Holiday Traditions and Why We Follow Them.

in #christmas8 years ago

This was the line for Santa at the local mall.

I was at the mall this morning killing time with my daughter and saw a HUGE line for Santa. All the parents were stressing out while the kids were having a hard time staying still in line. I couldn't help but wonder what the motivation for all of them to be there was.

I get it on some level, we did the Santa visit this year ourselves. Luckily for us it was a restaurant and we were able to grab dinner beforehand. It was also not busy, there were no lines and we walked right up. Unfortunately my youngest freaks out so she only got as close as she felt comfortable. This brings me to another point, after all that waiting a few kids were hysterical and terrified of the process. I do not understand torturing the child because "every kid has to go see Santa".

Have not thought much about it but selling my daughter on the idea of Christmas will most likely not happen. I am not a good liar and she will eventually find out the "truth" at some point in her life. Tradition has never been a huge motivator for me in regards to any aspect of life either. I have also read about studies that found children that believed in Santa were a certain percentage more likely to be duped into believing other falsehoods.

Feel free to weigh in, I am sure there will be people on both sides. Curious about the thoughts of others on this.

SteemVerify

Sort:  

Hello @codydeeds,

Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

What do you love to write about? Join us on SteemTrail today and find others who share your interest!

The SteemTrail Community looks forward to more great stuff from you. So, please keep up the great work!

Keep on Steemin!

Its crazy how families "need" to have a picture taken with Santa just so they can show their picture with Santa. Some people do it every year. If you need to show your child's growth, just take photos with your cellphone and compare them. Sure its nice to have done it at least once, but not if it causes stress with those huge lines!

Couldn't agree more, if its a situation where she wants to go see Santa than that is fine by me and we will. There were several groups that had both parents and children not wanting to be there. I ran into my neighbors who had come to see Santa and opted out after seeing the line. It was good to see them be reactive to the situation instead of forcing an outcome. Something I try to do as often as possible, to quote Bruce Lee "be like water".

Thanks for the comment!

Nice, I would not want for Santa Clause knowing now that Darth Santa really does exist. You can have the lines, I have not yet seen them for Darth Santa, much easier to get in and out.

is it too late to be asking what darth santa is?

Well, I did a post on it, but here is the link.

Hope you enjoy I thought this was the best Christmas videaoyet.

it really is, hilarious! Thanks!

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Dec 18. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.09 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 18 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I only upvote intro posts if they do a picture with their steem tag and the date

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57684.56
ETH 3120.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33