Today I Learned About Self Authoring

in #til8 years ago (edited)

Yesterday night, I stumbled upon an interesting video in my newsfeed. It was an interview on the Joe Rogan Show with Jordan B Peterson. Jordan is a doctor in clinical psychology and teacher at the University of Toronto who got quite famous for his stand against compelled speech" as outline in the Canadian Bill C-16. This bill is now law and mandates people to address people by their preferred gender neutral pronoun .

I wasn't expecting what I listened to

In went deep into the mind of ideologues, totalitarian mindset, free speech, religion and the very nature of the human experience. It was by far one of the best interview I've listened to in a long time.

"Many people do not understand who they are, where they are and where they are going"

One thing that stood out to me is the program he developed called Self Authoring. From my research, it is one of the few programs out there developed by clinical psychologists that significantly improve people's life psychologically and physiologically. It uses writing as a therapeutic tool to make sense of our past, present and future.

Basically, by taking complex events and putting them into words through writing, it helps bring the experiences that are hosted in the reptilian part of the brain (fight or flight) to the area of the brain that deals with details comprehension and understanding. Once those memories have been dealt with, the research shows that the level of cortisol in the body drops. Cortisol is intimately related to the process of aging.

One thing that he said that hit me like a ton of brick was this line:

If you have a memory that is holder than 18 months old and that every time you think about it, you have an emotional response...it is a sure sign that whatever that is, you are still holding on to it or haven't dealt with it completly...and you should go back and examine it to deal with it cognitively.

Your memory is not there to keep an objective timeline of past events! Your memory is there to draw wisdom from the experience of the past to make better choices in the future.

I'm sure you know people in your life who literally live in the past, as if there soul were trapped in a story that keeps on repeating itself.

Here is the video that explains it better than I could myself:

]

A Two For One I Couldn't Say No To...

So my interest was peaked and decided to buy the thing. I wasn't expecting to hit a 2 for 1 on their website at a ridiculous price of $29.99. This thing is massively undervalued and could easily be sold for thousands of dollars (good thing they are not marketers). I'm afraid some people might undervalue the real value of such program because of the ticket price and not give it the full attention it deserves...which is what research show when it comes to information products online.

Conclusion

Listen to that podcast for a massive "mindblow" and breathtaking discussion.

Steem On!

Sort:  

Got the chance to listen to the whole podcast with Rogan. Wow, just wow. Definitely doing the future authoring thing. $30! I spent three times that amount at the grocery store today. If only to donate to Peterson's future unemployment fund, I have zero reservations now. Couldn't stop listening to this guy talk.

I just started the process and its amazing so far. Just so much to unpack!

Yeah, JP has good info, mostly all accurate presentation info. I went through most of his 2014 and 2015 work on Maps of Meaning and Psychology. Good insights into many thing, overall great.

In this intro (or more in Part2?), he talks about this self authoring self inquiry work, where people evaluate themselves as part of the semesters works. And they learn more about themselves.

I just went to his sites... damn they changed in 6 months lol. Sleek.

Let me know how the program goes.

what a small world! I though it was the kind of arcane thing only a weirdo like me enjoy looking into. Glad to you man, we definitely need to hangout.

Hehe for sure.

I do work on psychological and philosophical issues as well, although I'm not academic. Posts from today and yesterday:

Choice and Decision-Making Require Emotion, but Shouldn't be Focused on Emotion
Know Thyself - The importance of understanding the functionality of consciousness, psyche, mind, self

A powerful posting, so many would gain from watching and reading... Thanks a bunch and namaste :)

can you explain how can i earn $ from this site?

Very interesting

I've always been interested in self-knowledge and I'm seriously considering giving this a try after listening to Peterson's intro video. I've found my own attempts at journaling have come in fits and starts as I find the motivation to do so, which is rare these days. Other than the initial outpouring of insight when I first started doing it, I haven't found much benefit as time went on. I'll have to seriously consider giving this a go. My only apprehension is with the time commitment. Maybe I'll have to make some. Seems pretty important.

Forgive me for dredging up an old thread, @cryptoctopus, but I saw this video and first heard about the Self-Authoring Suite roughly 18 months ago. I never started it, but every few weeks I think about it (clearly my subconscious thinks I need to give it a go). I was curious to hear about your experience with Self Authoring, a year later?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63117.29
ETH 2601.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76