TIL that Santa Claus really does exist, at least to my 1 year old! :)

in #til7 years ago (edited)

This is my daughter's second official Christmas, although I don't think she remembers much of her first one as she was just a couple months old at the time.

A couple months back we decided that we would tell my Stepson that Santa wasn't real. I am not totally sure why we did it, but I think we just thought at 10 years old he was old enough to start learning how the real world works. However, I am not sure if that was the best decision or not as he immediately went and told his (younger) cousins that Santa wasn't real, which their parents didn't exactly appreciate. 

(that's them here)

When we told him Santa wasn't real, he argued with us for several minutes at first saying that we were trying to trick him, but eventually he realized that we were telling him the truth. All things considered, he actually took it quite well as I think deep down he probably knew it wasn't real as well. I think most people start to realize that once they start to get up near 10 years of age...

For my daughter we plan on letting her believe in Santa for as long as she wants. However, as soon as she starts asking questions like:

"How does Santa give gifts to everyone in the world at the same time?"
"How does such a large man fit down such a small chimney?"
"How do kids get gifts that don't have a chimney?"
or
"How do reindeer fly?"

Once those questions start popping up, we will likely encourage her to think logically and critically, and then figure it out on her own whether all those things are physically possible or whether it is all just a nice story to tell children around Christmas time.

(yes I am a giant)

But, for now, all we know is that she loves that big guy in the red suit, especially when he has gifts! :)

Live well my friends!

Follow: @jrcornel

Sort:  

Well, when I was a little kid my mom and dad would drive around and say look there is Santa, I would reply can not be he does not exist cause he can not be on every corner at the same time.

Haha well there you go! :)

She's not the only one who believes in Santa Claus. If Einstein were alive today...

http://time.com/4602172/scientific-explanation-santa/

Haha don't show my stepson this!

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 17. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $7.40 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 17 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57824.15
ETH 2965.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70