TIL That Drugs in the United States are Killing More People Than Road AccidentssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #til8 years ago (edited)

TIL that drugs in the United States are killing more people than road accidents thanks to a post from Niall McCarthy in the Statista web, The Statistic Portal.

It is very sad to see how easily people fall victims of the heroin and opiate drugs and how this drugs have become even more deadly than car crashes. At least until 2014, the final year of the table on which the author bases his statement. The author believes that this number has increased at present time and, honestly, I believe it too.

And of course, this is another example, of the thousands that exist, that the "War on Drugs" does not work.

Is something I did not like to learn.

Infographic: Drugs Are Killing More Americans Than Road Crashes  | Statista


This is a 100% POWER UP post!


juanmiguelsalas

Sort:  

I wonder whether it's the drugs, or the drug war.

Btw @schattenjaeger Im following you now. I am 100% in favor of the legalization of drugs and you have written very interesting things about it. I have read some and I have liked, then... see you around :)

I'm happy if my writings have provided you with value. :)

That is a very good question @schattenjaeger

This would actually happen less if the money put into criminalisation and fighting drugs was used in treatment. Proper licensing would also reduce overdoses and other types of harm from improper or adulterated sources.

Much much less actually, of course, accompanied by a good social education and time. A clear example is Portugal (funny that the article I found the first was from the Washington Post ;) but hat it says is true, I have been there ) https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/wonk/wp/2015/06/05/why-hardly-anyone-dies-from-a-drug-overdose-in-portugal/

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Nov 21. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.94 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 21 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Think of it as Evolution in Action.
They are voluntarily cleaning up the gene pool.
It's a public service if they do so before they breed.

Worth mentioning the government regulates which drugs one consumes. I wonder what the numbers look like for places where there is less drug regulation.

My girlfriend told her doctor she wanted to lose weight and got depression meds...

I wonder what the numbers look like for places where there is less drug regulation.

Do you mean like Portugal?

Nowadays doctors are more "drug sellers" than doctors. Your girlfriend must be careful mate!

I undestand Portugal is doing better with more relaxed regulation, that's why I made the comment. But I may be wrong since I've never actually been to Portugal.

You are actually right. I have been there :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64335.75
ETH 3497.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54