You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: TIL : That there is an island of garbage in the middle of the ocean the size of the US

in #til8 years ago

So good to see somebody post about this on Steemit, as a sailor I cant tell how much plastic and stuff I see floating as I make my way around !! This stuff is not just lying on the surface but its actually held in suspension so cleaning it up, if ever will be a monumental job, but one which needs to be done ! I have seen a few projects which try to address the problem but the funding for them seems lacking !! But all this plastic is a gold mine for somebody as indeed it is petrol based and so has a value which might make it minable and I truly hope that somebody will do it soon. But then we need also to stop producing this garbage and that needs serious political will which with our present globalist planet destroyers i doubt that will be soon ( Great post @serejandmyself upvoted of course !!

Sort:  

Yeah I think the bestr way to clean it, would be to tell people that they can earn on it. Then it would be done rathe quickly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58948.02
ETH 2507.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47