opinion ! great article and I think steemit should not allow this stuff in the community ! thanks for shareing 😉👍

Sort:  

Thanks for your insightful comments @karenmckersie. Glad it resonated.

Hi Karen, I think I know who you're talking about and I'm actually dedicating a week's worth of posts to her in the #payitforward initiative. While I'm not going to discount the potential that it's a scam, I did it because she has been a consistent member of the Steemit community with less than stellar results.

Having grown up in an Asian household, I can also tell you that in my life experience, their behavior will often seem abrasive and off-putting. I honestly believe that's a cultural thing. To this day my mother still embarrasses me in public. I've just learned to grin and bear it.

There are a bunch of scammers who are being nuked every day for spamming and scamming. But there are also members who genuinely need help. And in my long-ish response to @countrygirl, I give freely with no expectations. That doesn't mean I'm being scammed or being taken advantage of. If they take the money and run, then it's a small price to pay to remove another sh*thead from my world. I don't think that's being naive. And there are lots of people who live in "terrible" situations but don't have the resources to move. I live in a hellhole that's only held up by caulk and cockroaches. I don't like it but I'm stuck here for now. Shit happens.

Would I personally solicit money? No. But if you look at the people who haven't been nuked, you might also see the common denominator is that English is a second language. (Just a personal observation). There's no way to really know the next person unless you REALLY know them. I do my due diligence before I give. If my heart and gut says good enough, then I'll sprinkle fairy dust and eat pie in the sky because it makes me happy.

Great reply ! and you know I stand by your #payitforward initiative ! It truely has helped some deserving people includeing myself ! We need to do what makes us happy in this world , life is short , live it to your happiest and fullest as you possibly can ! There should be a #payitforward initiative for YOU ! You are more deserving then most ! maybe you could do something similar as my retirement fund im always adding to the end of my blogs ! As your also needing to move and wanting to buy a piece of property ! just a sugestion ! keep up the great work and never stop steeming on , your doing great ! 😊👍💙😉

You are so dear to me. :) My joy is seeing my SP grow even if it's a bit slower when I'm not doing 100% power up posts. I have high hopes that our vests are what's going to help us retire.
I can't wait to move out of this roach-infested place but it's very affordable and it's a roof over our head. Moving here was a decision solely based on freeing up funds to pay off high interest debt. Those debts are almost paid and we've spied about 3 pieces of land that seem perfect for our homesteading dream. :)

I don't rely on Steemit to earn a living but I've adopted it as something to love and nurture. Right now it caters to my heart and soul. Maybe one day it will support my/our dreams.

I appreciated your response to this very much @merej99

Thanks for that @whatsup - it's just a different perspective. :)

I noticed this too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57742.49
ETH 3102.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39