TIL: Google does things CIA can't [And I hoped they are the good guys]steemCreated with Sketch.

in #til8 years ago (edited)

Today I finally read a great article that is reminding us of what Julian Assange warned us 5 years ago and again this year.

There was even a study a year ago saying how Google's, and to an extend Facebook's algorytms can change the election or people's opinion and view point. Not too surprising but it's always good to get that back up to our conscious attention.
Therefore I'm glad I read this article

BlogPostImage
Image Source(direct link to img)

Google is in bed with US Government and is playing around with potential to influence political events, from elections to starting an uprising (Remember arab spring? And all the events it led to, namely a refugee crysis in Europe) and so on.
Okay, this might not be too big of a surprise for you guys but I honestly believed that Google is one of the decent guys. I use Google services a lot. And I always thought if I have to choose one company that'll have my data, then I'd choose the least-evil Google, right?

Boy was I wrong?

I mean, for now, it won't make me change much. I am honestly too invested in them. But it will guide my decisions for future.


If you want to know how I modify my Images, check out my post about a tool I created


Always 100 % SP Posts


About the Author;

Hi, I am Joe and I love freedom.
Freedom of all sorts, social, financial, emotional, physical, freedom from your stuff or place.
My biggest passion is to show that it is possible to live life being free, work towards my freedom, and help others obtain their own versions of freedom.
I also love exploration and experimentation (of all senses).
My articles are about all of this (Freedom, exploration, experimentation)
as well as my own transparent and authentic experiences.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66181.33
ETH 2700.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88